Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read Because of Another Blogger

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish (a site I love).  This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I’ve Read Because of Another Blogger.

It’s actually pretty difficult for me to trace why I read certain books.  Most often, I just know I’ve heard something good, or maybe I love the author or the premise.  Every so often the cover gets me (but let’s be real, in YA I usually have to fight the urge to run screaming in the opposite direction. The covers are SO bad. ).  Quite often I pick up a book because a blogger I trust has raved about it.  Here are a few that stand out in my mind:

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins- If you’ve ever stopped by and visited the ladies at Forever Young Adult, you know that The Hunger Games is a staple there.  In the midst of their discussions about Peeta or Gale and the posts that help you find your Hunger Games name (I was Gersless O. Singmint, in case you were wondering),  I recognized I’d have to check this series out.  At the time, Mockingjay wasn’t out yet, so it was a bit of a gamble for me (we know how I hate to wait for sequels.  And it was still a significant wait), but once I read the first two books—and totally flipped out over them—at least I had a community of people to spazz with.

2. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan- Holy crap, this book blew me away.  I first read about it when author Gayle Forman mentioned it in her Twitter feed (and also on her blog) and it seemed like immediately afterward, the ladies at FYA were also singing its praises.  They couldn’t have been more right.  This book was amazing.

3. Delirium by Lauren Oliver- This is one I’d heard about, obviously, but wasn’t in any rush to get to (you know how it is when the TBR stack is taller than you). But, when I read how Carla at The Crooked Shelf pretty much fell in love with it, I ordered it immediately.  I’m so glad I didn’t drag my feet on this one.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth-  It was inevitable that I pick this book up at some point, considering that before its release the world of bloggers was going cray cray for it.  The first person I heard spazz about it was, again, Carla at The Crooked Shelf, so I promised myself I’d read it and love it (which I did).

5. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart- You guys, where would I be without Frankie?  She reinforced the cold hard truth: Girls rock.  And she makes up her own words, which, or course I love.  Again, my favorite blog, Forever Young Adult, put this one on the radar for me.

6. Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski- I read great reviews on two blogs I love, first at Anna Reads and then over at GReads.  Both ladies were right on the money. I loved the pants off this book and pretty much wanted to read it again the moment I finished it!

7. Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready- Holy bananas I love this series.  I would never, ever have picked it up (because I’m sorry, but I’m not a fan of the covers) had it not been for Jen at Makeshift Bookmark.  Thanks to her I know of the incredible hotness of Zach and Logan.  I love these books! Did I already say that?  Good.

8. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare-The weird thing is, I read Clockwork Angel before reading any of The Mortal Instruments books.  Based on the fact that I looooooved Clockwork Angel and the fact that several blogs, including Mundie Moms (I mean, wow, an entire site dedicated to Clare’s books? In a word, awesome) and The Story Siren, mention this series, I finally read (and loved) them.

9. Where She Went by Gayle Forman- Okay so, I honestly would have read this book anyway, considering the way I blubber like a maniac every time I read If I Stay, but I was a little scared.  When a book is THAT good, it’s normal to be concerned about the sequel because it seems like nothing can match up.  Then I read this great review at Books from Bleh to Basically Amazing. She convinced me that, not only was it a good book, but that I would absolutely fall in love with it (and of course, I did).

10. Graceling by Kristin Cashore- This one I picked up from a blogger, Yannabe,  whose site now seems to be inactive (sad face, because I loved her reviews). I wanted to mention it though, because if she hadn’t spoken so highly of Graceling, it would have completely slipped past my radar and that would have been tragic.  It’s so excellent.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read Because of Another Blogger

  1. i’ve got to say you guys have turned me on to a lot of books, so yay there! funny, i waited a long time to read Hunger Games, basically until a couple months before Mockingjay came out, because, um…Stephanie Meyer said she loved it. I don’t know why, i LOVED the twilight series (and read the first three in 4 days), but i didn’t trust her judgment on other books. huh. color me strange.

    • I don’t blame you there! I loved Twilight. Totally ate it up. But then, when I’d hear her talking up her own books I was thinking, ‘You HAVE read them, right?” I mean, they aren’t War & Peace. They’re fun, but come on. (that’s why I get such joy out of poking fun at them sometimes. I still totally love them but I think people, Smeyer included, take them way too seriously. I get that it changed her life, but, you know, it didn’t change mine.) Also I once saw an interview where she compared Edward and Bella to Darcy and Elizabeth and I was like, HOLD THE PHONE!!!!!! Anyway, she’s producing the Austenland movie now, so I think I have to start liking her again.

  2. i’ve got The Hunger Games and Graceling on my list too! Plus i’ve read most of the books you mentioned and some of the others are currently hanging out in my TBR pile.
    i don’t have Shade yet but i’ve heard some good things about it recently and now that i see it’s on your list i might just have to give it a try. i trust you guys with my booky life ;)

    • Well thanks. I trust you too! :) I really like Shade and the sequel, Shift. It’s a ghost story, but not in a ghosty-y way (that might be the dumbest statement I’ve ever typed). It was different.

Leave a Reply

