Fangirl Friday- February 10

Fangirl Friday is a feature hosted by one of my favorite blogs, Nancy Drew is My Homegirl.This is where we talk up the five things that are freaking us out (in a good way) this week.

1. The New Hunger Games Trailer- Alright, so I’m a week late here. But you guys, Cinna! The Mockingjay Pin! The Shush. I love it and am super psyched about this movie.

2.Husband and Children Fangirls-  Speaking of being excited about The Hunger Games movie, after a couple of years of me spazzing over this series, the hysteria has taken over our household (well, except for my six-year old, who is very content with her Magic Treehouse books thankyouverymuch). As I’ve mentioned before, my husband recently read and loved The Hunger Games (and then proceeded to call one of his guys to try to explain the premise to him. Totally hilarious in every way possible) and has now organized a group of us to go see the movie (I know. I was like, um, Vee and I were already going, but I guess you guys can come to).  Now my ten-year old just finished it and loved it. This was hard for me because I’m protective about what I expose the kids to, but after I re-read it recently, the hubs and I were convinced that she could handle it.  Now my daughter and I get to talk about this series! This is pure awesome to me.

3. Valentine’s Day- I don’t care what anyone thinks or says, I love this schmoopy holiday. Give me anything pink, red or covered in hearts, of give me a dorky card that says “Valentine, You Rock” and I’m giddy. In our family, we don’t go out for some crazy romantical night. We do what my husband and I have done since we began dating. We make sugar cookies (homemade Martha Stewart sugar cookies are the best) and royal icing and write goofy notes on them for each other. It’s pretty fun and the kiddos love it.

Martha Stewart's Conversation Heart Cookies. Ours look nothing like this.

4.  Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta- This is a sequel to Finnikin of the Rock. And it’s waiting for me on Net Galley. It’s being oh so patient as I work my way through some other wonderful books that I’ve committed to reading, but I know it’s there and I know I’ll love it.

5. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls- This is the book chosen by my book club this month and although I’d read it years ago, I’d forgotten how good it was.  I’m so happy to be diving in again.

5 thoughts on “Fangirl Friday- February 10

  1. You fangirl over some crazy awesome stuff! I had missed the new Hunger Games trailer, but after just watching it I might just have to go fangirl over it too! Also, SO cute that you and your husband make sugar cookies together as a Valentine’s tradition! :)

  2. Yay to you for trying to make everyone you know a Hunger Games fan!!!
    i’m always shocked that there are still people out there that haven’t embraced the awesomeness yet.
    Great list and cute cookie tradition! :)

  3. I just finished reading Froi of the Exiles & I feel numb. I wrote a review right after I put it down cuz there was just so much I wanted to say & I couldn’t get my brain to shutup. But holly crap the book is amazing. Its darker & more mature then Finnikin, but it’s also more passionate. You should definitley read this asap! :)

    • OOOOhhh I NEED to open this book. I know I’ll love it, no question about it. I mean, when have I not loved Melina Marchetta? Must read today!

Leave a Reply

