The Debut Author Challenge

by Tee

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but here at YA Crush we are all about the young adult books.  GASP!  That’s not to say we don’t read books intended for all those people who went and got all grown up on us, but we love us some high school drama. In fact, we firmly believe that all stories are better when told from the perspective of a teen because whether they live in a fantasy world, in a dystopian one or one that closely resembles normal life today, the characters all resonate powerful emotions, passions and—if we’re lucky—many, many cringeworthy moments of firsts.

As a blogging newbies,  we’re totally stoked to participate in this year’s Debut Author Challenge, which is being hosted by  The Story Siren (love her!).  The DAC is a commitment to read and review at least twelve novels from first-time YA novelists.  Fake movie casting and soundtracks are a total bonus, I’m sure.

What’s really exciting is that you never know when you’re going to pick up the next book you just can’t live without or when you’ll discover another Meg Cabot (OK, there is only one of her and don’t even think about replacing her), or find the next frustrating love triangle or swoonworthy hero.  So here’s to a year of possibilities.  Who knows?  One of these could end up being this year’s Jellicoe Road (review coming) or the beginning of the next series we’re going to obsess over!

This is what we’d like to read:

1.   I think the cover is kinda pretty but the synopsis is what grabbed me.

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

2.  Liking this already.   It’s pretty and the title borrows from my favorite band evah, The Beatles.  And the main character is cryogenically frozen (look out Dr. Evil!) and wakes up 300 years in the future.

Across The Universe by Beth Revis

3.  This cover reminds me of that old tv show Dark Angel.  But I think it sounds good.

Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton

4.  I don’t generally like toes, but I like this cover.

Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison

5.  Uhhhhhhhh (that’s like a sigh/moan).  I love this cover and want to have a reason to wear a big poufy dress like this.

Entwined by Heather Dixon

6.  Been hearing so much about this from the gals at YA Highway.  I know I can’t miss it.

Like Mandarin by Kristen Hubbard

7.  Um, do I need to explain?  Megan McCafferty, the woman who invented Marcus Flutie wrote this.  Nuff said.

Bumped by Megan McCafferty (this is her first Young Adult)

8.  I’m not sure what’s going on here honestly, but I like it.  And I like stuff that’s all futuristic so I’m in.

Future Imperfect by K. Ryer Breese

9.  Don’t hate me for this cover.  I read the synopsis and I thought it sounded interesting because it involves Helen of Troy and Greek mythology. It’s the first in a series.

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

10.   Don’t you just want to eat this up?  It sounded like a sweet but also sad premise and I liked that it was about a normal girl in a normal setting (no secret powers, no vampires, no impending doom).

The Sweetest Thing by Christina Mandelski

11.  I like the title and the dystopian setting.  The statement on the website says “Control or be controlled.”

Possession by Elana Johnson

12.  Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic

I couldn’t find a cover for this one but the brief synopsis I read sounded good.  It poses the question “What would you do if you knew your time on Earth was limited?”

We’re looking forward to watching all these new stories unfold.

7 thoughts on “The Debut Author Challenge

  1. Pingback: Geeking Out About 2011 « YA Crush

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBRs « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

