Geeking Out About 2011

by Tee

Have you noticed I like to make lists?  It’s a sort of gift I have.  Or a tick (hey, potato potahto, right?).  Obviously the start of a new year offers much to look forward to and getting all geeky at the library/bookstore/your fav book blogs is no exception.  Aside from all the new authors debuting next year there are a few other goodies we’re pretty stoked about too.

1.  Abandon by Meg Cabot

We at YA Crush will always sing the praises of the YA goddess herself, Ms. Meg Cabot.  We’re pretty much guaranteed to like anything she puts her name on.  Why?  Because. She. Is. That. Awesome.  Mushy fandom aside, her new trilogy, Abandon sounds promising.

Abandon, April 2011

2.  Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready

I recently read Shade (review coming next week) which is the first book in this series and I really enjoyed it.  Without giving away too much, the story left me wanting more.  The sequel comes out in the Spring.

Shift, May 2011

3.  Where She Went by Gayle Forman

There was this book I read, I don’t know if you’ve heard of it.  It’s called If I Stay. And I kind of liked it. And by kind of I mean I sobbed all over it like a little baby and wanted to put it under my pillow every night.  The story continues, told from Adam’s perspective (Oh Adam, I love you).  I can’t wait to cry my eyes out again.

Where She Went, Spring 2011

4.  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

This is the sequel to Clockwork Angel , the first book in the Infernal Devices series.  I loved CA and all its main characters and plotlines.  The only thing I disliked was that Cassandra Clare left me hanging!  I mean, I know that’s probably a good strategy when you’re writing a trilogy, but still.  I hate waiting! I have no beautiful cover art to share (though I hear that since CA had Will on the cover, CP will have Jem and the final book, Cloackwork Princess—are you detecting a theme here?—will have Tessa).  Clockwork Prince comes out September 2011.

5.  Matched by Ally Condie

Alright I know this book is already out and has received glowing reviews but I haven’t read it yet.  And as I sit here diligently pining away for a long list of books by authors old and new, it waits for me under my now dead Christmas tree (hey, I haven’t had a chance to clean it up yet).  I am dying to read it but I have a massive pile of library books sitting on my nightstand as we speak, or um, type.  I can’t give up the books I’ve meticulously called in from various libraries ( I always call in waaaaay too many at one time because I’m greedy that way) so Matched, with its lovely cover, sits and waits for me.  Sigh.

Matched, under my tree right freaking now

And that’s my list as of today.  Talk to me next week and it could be ten times longer.


2 thoughts on “Geeking Out About 2011

Leave a Reply

