The Greatest Books I’ve Never Read

By Tee

Even though I’ve read tons and tons of books in all genres across the board, there are some serious ones I’ve overlooked—stuff that I probably never should have missed but for some reason just casually skipped over in favor of something else. Or things I might not have normally been interested but have been told that I have to read (in fact Harry Potter was on that list until only two or three years ago.  What?? I know). So now, for your pleasure, let me share with you my greatest literary shortcomings:

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott-

Guys, I am totally hanging my head in shame over this one because even my nine-year old has read it.  And I LOVE the movie (Winona, how could you not pick Christian Bale though?  Really.). I know I’ll love the story of Jo, Beth, Meg and Amy as they grow from girls to young women.  In fact, I’m pretty certain it will go down as one of my favorites.  Now I just have to borrow it from my kid.

Gotta love those braids

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

I’m going to be honest.  During study hall, my junior year of high school, the teacher assigned to babysit us thought it would be nice to have the video series of these books to play quietly for anyone interested.  I didn’t give it much of a chance, but my sixteen-year old self thought it looked like a huge snore.  I never got into it and thus, avoided the books thereafter.  So when you make reference to Gilbert Blyth, all I know is that he pulled Anne’s stupid braids when they were kids.  Zero swoon factor for me at this point, but I’m willing to give it a shot.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle-

This one is kind of a shocker since my favorite girl crush author, Meg Cabot, mentions this novel in her books and in her blog quite often.  I’ve heard from many people that it’s wonderful and I always tell myself to read it, but never do.  I’ve never bothered to find out what it’s about because I’m certain that no matter what it is, I’ll like it.  I just need to actually pick it up.

Ahh Buttercup and her Wesley

The Princess Bride by William Goldman-

Now I know this will be good because I love the pants off this movie (No more rhymes I mean it! Anybody got a peanut?).  That’s the problem though.  I usually have a rule that I must read the book before the movie, but unfortunately I saw this movie in junior high (way before my rule) and hadn’t read the book yet (please. I was knee-deep in Sweet Valley High books at that time).  Since then, I haven’t felt compelled to because I’ve seen the movie.  This, I must point out, is something that annoys me when other people do it (treat seeing the film as though it’s the same as reading the book).  Bad Tee.

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

I’m not sure how I got through school without reading this one, but I’ve seen the movie about a billion times.  The subject matter isn’t something I’d normally be drawn to, but I know I like the story already.  I will read this for sure.  I’m gonna do it for Johnny. (Is that line even in the book or is it just the movie?).

Obviously I have to include this video because, um, Matt Dillion, thankyouverymuch.

Forever by Judy Blume-

I went to Christian school my whole life and so, let me just say that even though I was a massive Judy Blume fan, I didn’t know this book even existed until I was an adult.  It’s not like we had the internet back then and I didn’t go to the public library very often (my parents took me to the bookstore practically every other week and bought me stacks of books) and so I had to utilize my school libraries.  Clearly they weren’t hip to the story of Katherine, Michael and Ralph (for those of you not in the know, Ralph is Michael’s thang.  He named it), so this one slipped by my radar.  Though I’ve heard the story is sweet and kind of cringeworthy all at once, I’m curious because I love the incredible Ms. Blume.

8 thoughts on “The Greatest Books I’ve Never Read

  1. love Anne of Green Gables. one of my favorite books. but i think you’ll have to read anne of avonlea (the second book) if you want any lovin’.
    loved the outsiders, read it when i was about 12 because my baby sitters brother read it & he was soooo cool. great book, better than the movie, but the movie also has matt dillon, a YOUNG patrick swayze, tom cruise (when he was hot), and rob lowe (who still is).

  2. “Wrinkle In Time” is about time travelin’ kids (in a nutshell, obvs). Dude, I was going to add that to my list, but I’ll leave it out since you’ve got it here. Cuz, since we share half each others’ brains, it automatically defaults to be on my list anyhow. Right? Moo.

    And true confession: I didn’t KNOW Princess Bride was a book. I am so red in the face right now. But how could there be anything better than that movie? LOVE IT. The bond between me and that movie is really, and truly, you guessed it, twu wuv.

  3. Pingback: Crazy: The Cartoon Edition « YA Crush

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBRs « YA Crush

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Have Been on My Shelf the Longest « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

