The Greatest Books I Never Read: PART VEE

by Vee

It is not MY fault. See here, THIS is the culprit. Fareekin Jane and Edward Rochester, getting me in trouble.

MFEO had a great list last week.  There were a couple of books on her list that have been on my mental list as well.  But to keep this fresh and new, let’s focus on my literary shortcomings differing from hers.

1. Emma by Jane Austen

Say what?  Dude, I KNOW.  I was all shocked and dismayed with Tee not having read Little Women and then she caught me not having read this classic of awesomely awesome porportions.  For the record, I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the movie and Mr. Knightley fully rocks my world.  I love Jane Austen, I just never got to this one, because the movie came out before I read it and then it was just too easy to say, “Later, let’s watch the movie again.”  I am totes putting a deadline on myself and will read this before the end of this year.

Lookit...the swoon. Uhhhh!

2.Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggins

  This sounds like a sweet, simple story, about a sweet, smart girl.  I keep saying, “I am so going to read it, honest,” and I don’t.  But now that it’s on paper, I am going to have to give this old girl (book published in 1903) a try.

3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Truth be told, at the time when I assigned this piece of classic literature in high school, I was in full obsession mode with Jane Eyre (amusingly enough by Emily’s sister, Charlotte), which was not assigned at the time but which I so fully was enamored of – and am to this day.  How could I cheat on Mr. Rochester with that losah Heathcliff who sounds like a real corn hater?  Truth be told, this sounds like a real downer of a book.  But I’ll read it.  If Bella can do it, dammit, so can I.

Even the cover looks Downersville.

4. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Again, Tee is going to kill me.  She loves this book.  Like loves, with a capital “This Book Is So Awesome.”  So don’t tell ok?  For what it’s worth, I think the movie is excellent.  Um, and, yea, for what it’s wooooorth…Gregory Peck is a looker.  And P.S…when this book was assigned in H.S., I was busy reading Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre (yes, again),  and learning every line from Sleepless in Seattle.  Important work, people.  I think I need to write my English Lit teacher an apology letter.

I know this book is all serious and shizz, but I just cannot help getting a little distracted. Can I get an Amen?!

5. Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter

Have you ever heard the saying: “Don’t be such a Pollyanna”?  Well, guess what?  There is a BOOK out there that will finally explain what the heck that means, and by golly, I intend to find out.  Because, it could be a good thing, or it could be a bad thing, and I need to know whether to thank these people or punch them in the face.

5. The Wide, Wide World by Susan Warner 

You may never have heard of this book, but word on the street is, this book, published in 1850, was the first American bestselling novel AND the first novel with a girl as the main character.  I guess you could say Susan Warner is the founding mother of YA lit, and so, I have to pay homage to her.  Without her, perhaps there would have been no Little Women or Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm for Tee and I to ignore.  Maybe not even Sweet Valley High or Twilight!  Perish the thought!!!

This is like a YA archeological artifact!

A world without this?  I think not.

How could I live without gratutious opportunities to insert this photo anywhere humanly possible. I am SO transparent. Just go with it.

10 thoughts on “The Greatest Books I Never Read: PART VEE

  1. Ohhhhh Gregory Peck. Don’t think that by mentioning him I’ll forget that you haven’t read two of my favorite books EVER!!!!! (That would be Emma and To Kill a Mockingbird). Though I swear not to be judgey since I still have to do Little Women. 🙂

  2. to kill a mockingbird is my second favorite book (after Pride & Prejudice). i read it twice. the movie is awesome (thank you God for Gregory Peck). I tried to read Emma, but could not get through the first few pages (it’s no P&P), but i will try again, loved the movie w/ jonny lee miller…and I HATE wuthering heights. ugh.

    • I hate Wuthering Heights too! I thought the story was interesting but I hated the characters. I can’t believe that people consider it a great love story. It’s about two jerkholes who deserve each other! I love P&P but I have a soft spot for Emma. It’s very funny. I’m reading it again now with my nine-year old and I love that she’s cracking up at it. And I’ve heard that the Emma w/ Johnny Lee Miller was good. I’m partial to the Gwyneth one, but I put the other version on my Netflix (it keeps mysteriously moving further and further down the list as my hubs adds movie). I’m always open to more Mr. Knightley.

    • OK, let’s read Emma together and compare notes Daphne! Now I have a reading buddy…the shame of not having read this seems a little lighter now. 😉

  3. Dudes, so, your comments do NOT bode well for my enjoyment of Wuthering Heights. Ack! OK, I will evidently be taking one for the team here. What’s up with that Emily Bronte writing such a downer? Does she not understand we’re looking for swoon? I tell ya.

    P.S. Perhaps a “Gregory Peck Is A Hottie” Fan Club has just been born?

    • Maybe I’m not being fair. Wuthering Heights is a good story. It’s just that the two main characters are kind of psychos. Actually, Heathcliff is the crazypants. Cahtherine is just blech. Apparently many people in this world think that being a vengeful nutters is attractive.

  4. i’m glad y’all wrote these posts. As an avid reader, i’m ashamed to say that there are a few of “the classics” that i have yet to read. One of my book challenges this year is to try and read at least 5 classics that i haven’t read before. To Kill A Mockingbird, Emma, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights are all on my TBR list too.
    Thank you so much for this post. Now i know that there are other slack-y readers out there. Nice to know i’m not all alone. 😉

    • 🙂 We’re like a support group for slackers. The problem is, there are SO many good books out there. You’ll love the books you listed (maybe not Wuthering Heights, but it’s not bad). Jane Eyre is amazing though! Oh, Mr. Rochester! Tell us about it when you read them!

    • Jane Eyre…you’re gonna love it. At least I hope you do. Oh, how I love that book!!! As soon as I read Wuthering Heights, I’ll post a review let you know my thoughts. (And that I actually read it. :))

Leave a Reply

