Armchair BEA: Fav Books This Year (So far)

by Tee

Since Vee and I were unable to attend the awesomeness that is BEA this year (or, you know, ever) we are participating in Armchair BEA, created for all us dorkheads people who enjoy discussing books and authors, but who are unable to attend the conference.  We’re not going to wallow in depression over the fact that we had to stay home and pick up the kiddos from school. Oh no. We’re going to talk about books (after obsessively reading the tweets of our fav authors and bloggers who are currently at BEA meeting Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen and getting all kinds of swag. Sigh).

The topic of discussion today is “Best of 2011.”  Already, I have to post a disclaimer.  I’m going to cheat.  Not every book on my list is technically a 2011 read, but whatever. I read it in 2011 so it counts, dammit.

Ahem.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

This one is hands down, my favorite book this year.  You can read my review here.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

This is the sequel to the much-loved If I Stay and it was equally as good, if not better.  You can check out my review here.

Across The Universe by Beth Revis

There was some freaky stuff going on here, but I loved it.  It was a different read for me in that it had a space-age, science fiction feel to it and it was excellent.  you can read more about it here.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

I was completely swept into this story and am looking forward to the sequel.  The review can be found here.

There have been many more that we’ve loved, but these are the ones that stand out to me.  If I mentioned Anna and the French Kiss, Abandon, The Goddess Test, The Duff or Wither which were all good—we’d be here all day.

There are tons of books I’m still looking forward to reading:

Divergent by Veronica Roth

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

(I know! Why have I not read this yet?)

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Entwined by Heather Dixon

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

I'll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan

How long do we have? My TBR list is huge! The pile of books on my nightstand is huge! The list I have on my desk (because I write them down so I don’t forget, as any good nerd would) is gigantor.   Suffice it to say, this is an amazing time to be reading YA.  There are so many brilliant authors and so many great stories to dive into.   I’m sure the second half of the year will be just as good, if not better!

9 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Fav Books This Year (So far)

  1. Nice choices for your faves of the year so far! I’ve read all of those, and think my favorite is Delirium. I’ll Be There looks intriguing – adding that one to my list. I think you will love Divergent. Happy reading!

    • Divergent is coming next week (I hope). I can’t wait to read it. I loved Delirium too. I think Lauren Oliver is amazing. Her words are beautiful. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Oh thank goodness there is someone out there in the blogosphere that i can commiserate with over not being able to attend BEA! (It seems like every book blog i read is at or headed there.)
    i have quite a few of the books you mentioned in my TBR pile so now you have spurred me on to finally read them. i’m especially excited to read Delirium. i’ve heard so many good things about it. Oh and Divergent too! And i have the first book of The Mortal Instruments. Yeah, i have yet to start that series. *hangs nerdgirl head in shame*

    • No shame here!!! I just read Mortal Instruments for the very first time in January! You’ll love it. I was just telling myself today (because yes, I talk to myself) that I need to review them, but they are a series that is sooooo great that it’s daunting to think about writing it. After you read them you have to do Clockwork Angel, which is a prequel. Excellent!

  3. I definitely felt that WHERE SHE WENT was stronger than IF I STAY, and that is huge in my book given how powerful the first book was. I adored DIVERGENT too. I hope you get a chance to read it soon!

    Great list! Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Michelle! I was so worried about reading a sequel to a book I loved as much as If I Stay, but it really was amazing. I pulled it out yesterday to loan to a friend and was skimming through it and got all swept up again. So good!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Armchair BEA « nightlyreading

Leave a Reply

