Top Ten Tuesday: Aww Moments

by Tee

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday Topic, as hosted by The Broke and Bookish, is “Aww Moments”.  I take that to mean two things.  Yes, of course, it can be those romantic, swoonworthy moments (a few of which we previously discussed here) but I think it can also be sentimental moments of friendship or situations that touch your heart.  So while most of these are of a romantic persuasion, some are just plain sweet.

Now, I did my best to provide quotes, but since I’m a serious book pusher (much like a crack pusher, only infinitely better), many of my favorite books were loaned out.  Also, some books are one big Aww Moment in their entirety (I’m thinking of The Sky is Everywhere and Sweethearts, but there are so many).  So this is just a sample of great moments.

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee-

Atticus has just lost his case after defending the innocent but ill-fated black man, Tom Robinson in a southern town swarming with racism.  Scout is watching from above as the people around her—not the white men and women they live beside on a daily basis, but the poor black families who live on the outskirts of town— pay respect to her father.

Someone was punching me, but I was reluctant to take my eyes from the people below us, and from the image of Atticus’s lonely walk down the aisle.

“Miss Jean Louise?”

I looked around.  They were standing.  All around us and in the balcony on the opposite wall, the Negroes were getting to their feet. Revered Sykes’s voice was as distant as Judge Taylor’s”

“Miss Jean Louise, stand up. Your father’s passin’.”

 2. Princess in Pink (Princess Diaries Volume 5)by Meg Cabot-

For Mia’s fifteenth birthday, Michael gives her a special gift—as if having his band, Skinner Box, sing her a song he wrote just for her in front of all of their classmates wasn’t enough—proving once again that he is the best fake guy ever!  Here she explains what he gave her:

A necklace with a tiny little silver snowflake on it.

“From the Nondenominational Winter Dance,” he said, like he was worried I wouldn’t get it.  “Remember the paper snowflakes hanging from the ceiling of the gym?”

Of course I remembered the snowflakes.  I have one, in the drawer of my bedside table.

And okay, it isn’t a prom ticket or a charm bracelet with PROPERTY OF MICHAEL MOSCOVITZ written on it, but it comes really, really close.

 3.The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han-

Belly has grown up with Conrad and Jeremiah.  In those first moments of the summer she turns from a little kid to a GIRL (one the boys actually notice), her big crush-of-a-lifetime, Conrad, pays her a little extra attention:

He pulled my foot, drawing me closer. Being this close to him was making me feel dizzy and nervous. I said it again, one last time, even though I didn’t mean it.
“Conrad let go of me.”
He did. And then he dunked me. It didn’t matter. I was already holding my breath

4.Emma by Jane Austen-

Mr. Knightley, Emma’s dearest friend has confessed his love for her.  He doesn’t realize she loves him back and is hoping she might give him a chance.

“If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.  But you know what I am.  You hear nothing but the truth from me.  I have blamed you, and lectured you, and you have borne it.  Bear with the truths that I would tell you now, dearest Emma, as well as you have borne with them.  The manner, perhaps, may have as little to recommend them. God knows, I have been a very indifferent lover.  But you understand me.  Yes, you see, you understand my feelings and will return them if you can.  At present, I ask only once to hear your voice.”

5.The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen-

Macy is  so afraid to talk about her father; of being “the girl whose dad died” to everyone around.  She goes out with her new co-workers and runs into a girl who knew her before her dad’s passing.  She talks about Macy’s dad, about how he died and how strange things turned after his death. Macy is mortified because she hoped she could be someone else with these friends.  Her co-workers, though new to her life, seem to understand.

It was one of those moments that you wish you could just disappear, every particle in you shrinking.  But that, I knew, was impossible.  There was always an After.  So I lifted my head, and looked at Kristy, seeing Bert watching me, Wes and Monica’s faces in my peripheral vision.  Then I took a breath, to say what, I didn’t know.  But before I could, Kristy walked over and sat down beside me.

“That girl,” she said, wrapping her hand around mine, “is as dumb as a bag of hammers.”

“No kidding,” Bert said softly, and when I looked at him I saw not The Face, but instead a good-humored sort of disgust, not directed at me, not about me at all.

Kristy leaned across me, saying, “Wasn’t she the one you had to explain the concept of odd numbers to during that summer math tutoring thing you did?”

Bert nodded. “Twice,” he said.

“Moron.”

“Mmm-hmmm,” Monica said, nodding.

Kristy rolled her eyes, then took a sip of beer. Her palm felt warm against mine and I realized how long it had been since anyone had held my hand.

6.Where She Went by Gayle Forman-

I pretty much sighed my way through this entire book because Adam is just so stinking sigh-worthy.  But I love the first moment he sees her again, when she invites him backstage.  His love for her is so breathtaking.

I force my eyes upward and look at Mia for the first time.  She’s still beautiful.  Not in an obvious Vanessa LeGrande or Bryn Schraeder kind of way.  In a quiet way that’s always been devastating to me.  Her hair, long and dark, is down now, swimming damply against her bare shoulders, which are still milky white and covered with the constellation of freckles that I used to kiss.  The scar on her left shoulder, the one that used to be an angry red welt, is silvery pink now.  Almost like the latest rage in tattoo accessories.  Almost pretty.

Mia’s eyes reach out to mine, and for a second I fear that my facade will fall apart.  I look away.

7.Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling-

Gryffindor has just won their quidditch match.  Harry has been fighting his feelings for Ginny, Ron’s little sister.  Here, in the Gryffindor common room amongst his housemates, he seizes the moment:

A roar of celebration erupted from the hole behind her {the Fat Lady}.  Harry gaped as people began to scream at the sight of him; several hands pulled him into the room.

“We won!” yelled Ron, bounding into sight and brandishing the silver Cup at Harry.  “We won! Four hundred and fifty to a hundred and forty! We won!”

Harry looked around; there was Ginny running toward him; she had a hard, blazing look in her face as she threw her arms around him.  And without thinking, without planning it, without worrying about the fact that fifty people were watching, Harry kissed her.

 8.Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins-

Anna has a major crush on St. Clair.  Adorable, sweet St. Clair.  St. Clair who has become one of her best friends.  St. Clair who unfortunately has a girlfriend.  During Thanksgiving break, when most of their other boarding school classmates have left town, Anna and S. Clair spend every waking moment together.  And every sleeping moment.  I mean they literally sleep. There’s nothing sordid about it.  They just seek each other’s company and sleep beside one another in Anna’s bed each night.  It’s sweet and awkward and one of those things that stood out to me as I was reading this book.

He smiles and turns off the light.  We climb into bed, and it’s absolutely positively completely awkward.  As usual.  I roll over to my edge of the bed.  Both of us are stiff and straight, careful not to touch the other person.  I must be a masochist to keep putting myself in these situations.  I need help.  I need to see a shrink or be locked in a padded cell or straightjacketed or something. 

After what feels like an eternity, St. Clair exhales loudly and shifts.  His leg bumps into mine, and I flinch.  “Sorry,” he says.

“It’s okay.”

“…”

“…”

“Anna?”

“Yeah?”

“Thanks for letting me sleep here again.  Last night…”

The pressure inside my chest is torturous. What? What what what?

“I haven’t slept that well in ages.”

The room is silent.  After a moment, I roll back over.  I slowly, slowly stretch out my leg until my foot brushes his ankle.  His intake of breath is sharp.  And then I smile, because I know he can’t see my expression through the darkness.

9.This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen- Remy and Dexter have been dating/hanging out. Remy is a little reluctant to call it anything more.  She tried SO hard to be assertive and somewhat closed off; not willing to let anyone totally into her heart.  She returns from a shopping trip and Dexter is surveying what she purchased.

“Did you need plastic ware?” he asked. I shrugged. “Because,” he went on, and I fought the urge to squirm, “it’s so funny, because I need plastic ware. Badly.”
“Can we go inside, please?” I asked, slamming the trunk shut. “It’s hot out here.”
He looked at the bag again, then at me. And then, slowly, the smile I knew and dreaded crept across his face. “You bought me plastic ware,” he said. “Didn’t you?”
“No,” I growled, picking at my license plate.
“You did!” he hooted, laughing out loud. “You bought me some forks. And knives. And spoons. Because—”
“No,” I said loudly.
“—you love me!” He grinned, as if he’d solved the puzzler for all time, as I felt a flush creep across my face. Stupid Lissa. I could have killed her.
“It was on sale,” I told him again, as if this was some kind of an excuse.
“You love me,” he said simply, taking the bag and adding it to the others.
“Only seven bucks,” I added, but he was already walking away, so sure of himself. “It was on clearance, for God’s sake.”
“Love me,” he called out over his shoulder, in a singsong voice. “You. Love. Me.

 10.Masquerade (Blue Bloods Book Two) by Melissa De LaCruz- Schuyler Van Alen has always been drawn to Jack Force (I mean, wouldn’t you?  The name.  Holy cow.  You have to crush on him if only for his name).  Jack plays a game of hot and cold with Schuyler, clearly attracted to her but weighted under a heavy sense of duty to his family and his creepy bond with his twin sister, Mimi.

At a masquerade ball, Schuyler speaks to a flirtatious masked man.  She tells him of her seemingly unrequited feelings for Jack (without using names).  The man asks why she assumes this crush doesn’t have feelings for her.  Then he lifts his mask ever so slightly and kisses her.  I’m talking a good kiss.  One that tingles in the toes.   For a moment she swears it’s Jack.  But suddenly, The Masked Kisser (that’s totally the name of my new comic strip, by the way) is gone and Jack is across the room with Mimi on one of their weird dates.  He’s wearing a different mask than the mystery guy and he barely gives Schuyler the time of day.  But you know!  You just know it was him.

I wish I had a quote of this moment, but alas, you’re stuck with my lowly narration.  Sad face!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Aww Moments

  1. great ones! putting in my two cents:

    from Amy & Rogers EPIC Detour, when Amy tells Roger that he should pull over because it’s raining too hard for them to drive (so that’s what they’re calling it now)

    and speaking of Harry Potter, ANY, I mean ANY scene where we get glimpses of Ron & Hermione’s love for one another. Starting in the movie version of “Prisoner of Azkaban” when they unexpectantly hold hands (because I did NOT see them two together until RIGHT THEN)…to Order of Phoenix, and the exchange of Christmas gifts…to Half-Blood Prince & “Mione” (le sigh)…Ron & Hermione are my OTP!!!!

    sorry for highjacking your comments…carry on…

    • You are so not hijacking our comments! I love your Roger and Amy moment. There were some good ahh moments there (some also in her memories of her dad). I thought about Ron and Hermione but there were SO MANY!!!!! Love them. I’ve always loved in The Deathly Hallows, when Ron and Harry are trapped in the basement of the Malfroy’s and they can hear Hermione screaming above them and Ron is BESIDE HIMSELF screaming her name. Totally edge of your seat moment, but it also got me in the heart.

      • oh, that malfoy manor part is so so good! i was incredibly upset they didn’t put it in the movie.

  2. Okay, so this is an older post, but I’m new to this site and I’ve been trolling back issues . This is an amazing top ten! I love me some aww moments! I can’t move on without bringing up On the Jellico Road – a book replete with aww moments. I’m a strong believer in the pay it forward concept for loaning books as well, so I’m no longer in possession of my copy of the book – Alas, no direct quotes. The major aww moments are obvious, so I’ll skip over those. Here are a couple of the little ones I’m fond of. I love Taylor’s reaction when Jonah orders hot chocolate and white toast with marmalade for her. I also like the interaction between Jude and Taylor on their drive back from Sydney. Damn, that book is awesome!

  3. Pingback: We’re About To Melt You « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

