Author Awesomeness: Interview with Paige Harbison

Being that we are super dorky fangirls  of all things YA, we were stoked to be invited to participate in a blog tour for Here Lies Bridget, the debut novel from Paige Harbison.

Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison, published by Mira Ink http://www.miraink.co.uk

Not only did we get a chance to read the book (check out our review tomorrow!), but we also had the opportunity to interview Paige.  This is a big deal for us, because outside of YA characters, there really is nothing cooler than YA authors.

This is Paige!

So here goes…

Us (trying to be cool): For much of the story,  Bridget is a pretty difficult girl to like. Though this was obviously intentional on your part, did you find it difficult to sympathize with her as you were writing?

Paige (automatically cool):No, because I knew her inside and out. I knew why she was acting how she was even though she didn’t. I felt sorry for her the whole time, and often embarrassed for her.

Us: There were several characters I enjoyed getting to know in Here Lies Bridget.  Do you have a favorite?

Paige: Liam. He’s awesome. He’s kind of based on how I remember my first love—not how he was, but how I remember him. I liked him as a character because he stood up for himself enough to dump her because he didn’t like who she was becoming.

** Sidenote from us: Holla to Liam!  He was pretty dreamy.

Us: We’ve heard that Here Lies Bridget will be a film. Congratulations! We at YA Crush like to post our dream casts for many of the books we review.  Do you have a dream cast for the film version?  If not, did you have a particular image in your head when you were writing Bridget and the other characters?

Paige:

Bridget, Sarah Hyland from Modern Family

Luke Bilyk  for Liam

Either Catherine Keener or Patricia Clarkson for Meredith—or someone like them, anyway, I think they’re both 52, and therefore too old for the character. They look great, don’t they? 52!!

James Remar for Mr. Ezhno

Us:  (sigh inwardly because, you guys, she even sent us the photos of the actors she liked! She’s obviously our kindred spirit. Or super nerd-cool like us).

Us: Your mother, Beth Harbison, is a published author as well.  Is there a certain point in your life that you knew you’d follow in her footsteps or is there a special way she has encouraged you as a writer?

Paige: I never, ever envisioned it. I don’t know why, because it always looked awesome. Haha! She encouraged me because I knew she wouldn’t tell me she liked something if she really didn’t. She is more likely to not want me to embarrass myself than she is likely to coddle me. Thank god!

Us: What are you currently working on?

New Girl will be out later this year. It’s a modern take on Daphne du Maurier’s (and Alfred Hitchcock’s) Rebecca. I think my writing has grown since Here Lies Bridget, as is to be expected since it was my debut.

Isn’t she awesome?  You can check out more about Paige on her website . Be sure to check back tomorrow when we review Here Lies Bridget.

A big thank you goes out to Paige for taking time out to chat with us. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

