Mondays Bite: Chapters 11-15

by Vee

We’re continuing our Twilight reread as hosted by Ginger at GReads.  This week’s discussion (and next week’s questions) is  also being hosted by The Secret Life of an Avid Reader.  Here’s our take on Chapters 11-15:

  1. Do you think the name “Twilight” for this book is fitting with the story? Do you think a better name could have been chosen? What about the series and the names as a whole? 
    Though I think that the actual portion in the book where Edward talks about twilight was a little forced, I liked the titles as a whole.  I did ask myself in that first book: Did Meyers pick the title and then feel she needed to include something about twilight in the story?  That being said, I think that the titles work well together, I enjoyed the metaphors in the title which, in my opinion, tied cleverly to what each book was about.  Twilight is a transition in the day that you can’t miss.  It’s a change that’s significant, as significant as the change that came to Edward when he met Bella, and vice versa.  The rest of the titles were aptly chosen as well: New Moon brought with it a new addition in Bella’s life (Jacob was now an important part of it and this started a new phase in her life in Forks); Eclipse included a new struggle for Bella as she worked through her feelings of confusion and once she arrived there it was as when the sun emerges from behind an eclipse; and, my favorite of all the titles, “Breaking Dawn” is the start of a whole new life for Bella so why wouldn’t it be named for the start of the day?2. On this re-read, what’s your favorite part of the book? Is it the vampires, setting, plot, characters, Edward, or something else?

Ack, hard question.  At this point in my re-reads (this may very well be re-read #20), what I enjoy most is the exchanges between Edward and Bella, the moments that you get to read (and envision them in your head) of them falling in love.  The moments when you see Edward allow her in are so wonderful.

3. Edward shows his stalkerish/controlling tendencies during these chapters for the first time (at least Bella is aware), did this bother you the first time you read Twilight? Does it bother you now that you’re re-reading it? Should Bella be more worried about it?

In this world where a mysterious, inhuman creature exists, and where other inhuman creatures with no concern over human life exist, I don’t think this is Bella’s biggest concern.  But I will say, I notice some of those “eek” moments more now than I did the first time I read it.  I was so enthralled in the story and in the romance, it didn’t really phase me the first go round.  However, if I can just jump on my soapbox o’Twilight for a moment, this is because I know this is just a fun story, not a manual on how to have a successful relationship with a vampire.  Don’t take it too seriously and you’ll be A-OK.  Kumbaya, people, let it be.

4. Do you find yourself, during or after reading another paranormal/supernatural book, comparing it to Twilight? If you do, why do you think that is? Is it because it’s popular or because it’s just a book that makes an impact?

I absolutely do, and I know it’s because Twilight was the first book of this genre I ever read, so indubitably I will always compare these types of books to it.  Primarily it’s because so many authors seem to want to borrow a page from Meyers’ very successful books, and who can blame them, but also, it’s because I was so taken by this story I can only dream that I’ll find another that will make me gush and swoon as much.  Sigh, alas, not so much with others.  No more angels and vampires, wolves or fairies.  Please.  This is a cry for help.

5. Bella is introduced to the Cullen Family in chapter 15, who is your favorite Cullen and why?

  1. Alice because…really, come now…she is awesome sauce.  (She’s on my GF list, you know.)  OK fine, if I must elaborate, she and I have a lot in common.  No, I’m not psychic, but I’d like to think that of all the characters, our personalities are most similar.  I try to keep things positive, my friend’s parents totally always loved me (you know like Charlie loves Alice?) and, oh, yea, also, I throw me some mean parties.  Just sayin.  But, if I may just add, Dr. Carlisle Cullen and Emmett give her a run for her money.  Emmett solely based on the fact that I always wished I would have had an older brother like him and Carlisle because he seems like someone who’d be a really good conversationalist.  What with so many centuries under his belt, he probably wouldn’t run out of things to say, you dig?

Join us here next week as we discuss Chapters 16-20 along with the ladies at The Reading Housewives of Indiana! Happy re-reading!

9 thoughts on “Mondays Bite: Chapters 11-15

  1. “Don’t take it too seriously and you’ll be A-OK.” —> YES! Totally agree!

    I’m really taking note that everyone seems to love Alice so much…not that I do not (I didn’t choose a favorite…) but because I didn’t realize that she was so much more remarkable to everyone as a character. So interesting!

  2. I felt the same way about Edward and the stalking. I never noticed it the first time, I was too oh my gosh I love this Edward Vampire guy. Reading it now and after midnight sun, there are some Red flags, but nothing the paranormal world cant handle…;)

  3. we have similar answers 🙂

    Laughing my butt off at “manual on how to have a successful relationship with a vampire. ” Seriously though I remember when Breaking Dawn came out and everyone started trashing Twilight, I was like as much as I love it, its a STORY people!!!

  4. “However, if I can just jump on my soapbox o’Twilight for a moment, this is because I know this is just a fun story, not a manual on how to have a successful relationship with a vampire. Don’t take it too seriously and you’ll be A-OK. Kumbaya, people, let it be.”-LOVE!!!

    Me no likey Alice much! haha! 🙂

    • Wow, never heard someone not enjoy Alice…I gotta know, what do you think of her? Can’t wait to hear another point of view! 🙂

  5. ACK! Each of your comments just made my day. My dearest Tee had to post this for me because my computer is acting cranky and after a full day at work I was finally to log on to check out the comments for today’s post…and what do I find but kindred spirits who understand! Yay! Looking forward to next week, so long as my computer starts behaving, grrr! 😉

Leave a Reply

