Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Books

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Today the topic they’ve chosen is a tough one: books we feel don’t get the attention they deserve.  The reason this is tough for me is that I really only don’t look at the popularity of books (although sometimes it’s hard to ignore in cases like Twilight or The Hunger Games).  So here are some books I absolutely loved, but don’t hear tons of buzz about.  For all I know they could be HUGE hits (in fact, I think some of them are) but if you haven’t read them, you are missing out.

1. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– I talk about this one an awful lot, I know.  It’s that sweet, that funny, that touching, that beautifully written.

2. Austenland by Shannon Hale- this is actually considered Adult Fiction, but with the sheer volume of Austen fans out there, it shouldn’t matter what genre it is, only that it is such a cute, romantic take on what happens when we get a little too obsessed with the enticing worlds she created.

3. Pants on Fire by Meg Cabot- This one is classic Meg Cabot.  The heroine is funny and makes some cringeworthy decisions complete with lots of smooching with someone who isn’t her boyfriend (I mentioned those bad decisions didn’t I?) and by being caught up in something with a mysterious guy who’s just returned to town. As always, Cabot’s writing style is what makes it a fun read.

4. Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales- I just reviewed this recently but I cannot stress enough how funny this writer is.  Pick it up. And laugh. Alot.

5. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler– This book was such a realistic picture of best friends and what happens when there are secrets.  The growing pains and the grieving are so well-written without being too weighty.  It’s a good read.

6. Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger- This is an Adult Fiction about a web of lies (could you tell that from the title?) surrounding the main character.  The question it asks is this: if you found out your whole wonderful, amazing life was a lie and that your real life was sad and devastating, would you choose to live the lie or pursue the truth?  So good.

7.  Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready– It’s a romantic story with ghosts and tragedy. I thought it was very creative and refreshing, especially considering I’m not a huge fan of paranormal books.

8. Avalon High by Meg Cabot- I though this book was so cute and creative.  Cabot twines the legend of Camelot into a story where the main character, Ellie,  begins to believe that she and her friends are modern-day version of King Arthur and his men (and women).  Note: if you’ve seen the Disney movie, it’s completely different.  Read the book!

9. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart- I talk about this one alot too.  And I won’t stop until every girl on earth reads this story and embraces her inner Frankie.  It’s just so mart and funny, as all E. Lockhart books are.

10. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchette- This book may actually be popular, I’m not sure. I know It has received tons of critical acclaim, but I truly believe that anyone who has skipped it is missing out.  She is a fantastic writer and this story, though it can be heavy at times, is amazing.

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Books

  1. i have to say that i totally agree with most of these books (i haven’t read 3 of them)…especially austenland, i loved that book. i will read anything related to pride and prejudice and/or jane austen (jane bites back by Michael Thomas Ford, Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler, Me & Mr. Darcy by Alexandra Potter, Mr Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange…i could go on). anyway, i totally got off track.great selections, once again.

    have you read princess academy by shannon hale? great book & a younger YA. never would have read it had i not already read austenland. i thought they were coming out with a movie for Austenland…

    also, one of my favorite E. Lockhart books is Fly on the Wall. Short & Awesome…and I’ve never seen anyone mention it…go get it.

    • I’m so glad you mentioned Fly on the Wall because I’ve heard it was awesome, but I’ve never picked it up. Also, and P&P related stories pretty much rock for me. I’m not a fan of “continuing the story” as much as I like ones about people who love them (like me!). They ARE making an Austenland movie. I think they just started filming a couple of weeks ago and I know that Keri Russell and Jane Seymour are in it. So psyched about that.
      My daughter and I started Princess Academy (when she was 7) and she didn’t like it. I think she was too young and we were doing it aloud as a togetherness thing, so I never finished it. We didn’t get very far, but I’ll dig it out. Did you know she’s writing an Austenland sequel? Midnight in Austenland, or something like that. It’s on her blog. Love her!

  2. The Sky is Everywhere is wonderful. And not yet discovered, I agree. Very good look inside someone’s head after a tragedy. Definitely recommend it. Jellicoe Road is excellent as well – the author, Melina Marchette, has a number of books out. I also liked Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son by her. Check those out.

      • The Piper’s Son is a sequel to Saving Francesca. It focuses on Thomas Mackee, but there are mentions of all the kids from Saving Francesca, mostly Francesca, Justine and Tara. It’s good. I just finished it last week.

  3. Hello! I am your new follower and have to say I loved your book! Finally there is a place that proves I am not crazy to love all those YA books…ha!
    Thanks for the list you put up here. I am always on the lookout for YA books and some have such tacky covers that I do not buy them. So, usually end up with only the popular ones. So, now that I have the list, I am going to get through them soon. Thank you for that.

  4. I think I might start Mostly Good Girls today! I’m in the mood to laugh! 🙂 And I wasn’t sure what to read next! I agree with you on The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks…I have a review going up for it tomorrow…I loved it! I also loved The Sky is Everywhere and Jellicoe Road and Shade and Twenty Boy Summer!

  5. I am in complete agreement about The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. I love that book. It should have won the Printz the year it won the Honor and I have a really hard time talking kids into reading it. I can’t figure out why, either. I enjoyed Jellicoe Road, but it was a difficult book to get going in.

    Anne
    My Head is Full of Books

  6. i very much agree with you on jellicoe road. it’s an amazing book. this is the second list where the sky is everywhere is mentioned–it’s going on my wishlist. great list 🙂

    • It is so good! The writing is beautiful. There are so many sweet moments and sad ones, but I also found myself laughing out loud too. It’s excellent.

  7. i LOVED Austenland! i didn’t know that there was a sequel in the works or that the original was gonna be made into a movie so thanks for the booky good info! 🙂

    • I can’t wait to see the movie!! Mr. Nobley…sa-woon! I don’t know anything about the sequel though, so I assume it’s a new cast of characters at Pemberly Park. I still love that concept. So creative and cute.

    • I’m glad you like my picks! I’ve heard that the sequel to Shade is really good, so I need to check it out soon. And Jellicoe. Oh how I love that one. 🙂

  8. I love love love ‘The sky is everywhere’ Joe Fontaine is my perfect boyfriend..
    I really want to read pants on fire. I havent read a meg cabot book yet, but i must.
    Also ‘On the jellicoe road’ is my fav book of all time!
    great post and book choices 🙂
    -abbey

    • Hold the phone! You haven’t read Meg? Get off the computer and pick up The Princess Diaries, like, now! 🙂 Also, I loved Joe. He was so adorable. I loved how she’d look at his eyelashes and say “Bat, bat” to herself.

  9. I agree with your choice of books (at least the ones I’ve read. The rest of them sounds amazing as well), but there are some that i would like to add to the list, I loved Nina Malkins book “6X the uncensored confessions”. I found it at my local library some years ago, and i fell in love with it! I also think that Toy Soldiers by William P. Kennedy should be read by more people.

Leave a Reply

