Going Too Far

Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Get past the cover. It's good. I promise.

All Meg has ever wanted is to get away. Away from high school. Away from her backwater town. Away from her parents who seem determined to keep her imprisoned in their dead-end lives. But one crazy evening involving a dare and forbidden railroad tracks, she goes way too far…and almost doesn’t make it back.

John made a choice to stay. To enforce the rules. To serve and protect. He has nothing but contempt for what he sees as childish rebellion, and he wants to teach Meg a lesson she won’t soon forget. But Meg pushes him to the limit by questioning everything he learned at the police academy. And when he pushes back, demanding to know why she won’t be tied down, they will drive each other to the edge — and over….

Here’s the scoop:

Meg is sort of a wild child.  She and a group of friends (including her mega-scumbag boyfriend) are arrested one night after taking a drunken and highly illegal stroll on the train tracks of a local bridge.  Since they’re all minors, they get off pretty easily, each having to serve one week of community service.  Meg gets stuck patrolling with the annoying goody-two shoes arresting cop, Officer John After (really).  She’s pretty bitter about the whole thing.

To Meg, John seems awfully stuffy and ridiculously content considering the fact that he’s in a dead-end job in a dead-end town.  She can’t wait to blow off her home town and go to college,  if only to escape her parents and the low expectations on the horizon.  She can’t understand why John, who is only a year older than her, would choose to stay and obsessively guard the bridge.  Worse, she resents the fact that John is making it his personal quest to teach Meg about the dangers of her crazy lifestyle.

You know that saying “opposites attract?”  It often seems overdone, but somehow in this story it sets the perfect tone.  Both Meg and John have something to learn from one another (more Meg than John because girlfriend can be totally obnoxious at times).  Though she begins her week-long punishment with dread, Meg starts to look forward to her time with John.  He’s actually a really nice guy and for some reason he seems to have quite the soft spot for Meg.  And though this story isn’t crazy romantic, there are some sweet, tender moments as well as some sexy intensity.

These two, though they seem so different, are so likeable.  Meg tries so hard to present a tough facade when in actuality she can be very thoughtful and sweet.  She has reason–or so she believes– to live as she does.  As I got to know her, I really loved her heart.  And John, he’s the perfect good boy.  There is no question about his kindness or his sense of morality, but as the story progresses he conveys a vulnerability (though he tries not to) that is pretty swoonworthy (as are the mentions of him in his awesome shirtless glory, just sayin).  These two have some serious chemistry.

I liked the story and I’d definitely like to read more by Jennifer Echols.  Special thanks to Ryann at Novel Addiction.  You were right about John. Sa-woon!

Crush Intensity: 4/5 I must read more of her books!

12 thoughts on “Going Too Far

  1. This was not a swoon for me and definitely not a sa-woon. Maybe I’m just a sucker for bad boys…

    But I’m happy someone has read it so I can talk about some of the details that annoyed me 🙂 Like the big deal about her hair being blue(if I remember the color right). Yes, her hair is blue, so what?! And how could she think he was crazy old?

    • You’re so right. I forgot about her thinking he was older! I did think that was kind of silly. Her hair didn’t bother me though (I thought it was cute that he compared her to Japanese Manga character though. I definitely enjoy a bad boy every now and then, but I notice more often now I’m drawn to the more sweet, goody-two shoes types. I sometimes wonder if it’s just because I’m getting old and therefore more practical! 🙂 I think though that most often they seem more “real” to me as opposed to the more recent bad boys, who tend to be paranormal characters. They have a draw too though. John was very real to me. That being said, he’s not on my list all-time favorites or anything, but he definitely pulled me in and made me want to slap some sense into Meg (when she was acting up).

  2. When you think about it the good boy is something that’s kinda missing from YA right now. Paranormal bad boys are totes in.
    i gotta say, speaking as An Old, i’m more into the nice guys. When i think about the whole bad boy persona thing it makes me feel like Danny Glover’s character in the Die Hard movies— i’m getting too old for this shit. They’re just too much work. Plus i HATES drama. In books, TV, movies it’s fine but in real life it’s not something i want to deal with.

    • I must be that we is OLD! I love a naughty guy (like oooooooh Mr. Rochester. He gets me every time) but give me a sweet, shy, even kinda nerdy guy and I’m usually hooked. Love the Danny Glover quote BTW. I feel that way far too often.

  3. A sweet, nerdy, nice guy I like? Roger from “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour”. So yes, I can see their charm too 🙂

    And it is more realistic. There aren’t that many dark/brooding/mysterious/moody/bad high school boys with a past in real life. Moody maybe, but that tend to be less attractive than it is on page.

    Do you have a post about nice guys here somewhere?

    • Maria, we don’t! I’ve been talking about writing a post about my extreme love of nerds. I promise I will soon. 🙂 Then we’ll have you all weigh in with your nerd love. I love bad boys too but I think they’re just so overdone right now. And you’re right. Mossy isn’t so bad on the page but in real life it’s pretty much annoying! 🙂

  4. Tee, YAY! I am so glad you read it, and thanks for the mention on your blog!. I couldn’t agree more, John is so majorly (yummy) swoon-worthy. He’s totally a fictional boyfriend of mine. Since reading this book, I check for hot cops whenever I pass one on the street. Sadly, I have not seen a John after look alike *yet*.

  5. I usually like the bad boys or the bad boys turned good (you know, the ones with the dark past and whatnot) — but then again if the guy acts like a charming prince hmm..that couldn’t hurt 🙂

    great review, I’ll have to give this book a try.

Leave a Reply

