Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBRs

by Tee

This week, the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish have asked us to list our Top Ten To Be Read Books for Fall.  I think my list could be ridiculously long, considering the fact that I have a bunch of classics I’ve never read AND a few more to read for the Debut Author Challenge…but humor me here.

1. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare–  WHHHHATTT??? I know.  It’s been out since April, people. April.  But there is a reason I’ve dragged my feet even though I’m dying for more Clary and Jace (and let’s be honest. Even more Jace).  Normally I prefer to read a series once all the books are out.  It’s not that I don’t love getting involved in all the hype, because I do.  It’s mainly that I’m seriously crazy and impatient and will obsess over every detail of what could possibly come next until a) the next book comes out or b) I find a new shiny object to love.  So I’ve told myself to hold out until the Fall in the hopes that a few months until the next book won’t feel too terribly long.

2.  Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins– Let’s be honest. I already love this book even though I haven’t read a single line yet.  I really enjoyed  Anna and the French Kiss and all the buzz I’ve heard has been so good.  Also, St. Clair and Anna make a couple of appearances, (Sarah Dessen style! Love it) so I’m in.

3. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi– I’m already hearing amazing things about this one.  And I love the cover. November can’t come fast enough.

4. Past Perfect by Leila Sales– I currently have a copy of this and am dying to read it because I love Leila Sales and her great, funny writing style.  I know this will be awesome.

5. Shut Out by Kody Keplinger– I really liked The Duff because even though the content was a bit racy (yeah, I’m a major prude) Keplinger’s writing was impressive and she found a way to make me love her characters, even if I wouldn’t necessarily make the same decisions they would.  Based on the premise of Shut Out, it sounds like she’ll be pushing the envelope yet again.

6. Anything by Maureen Johnson– Would you believe I’ve never read any of her books?  I’m hoping to start with Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, but I’m willing to read anything of hers since I’ve heard such praise for her books.

7. A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young– A couple of blogs I love have spoken so highly of this book that I’m pretty sure I’ll break down and read it soon.

8. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin– From what I’ve heard, this one has some serious what the shizz??? moments.  I have a tendency to love books like that; ones that totally take you for a ride and do something completely unexpected. I’m there.

9. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare– You guys, I loved Clockwork Angel and have been waiting for what seems like years to watch the next part of the story unfold.  I love the characters in this book (and Will is on my list).

10. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott– I’m finally reading this (very slowly) and loving it.  I can’t believe I waited my whole life to pick it up, but I’m so thankful that my nine-year old daughter loaned me her copy and convinced me I’d love it.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBRs

  1. Ok well I had to come here and read your list first..I mean we share a love for YA books and we share a name! Great list..there are so many on there I also want to read. Hope in the future we can have many great book related conversations!

  2. i too have not yet read “city of fallen angels.” i think i even pre-ordered it. i think the reason is because i kinda want to reread all the others. otherwise, i feel like i won’t remember everything that’s happened. that’s why i have to wait for a series to end before i begin reading it, i think i have early onset alzheimer’s. and also, maureen johnson=genius. read suite scarlett, scarlett fever & girl at sea. clockwork prince was GERRRR-REAT! (of course)

    • You and I are so alike in our preference to have an entire series released before we start them. And in the early onset of memory issues. I’m planning on tacking a few Maureen Johnsons for sure!

  3. Your first time! May there be many more times 🙂
    A Need So Beautiful is literally staring me down, demanding to be picked up and read! (seriously, it’s right next to me on the couch, since I haven’t bothered to put it on a shelf after it got here yet..)
    Thanks for stopping by @ the Broke and the Bookish

  4. As I scrolled down your list my Ooo kept becoming longer and more excited! Mara Dyers is on my TBR too!! That is a kickass Fall TBR list! 😀
    Have fun reading and reviewing them, looking forward to your blog reviews on those books!

    • Guys, I’m SO excited to read them both. You know that feeling when you are already certain you’ll love a book even though you haven’t even touched it yet? That’s so how I feel about those two books.

    • I haven’t. I really need to, but the stack of books I already have is enormous! You are the second person this week to talk to me about the awesomeness of Noah (and I’d heard it before too!). It’s like a sign that I need to get my nose in that book pronto. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Winter TBR List « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

