Top Ten Tuesday: Book Whose Titles or Covers Made Me Buy Them

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s subject is the Top Ten Books Whose  Covers or Titles Made Me Buy Them.   Friends, this one was hard.  I mean, you read YA. You’ve seen the covers.  I submit for your approval:

 

 

Need I say more?  No. If you’ve ever walked through the YA section of the bookstore, you know what we’re up against.

Still, after much thought, I was able to come up with a list:

1. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare– This caught my eye on a Borders (remember them?) bookshelf.  I’ll be honest.  I thought the guy was cute and I liked his hat (I’m shallow that way).  This was my first Cassandra Clare and I loved it, all thanks to my soft spot for men in hats.

2. Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mylnowski– I’ve probably said this twenty-five times but I’ll say it again. I really need to review this book.  In truth, I read it because I heard such wonderful things about it, but I ADORE this cover. Do you see how cute this boy and girl are?  I sometimes stare at it, willing them to kiss.  Really.

3.  The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han– Whoa mama, I got some serious crap for this one when I brought it home.  The husband practically gagged when he saw the title.  But the cover, oh the cover.  I was drawn in the moment I saw it.  I hadn’t heard a word about it yet, but the image of Belly (she was so sweet and pretty) and the boys standing behind her just totally enveloped me.

4. Abandon by Meg Cabot– OK, I didn’t actually buy this because I received an ARC, but still…I would have bought it solely based on the cover because it is gorgeous.  It’s my favorite of all Meg Cabot’s book covers.

5. Sweethearts by Sara Zarr– I don’t own this one (though I need to buy it because I love it).  I read it based on a great recommendation, but I love this cover too.  If I’d seen it, I would have bought it without a word because it has a cookie on it. A cookie!  Sadly, no one makes cookies in this story, but it’s still amazing.

6. Entwined by Heather Dixon– Again, I do not own this one, but I knew I wanted to read it the moment I saw the cover.  It is completely magical (as is the story) and leaves you wondering if the girl is running away from something or toward something . Also, I’ll admit it.  I’m a total girl. I love the dress!

7. The Godmother by Carrie Adams– This book is not YA, but I wandered past it in Target many times and it always caught my eye.  I can’t explain why, I just liked it.  It was a cute book, but sadder than I expected.

8. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffennegger– I read this years ago, before there was a movie and before I was looking up book reviews online.  I saw it in Target (can you tell I spend alot of time there?) and the image of the shoes and the blanket just sort of called out to me. I’m SO glad I picked it up because it is the most, beautiful, amazing story and truly is my all-time favorite book. I know I say that all the time, but humor me.  It make me feel good to say it.

9. Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Pattillo– I’ll be honest, I didn’t love this book, but when I see the cover I still want to sigh.  It’s so pretty and romantic and sort evokes a sense of  drama.  Also, I love the dress, okay?

10. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson– Headless people aren’t usually my thing, but I love this cover.  You know what it says to me? Roadtrip!  And you know what else? Roadtrip with a cute guy (because why else would you go on a roadtrip with him or hold his hand? He’s automatically cute, in my head at least). And this book is so adorable.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Whose Titles or Covers Made Me Buy Them

  1. great list, as always. i loved “jane austen ruined my life” and the subsequent sequels…this is me sticking my tongue at you. plus, the covers are all awesome. and i actually bought “the summer i turned pretty” because it was a great cover, too.

    • There were sequels? Maybe I should read them. I liked the book but I thought the MC was a bit whiny. She was in a bad situation though. Also, I reeeeeally needed more kissing. I think it’s just so hard for any JA-style book to measure up to Austenland. I need you to tell me which ones to read. 🙂

    • I know! And usually they’re headless or they look all emo. I like that particular cover so much though. My husband just doesn’t get it. He regularly rolls his eyes at my book titles and covers. Boys!

  2. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour was such a great book! Loved it!
    i also really like the cover for Entwined, mostly for the pretty dress. In fact i picked The Luxe series for my list because of pretty dress envy. 😉

  3. I have a lot of headless people on covers on my list. I think Sloppy Firsts started it all (for me anyway). It was one of the first covers that I saw like this (back in 2001). Now I’m drawn to them. I got Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour because of the cover and the title. I still haven’t read it, but I have it when I’m ready.

    I love the cover of Jane Austen Ruined My Life – it makes me want to read some Jane Austen (which I haven’t yet) – what is wrong with me??!!

    • Joli, you need to rectify that! She really is awesome. I love P&P, Emma and Persuasion.The one I never really liked was Mansfield Park, which supposedly was her favorite. I wouldn’t bother with that one, but you know, I’m crazy that way. I love the Jessica Darling books despite the headlessness. Sometimes you just have to get past the covers, I guess.

    • It’s really good. I love retellings, but since this was a story I wasn’t terribly familiar with, I still wasn’t sure how it would all turn out. Plus it had more than one romance. I’m a sucker when it comes to that!

Leave a Reply

