Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had Strong Emotions About

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is Books I Had Strong Emotions About.  I love this topic because it covers everything from crying, to laughing, to throwing.  I have felt all of these emotions quite often, so I’ll only mention the ones that really stand out in my mind.

1. If I Stay/Where She Went by Gayle Forman- These books go together. They both made me cry my stinking eyes out, but not in a manipulative sort of way (Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks, take a lesson).  I was emotionally invested in these stories and in each character from the first few lines.  I’m not embarrassed to say that I actually hugged Where She Went when it was all over.

2.  The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson- Do you ever tire of hearing me blather on about this book?  It ends up on almost every list I make.  I cried when I read this. And I laughed and laughed. And then I said, “Lenny!  WHAT. ARE. YOU. DOING?” And then I cried more.  The writing was beautiful and the characters were so wonderfully flawed.  I couldn’t get enough of it.

3.  Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling- First of all, I love every single book in this series.  I was completely engrossed with each adventure, but when Harry (sniff) was in the Kings Cross station with Dumbledore, for some reason I started bawling. I was just so completely on the edge of my seat, and so anxious to know how it would all end that it was a relief and a comfort to know Dumbledore was with him.  That series is the pinnacle of awesomeness.

4. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot- For those of you who are new to this site, I’ll let you in on a little secret: I’m completely obsessed with The Princess Diaries series.  When the final book came out, I was so worried about how it would all end.  I was so wrapped up in my love for Mia and Michael (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) and in my total contempt for the corn hater, JP, that I tore through it in a couple of hours.  And I loved every minute of it.  And then I realized something:  It was all over.  It made me so sad because I’ve come to love those characters so much (except you, JP, you floppy haired jerkhole) and it felt sort of sad to say goodbye to them all.  This may explain why I read them all the time.  (Either that or the fact that Michael Moscovitz is the fake man of my dreams).

5. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan- I know, I know. I talk about this book alot too, but you guys, it’s so good.  I was emotionally invested from the start.  I cried at a few different points, but mainly I was just completely blown away by the writing.  Plus, I dare anyone not to completely adore Riddle!  I wanted to adopt him.

6. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins- I had to include all three books here because there were so many points in the trilogy where I was nervous, or where I fist pumped, or where I cried (that was mostly in Mockingjay).  There were things that made me angry too, but I was undeniably into this story.  I loved Katniss, Peeta and Gale and at different points they each pissed me off, but I cared about what happened to them. And don’t bring up Finnick.  It still makes me want to cry.

7. Need by Carrie Jones- I mean no ill will to the author when I say that I absolutely hated this book.  I threw it across the room. I snorted at the characters. I laughed in parts that were meant to be scary.  Yes, Need is the book that helped me to discover something very important: I hate fairy books.  I’m sorry.

8. Saving Francesca/Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta- I adore each of these books, so I thought I should include them together.  Jellicoe Road was an intense story for me.  It had me sad and bewildered and crying at times, while also leaving me feeling a bit swoony (thank you Jonah effing Griggs).  Saving Francesca was incredible as well, but my emotions were different.  I cried alot at the end, and I laughed alot (because Francesca is really funny).  There was this amazing balance of sadness and humor and romance.  I was totally wrapped up in each story because Marchetta is such an amazing writer.

9. Delirium by Lauren Oliver- I didn’t expect this book to rock me because, although it was fantastic, there were no intense emotions for me…until the end. Then I pretty much sobbed like a little baby.   It was so, so good.

10. The Immortals series by Alyson Noel-  I love the premise of these books, but sometimes I think that the MC, Ever, is completely ridiculous.  And when I say sometimes, I mean pretty much every moment of her existence.  And these books deal alot with reincarnation and crystals and shizz like that (stuff I already think is pretty crazy), so it’s not the best combo for me.  I often find myself rolling my eyes and throwing them across the room. But I can’t lie.  For some reason (Damon) I still like these books. It’s insane, I tell you. Totally insane.

11. Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales/ The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart/The Boyfriend Books by E. Lockhart- I’m sorry to combine ten billion books on my last entry (yeah I know. Top Ten Tuesday should only have ten items, but whatever. I’m a giver). This group of books all made me laugh my pants off.  They’re not only funny, they’re clever and the protagonists are awesomely flawed, strong, intelligent girls.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had Strong Emotions About

  1. I could seriously copy and paste half of these writeups for our top 10, but I’m challenging myself to not include a book I’ve already mentioned a dozen times, so who knows how long it will take me to publish. I am SO WITH YOU on the Sky Is Everywhere, HP, HG, Jellicoe Road (Jonah effing Griggs!) /Saving Francesca (hooray Frankie & Will!) love. But you know that; it’s why I keep coming back to YA Crush! Off to buy “I’ll Be There”…

    I cried yesterday during HBO’s Deathly Hallows marathon when I turned it on precisely at the moment of the Silver Doe chapter.

    • HP still gives me chills! It will never cease to amaze me. Also, I need to challenge myself to stop talking about the same books over and over again. It’s so hard sometimes!

  2. Marchetta makes me very emotional. I read “The Piper’s Son” over the weekend and cried so much. Reading your list almost makes me cry again.

    And I’m not completely new to this blog so I know Michael Moscowitz is the fake man of your dreams, but I still haven’t read the last three or four books of the series. Maybe I should? (OK, silly question…) Even if they’ll introduce me to JP, the corn hater. (Corn hater?! Ha!)

    • You HAVE TO!!!! JP is mentioned in earlier books as The Guy Who Hates it When They Put Corn in the Chilli. He’s ok at first but then he makes it impossible not to hate him. And then, stacked against Michael? No contest. But I don’t want to ruin it for you. Go read. We can discuss the full awesomeness of The Princess Diaries when you finish! 🙂

    • As much as I love YA Crush, you should stop reading the blog and go read the rest of the PD series now!!!! Michael (SIGH) is the greatest. Also – Tee I’m with you on Harry, i can’t stop talking about it either. It will remain on most lists I have forever. ~ Maggie

      • Can I tell you how sad I was that even though I wanted to dress like an HP character for Halloween, I could only find slutty Hogwarts costumes in my size? It’s a travesty. When did Hermione (or Harry for that matter) wear a skirt that barely covered their arse? Now I’m counting down to the DVD release so I can revel in it again. I think it may be time for a re-read.

      • Um, and Michael, it just goes without saying, I need a dose of him on a regular basis even if only to re-read my fav. parts of one of the books.

  3. What a great list! I totally agree with you about the Immortals series! I really disliked Ever and yet I read and for the most part enjoyed every stinkin one of them. How did that happen? Love Frankie Landau-Banks! Have you read Leila Sales’ new book, Past Perfect? Totally cute! Here’s my list http://wp.me/pzUn5-BC

  4. Bahaha — “I hate fairy books. I’m sorry.” I felt the exact same way about Beastly. And One Night that Changes Everything by L. Barnholdt (even though I like her other work!).

    I really do need to read Mostly Good Girls. I’m currently on a book buying ban and so I was wanting to put it on my Christmas wish list but OMG that cover is just…embarrassing. Other people who know me IRL would totally judge me for wanting that book! But I LOVE a book that makes me laugh! They are so few and far between!

    • I feel so guilty for not liking fairy books! It’s ridiculous! You know, I liked One Night That Changes Everything, maybe because it was my first LB read? And I hear you on the book buying ban. My hubs always gets upset that I leave him no fun books to buy for me. It’s so hard to wait though! Leila Sales is hilarious. Worth the wait for sure.

  5. Your reaction to Need reminds me of the time I tried to read The Hobbit–one of those books I was determined to read because I felt I should and not because I really wanted to. I slogged through half of it and then had to give up. Why? The introduction of a dragon. Who hoards stuff. And talks. That’s where I drew the line. I hate talking OCD dragon books.

Leave a Reply

