Top Ten Tuesday- Childhood Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today we’re reminiscing about our favorite childhood reads.  I have to be honest, that is one of the lovely bonuses of having children (though, of course, there are many): You can steal their books! I didn’t steal these though. These I read when I was just a kiddo. And I read them over and over again like a big old nerd. Some things never change.

1. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl– This was far and away my favorite book as a kid. I still look for books that can envelope me in such charm and magic. And food is always, always a plus. Especially chocolate, hello.

2. Superfudge by Judy Blume– I think I may have mentioned before that at one time I found Peter to be cute. I was a kid, ok? What did I know?  Still, I read this book over and over because I thought it was hilarious.

3. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume– Alright, so clearly I had a thing for Peter. And I just loved his adorable family. This is exactly how tattered my copy looked.

4. The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright– This book used to scare the pants off me, but I found myself wishing it was plausible. Wouldn’t the world be so much better if dolls could help us solve crimes?  Then again, that would be totally creepers.

5. Ramona the Pest by Beverly Clearly– Am I the only who who still, when called to sing the national anthem at a baseball game or otherwise (um, not professionally or anything) have the urge to say “by the dawnzer lee light”? Is that just me? Ramona is still on my brain.

6. Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great by Judy Blume– I don’t even remember what this book was about, but I remember loving it and thinking it was really funny. Of course it was great, it’s Judy Blume!

7. Betsey-Tacy and Tib by Maude Heart Lovelace– I loved this book, even though I have no recollection of  what it was about.  Friendship, I guess, which is a theme that speaks to us at any age.

8. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyne Keene– Oh man, I read this series like crazy. These books always had me on the edge of my seat and I loved every minute of it. No one could solve mysteries AND rock that ‘do like Nancy.

9. The Sweet Valley High series by Francine Pascal– Yes, I hate to admit it, but I loved these horrible, cheesy books, even though I pretty much hated Jessica and Elizabeth (which is why I really appreciate this).

10. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak– I STILL love this book. I was so happy to grow up and share it with my own girls and they loved it so much that they asked me to read it to them almost every night.  I read it so often that I can still recite it (along with Goodnight Moon and Guess how Much I Love You). Such a great story.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Childhood Favorites

  1. I absolutely think of Ramona Quimby during the national anthem! I think of her asking her dad to turn off the dawnzer lee light. I also think of her when ever someone mentions doing anything “for the present.” I totally forgot to add any Beverly Cleary to my list, but she definitely belongs there.

  2. Holy cow! I had forgotten about the Dollhouse Murders! I don’t even remember where I got this book from but I’m pretty sure I tore through it more than 8 billion times! Great list; this makes me nostalgic for all the great reads from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

