Hourglass

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.

So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.
Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?(Goodreads)

The Story:

Emerson has a problem: she sees dead people. They don’t want to suck her blood (or impregnate her and chew the baby out) and they don’t need her help. They’re more like apparitions; images of times gone by.  Emerson’s older brother, Thomas, who has been her guardian since the death of their parents, is pretty worried about her. It’s probably because she spent some time in a mental hospital because she got into a fight with one of these ghosts in her high school cafeteria one day.

So, yeah, Emerson has some issues.

Luckily, the guy Thomas hired to help her out, Michael, he’s pretty cute, so that definitely helps matters.  Also, he’s pretty knowledgeable about Emerson’s situation because something similar happens to him.  In fact, he doesn’t view Emerson’s issue as a problem, but more of an ability.  He explains to her that her gift isn’t really about seeing ghosts, but something entirely different. Don’t ask what because if I told you that would be cheating.

Emerson and Michael have an undeniable connection. When they touch it’s literally electric (and Michael always insists on doing the honorable thing by keeping it professional between them, but you can tell that he wants to get all smoochy with her ).  Unfortunately, they have bigger things to do. Michael wants to use their abilities to help prevent a terrible incident from the past. It’s a task involving huge risks, not only to the safety of Michael and Emerson, but regarding the repercussions of playing with the days gone by. Yet, Emerson is willing to take those risks because she trusts Michael.

My Take:

I thought this book had a great start. Em’s visions were creepy, but not scary and she was totally unphased. I mean, if I saw southern belles or strange men wandering through my home, I think I’d have a melt down, but Emerson only flinches briefly before going on with her day. When the actual plot begins to unfold, the story is incredibly unique because there are certain elements dealing with time travel (for those of you who don’t know, I love books with lots of kissing and anything related to time travel. That’s why this breaks my heart, mostly because I’m sad that people actually spent money to research it when I could have told them for free).  Both Emerson and Michael are very likeable and they have some great tingly moments.  My only complaint is the ending and how it unfolded.  It felt a little soap opera-ish and I really saw the end coming very early on. Still, it was an interesting story and, I think, a solid debut.

Crush Intensity:  3.5/5 I think this story would make a really fun movie and lucky for us, it looks like the film rights have been sold.   Let’s hope it all works out.

The Way I See It:

Ashley Benson

Emerson is supposed to be gorgeous and green-eyed in that beautiful, I-have-no-idea-I’m-pretty kind of way. I think Ashley Benson fits the bill.

Ben Barnes

Michael is dark-haired with dark eyes and is supposed to be pretty smoking hot.  Ben Barnes, our go-to dark-haired guy, would probably be perfect.

Soundtrack: I’m sort of obsessed with If I Had a Gun by Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. Love the lyrics.

10 thoughts on “Hourglass

  1. When I read their names all I could think about was Emerson Watts (from the Airhead-series) and Michael Moscovitz. I think my brain is in love with Meg Cabot, but I’m ok with it.

    Otherwise it sounds like a good read, and a movie would be great. I love movies based on books, despite the disappointment I sometimes feel when I watch the movie.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Theme Song Edition « YA Crush

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Summer TBR « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

