Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Want to Give As Gifts (but, you know, I probably won’t)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish. Today we’re talking about books we’d most like to give as gifts and to whom we’d give them. I only came up with eight, so technically it’s a Top Eight Tuesday for me. Sadly, we won’t actually be giving these away because it could get a little expensive. You’ll see.

1. Ten Things We Did and Probably Shouldn’t Have– To Vee because #1, she’ll love it and #2 we often talk about what life would have been like if we’d known each other in high school. I wonder if it would have been like this minus the sex, the drinking and the lying (so, it would have been nothing like this book, but somehow just like it all the same).

2. I’ll Be There To Every single person on the stinking planet. Why? Have I not made this clear in every other post I’ve mentioned it? It’s that good.

3. The Hunger Games To my husband, who really, really needs to read it if he thinks I’m going to let him see the film with me, where he’ll ask me all kinds of questions that he would have known the answers to if he’d just read the book (this may have happened in the Harry Potter movies. Alot). I guess he can just borrow my copies if he promise to treat them kindly.

4. Entwined– I think my ten year-old daughter, who loves fairy tales, would love this book.  It’s magical and sweet with some suspense and darkness thrown in.

5. Divergent- To everyone I know who loves The Hunger Games (so, everyone really).

6. Charlie and The Chocolate Factory– To my six-year old who shares my obsessions of reading and chocolate (they go together so nicely). She’s almost old enough to read it.

7. Where She Went To my friend, Tammy, who loved the first book so much that while she read it in the bathtub, she sat there after the water had turned cold because she couldn’t put the book down down.  I know. It’s Adam, hello.

8. Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls: Moving Day– For my niece.  I’m all about creating Meg Cabot fans and this book series is SO cute. I know my niece would love it.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Want to Give As Gifts (but, you know, I probably won’t)

    • Oh my word Kristina, you have to read The Hunger Games. Have. To. I know how it is though. I waited forever to read the Harry Potter books (like, years) and then, once I did, I was kicking myself wondering why I’d waited so long. Also, if you like fairytales then you should like Entwined. I really enjoyed it.

      • I agree about the cover! I saw it at the book store and knew I had to read it. I didn’t even care what it was about. But, the Twelve Dancing Princesses is one of my favorite not yet Disneyfied fairy tales, so double score!

  1. Divergent and the Hunger Games are just so awesome! I think they’re incredible. I have told every single friend I have about them… I doubt I have anyone else left to actually buy them for! Hahah!

    • I know, I think that the people around me get so sick of hearing me blab about the same books all the time. But they’re SO good that I just can’t stop. I just joined a book club with my daughter’s former teacher and am totally psyched because 1) she chose The Hunger Games as her first book (so I have to read it again. Yea!) and 2) I get to talk about it more! This is a win/win.

  2. I might have to sidetrack Santa and get my hands on Vees gift… 🙂
    And yes, to get everyone a copy of I’ll Be There would be expensive, so maybe you could just get one for me? The money you save there would come in handy when you have to deal with Divergent!

  3. Yay i’ve got an Allie Finkle on my list too! i’ve been giving the series to my cousin for her bday and Christmas presents since she was 8 years old. i was so psyched when Meg Cabot came out with a series for younger readers because i had been dying to introduce her books to my rabid-reading cousin but i thought some of the subject matter in The Princess Diaries was a little too heavy for her age. Then along came Allie Finkle so that worked out perfectly! (Although as soon as i think she’s old enough i’m totally gonna get my cousin hooked on The Princess Diaries too. EVERYONE should know all about Michael Moscovitz!)
    And i’ve still got Divergent TBRing on my nightstand. Why have i not read this book yet?!?! i really need to get on that.
    Great list btw!

    • Allie rocks!! I read the first couple of them out loud with my daughter and I was dying. Total typical, hilarious Meg Cabot. I can’t wait to get my girls into the Princess Diaries (um, and Michael Moscovitz Fake Man of My Dreams, obviously). And why have you not read Divergent? I don’t know, but I haven’t read Lola or Mara Dyer and about ten billion other ones that I’ve been saying FOREVER that I’m going to read. There’s only so much time in the day my friend. 🙂

    • Ha! That’s so funny because you know I was totally tempted too, right? I changed my mind at the last minute. Maybe subconsciously I wanted Michael Moscovitz all to myself!

    • I know, it’s so hard to separate the two because it really is one complete story. I never thought I’d love a sequel as much as Where She Went but that book blew me away. Adam is so heartbreakingly raw and seeing Mia and where she ended up, I needed that–to see her happy. Omg just talking about it makes me want to read it again!

Leave a Reply

