Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Read This Year That I Want to Marry

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by those awesome ladies at The Broke and The Bookish.  Today we get to chat about our favorite books of the year. Lordy, is it already time to do this?  Time to rehash the year?  I’m only happy to comply, though I fear I may be blabbing about the same books I’ve been blabbing about…well, all year actually.

1. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson I know. Surprise!!! Read this book, please, for the love of everything holy. It is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful.

2. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan Have you read this yet? Why not? I love this book so much.  It blew me away.

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth– I’m not someone who believes in cursing, but trust me when I tell you that there really is no other way to say it: This book is bad ass.

4. Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins It’s a happy feel good book that is actually really funny and well-written.  And oh-so romantic.

5. Lola and The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins– You guys, I couldn’t choose between Anna and Lola, so I put both books. This one is like a sweet, warm hug with adorable characters that I want to be my best friends. Also, Cricket Bell may be the cutest, most loveable nerd I’ve “met” in a loooong time. (I love nerds, probably because after years of wishing I were cool, I’ve come to the realization that I am a mega nerd).

6. Delirium by Lauren Oliver– Tore. My. Heart. Out.  All the way.  I love Oliver’s writing style. I could eat her words for dinner.

7. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness Ugh. It still makes my heart ache.  Still!

8. Where She Went by Gayle Forman– Sequels can be so bad, such a let down. But this book was absolutely beautiful. It was striking and lovely.  I look at this one and If I Stay as one story, but if I had to choose which I loved more, it may be this one.  But don’t make me choose!

9. We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han– Again with the sequels. They can be so tough sometimes. But I love Han’s smooth, seemingly effortless style (I’m sure it takes tons of effort, but it flows so beautifully it just feels natural).  I love the characters who piss me off, break my heart and make my soul smile.  This book was such a good ending to a series I adore.

10. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta It took me forever to read this one (which is crazy because I LOVE THE PANTS OFF Jellicoe Road) and when I finally picked it up, I knew it would be one I’d love for a lifetime. Marchetta’s writing is amazing as always and her story made me ache and laugh all at the same time. These characters are so hard to leave behind.

Oh, I’m sorry, did you really think I was going to stop at ten?

11. How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr As with everything she writes, this book was perfect. Totally perfect.

12. Across the Universe by Beth Revis I’m including this one because it grabbed me and it surprised me and took me on a journey that I never expected to like. But I loved it.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Read This Year That I Want to Marry

  1. Every time i read your Top Tens it makes me remember all the books that i NEED to read like right now. i still haven’t read books 1-3 or Where She Went, even though i currently have all of them (except for I’ll Be There) TBRing it on my shelf. i’m excited though because i just got Across the Universe and Lola and the Boy Next Door for Christmas so i can’t wait to start reading them!
    But i definitely need to read 1-3 and Where She Went starting in 2012.
    Great list by the way. Anna, The Knife and Delirium all made my list too! 🙂

    • I love your list! I just got some new books for Christmas too, ones that have been on my TBR forever! I read everyone elses lists too and I remember all these books that I need to read!

  2. I was going to marry Jenny Han’s summer trilogy but the last instalment made me postpone the wedding indefinitely. I just couldn’t relate to Belly’s need to go through with something so obviously wrong. (need I say which team I’m on? 😉 ) But we’ll meet up in 2012 and see where we stand. Kind of hope to rekindle the romance since I loved the first one and REALLY loved the second one.

    As for the other ones, “The Sky is Everywhere” will be my last book this year as a long overdue re-read; Zarr, Perkins and Goldberg Sloan will be a priority in 2012 and the Melina Marchetta experience is definitely one of the highlights of 2011.

    • I was really upset with Belly for much of the last book too. I think what saved it for me was seeing how much Conrad had grown, and omg, seeing how heartbroken he was. That made me love him even more (because I was always a Conrad girl, but really I’m not sure why since he ran so hot and cold). Plus I love books that completely tie up the loose ends and let you know exactly where the characters end up instead of some ambiguous ending. The mini epilogue-ish ending really made me smile. I’m so excited for you to check out the other books next year. There were so many amazing books this year. I feel like I left so many off the list!

  3. I’ve read everything except Patrick Ness and Beth Revis, many because of you, and I just can’t thank you enough… for introducing me to Melina Marchetta… for replying to all of my tweets… for being such a fun fellow YA Junkie as we got TLR off the ground. What a joy to have “met” you!

    • Sandie, you are so sweet. It’s been so great to meet you this year too! I’m so happy to be able to share my favorite books/authors with other people who love to read. 🙂 Did I tell you that I got Daughter of Smoke and Bone for Christmas (finally)? Holla! I have a few books to finish first and then it’s on!

Leave a Reply

