Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Wish Would Write Another Stinking Book Already!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies at  The Broke and The Bookish.  Today we’re chatting up the authors (living or dead) who we wish would write another book. There are SO many because the moment I finish a book, I want that author to write more, more,  more— so I’ll limit it to those who seem to have had a long hiatus or who I haven’t heard have anything coming out in the near future.

1. Jane Austen– Let’s just this one out of the way now. She’ll be on everyone’s list, but that’s because she’s full of awesome. Who else can create someone with such a gigantor stick up his butt (oh you heard me Darcy) and still manage to make me love him?

2. Harper Lee– I’m not really sure why she never wrote anything else after To Kill a Mockingbird, but if she ever did I would cry from happiness.

3.  Holly Goldberg Sloan– It’s no secret that I loved I’ll Be There. In fact, sometimes I stare at it wistfully as I see it sitting so peacefully on my bookshelf (true story).  I’d love to see what other stories are in the works or if, as I once heard, there is a sequel in the works.

4. JK Rowling– Sure I’m not the only brainiac saying that but you guys, it’s because she’s amazing. You know this is true.

5. Melina Marchetta– Oh sigh, I love her writing. It is beautiful and breathtaking and just sucks me in every single time.

6. Heather Dixon– Ms. Dixon debuted last year with Entwined and I have to say that I really, really liked it. I thought it was so well-written and I’d really love to see what other ideas she might have.

7. Jandy Nelson– Jandy, you can’t write a phenomenal book like The Sky Is Everywhere and expect me not to love you.  I love that book .  It was beautiful.  Please, please write another.

8. E. Lockhart– I have no idea if she has a new book in the works now, but I think E.Lockhart should release a new book with new, awesome characters pretty much regularly.  Her stories always make me smile.

9. Jenny Han– I know that it really hasn’t been that long since the final book in the Summer series was released but girl, it feels like forever. I want to be wrapped up in another one of her books, pronto.

10. Sarah Dessen– I love Dessen.  Her books always make me laugh, tug on my heart, and make me wish I could string together sentences as lyrically as she does. Again, it hasn’t been long since her last book, but that’s okay. I’ll take another anytime now.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Wish Would Write Another Stinking Book Already!

  1. Umm, yes to everything you said! I haven’t been through all of E Lockhart or Melina Marchetta’s books yet, but I already know I need more. 🙂 I haven’t read Entwined, though, so maybe I’ll check it out.

  2. Oh, I forgot about Heather Dixon! It’s been a while since I read Entangled. I’d love to see her write more, maybe take on some other fairy tales. I love fairy tales.

  3. JKR! YES YES YES!
    She NEEDS to publish another book… she’s been talking about a monster story for middle grade for YEARS and I want it noooooow.

    And, erm… all I’ve read by Marchetta is Alibrandi… but there seems to be a major revival happening at the moment! Yay!

    Aaaah, and after just finishing Anna and the French Kiss, I’m seriously thinking of checking out Sarah Dessen. More contemp for me! FAB list! xx

Leave a Reply

