Clockwork Prince, Baby

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will; the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.(Goodreads)

The Story:

This book is the sequel to Clockwork Angel. If you’ve not read it then a) what the shizz is wrong with you? and b) this has spoilers. Consider yourself warned. But really. Why haven’t you read CA? Get on it pronto!

First off, holy cow it’s been forever since I read and fell in love with Clockwork Angel, the first book in the Infernal Devices series (and this series is a prequel to the Mortal Instruments series. I know it’s alot to digest at once.Take a deep breath). When I started this book it felt like I needed a refresher course.  I was a little lost at first, but then it slowly came back to me and I was sucked into Clare’s vivid world.

Tessa is still living at the Institute under the care of Charlotte and the Shadowhunters.  The Clave is threatening to take the Institute from Charlotte if she cannot find the still elusive Magister.  It becomes clear very early on that Benedict Lightwood (yes, Lightwood, for all you Mortal Instruments fans) wants Charlotte out and will do anything—anything—to take over.

Tessa, Jem and the always perfectly arrogant and swoonworthy Will, begin to help in the search for the Magister.  Not only is this vital to the future of Charlotte and the rest of the “family”, but Tessa’s safety is still in question as long as he and his mechanical army are still on the loose.  Worse, he’s now using Will’s family as a pawn in his game.

And what would a Cassandra Clare book be without a steamy love story, right? This is Victorian Era steam, but it’s good nonetheless.  The problem? Tessa is clearly caught between two guys: Jem (who, let me make it clear, she should obviously not choose) and Will (who I think I love, just sayin). Neither seems to be a good choice because a decision for one would clearly destroy the other. But Tessa certainly spends thinking about it. And doing other things.  That’s all I’m going to say about that.

My Take:

This is an excellent book.  I was totally engulfed in the story from page one.  Since my memory is so terrible, I would have loved to have a family tree to better understand how it all relates back to the MI books (and it’s my understanding that Clare plans to do this but that she feels it would be spoilery at this point), yet I was able to recollect pretty quickly. As with all of her books, the story is highly imaginative and magical.  The characters feel so real and their emotions so palpable. And every word, every description is done with beautiful detail.

In Clockwork Prince,  Tessa is still wonderfully fierce, but I think it’s Jem and Will who really shine this time around.  We see a great strength in Jem (although he still maintains his delicate sweetness) and we begin to understand what truly makes Will tick.  It’s nothing less than heartbreaking, let me tell you, and those who may have disliked him in the past (is that even possible?) will probably be willing to forgive him for his misdeeds.

I also loved the role Magnus Bane played in this story. He is, as always, the coolest of characters, and it was awesome to see Clare answer questions raised by Magnus, Alex and Camille in City of Fallen Angels. I love when she does that and when we see how her stories overlap!

Crush Intensity– 4.75/5 The ending truly broke my heart.  It was so good. The third and final book, Clockwork Princess will be out September of 2013. Yes, 2013!  Gah!  I don’t think I can make it!

9 thoughts on “Clockwork Prince, Baby

    • I Want Tessa to hug Jem and tell him it’s going to be alright. And then I want her to be with Will forever and ever and have adorable arrogant Will babies. He’s her match. They have passion and chemistry. And I know there was page 204 and all (and Jem took me by surprise there) but I kept wishing it was Will. It IS a totally badass love triangle though because I don’t want anyone to get hurt.But how can there be happiness for all three? Ugh!

  1. [Sighs in relief that you finally reviewed this G(J)em (sorry – I had to) of a novel.] Upon completing Clockwork Angel, I had a sneaking suspicion that I was going to like the Infernal Devices a little bit more that the Mortal Instruments. Clockwork Prince confirmed it. Golly this book was terrific!!! (people really don’t say golly enough –or terrific for that matter) Although I’m sick of YA love triangle drama in general, had no trouble with the Jem /Will/Tessa angst. I haven’t figured out why… yet. Shucks, I guess I’ll have to read it again. I have no doubt that Tessa will end up with Will in all his outwardly arrogant inwardly haunted and sensitive awesomeness (oh…poor Will – he needs a hug. I volunteer.), but Jem is the first “also ran” that I really and truly love (thank you, chapter 9). I’m also glad folks mentioned Charlotte and Henry. I love them as well. They are so sweet. I loved this book!

    • Golly is a good word. I’ve always liked it. The thing with me is, every time I talk about or read an Infernal Devices book I’m sure I love it more than MI (or let’s cut to the chase: I’m sure I love Will more than Jace). Then I read an MI book and it goes the other way. I think we need more scenes with steamy, sexual tension and then I’ll decide. Shirtlessness is ok too (I’m a giver). As far as love triangles go, I totally agree with you. I’m not usually a huge fan because it seems like authors go out of their way to make one guy a serious tool, sort of like their pointing at the other guy going, “Pick him! Pick him!” –only the heroine is too dumb to see the truth (which makes me hate her). In these books, the guys are both so good, so likeable and Tessa is so smart. It’s really a difficult choice (although clearly she should choose Will. She need to do it for us).

  2. Pingback: Clockwork Princess | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

