We’re About To Melt You

I don’t care what anyone says, I love the pants off of Valentine’s Day.  The construction paper cards, those chalky conversation hearts, the candy, the lovey dovey stuff—I eat this holiday up.

In the past on this blog, we’ve devoted the entire month of February to Love—romantic quotes, articles about friends, and reviews of books with swoony times aplenty.  Since we’ve been there done that (and have a lot of books to talk about in general) we decided to skip the month of love and stick with what we do best: spazz over our favorite swoony quotes.  Yes, we’ve done this before, but it never gets old.

Get ready to sigh.

1. Will, Clockwork Prince (Cassandra Clare)

When he saw her, he wanted to be with her; when he was with her, he ached to touch her; when he touched even her hand, he wanted to embrace her. He wanted to feel her against him the way he had in the attic. He wanted to know the taste of her skin and the smell of her hair. He wanted to make her laugh. He wanted to sit and listen to her talk about books until his ears fell off.

I know ladies. You’re welcome.

2. Adam,Where She Went (Gayle Forman)

First of all, the entire book Where She Went, which is written from Adam’s perspective, is pretty much a model of swoon.  I mean, even his song lyrics are beautiful:

First you inspect me

then you dissect me

then you reject me

I wait for the day

that you’ll resurrect me

Adam and Mia’s relationship kills me. I love it. There are too many moments to narrow down (and I’ve quoted one of my favs here in the past). Here’s a cute one:

“What? What is the matter?” I asked, softening. Mia wasn’t prone to crocodile tears, or any tears, really.

She shook her head. Lips sealed shut.

“Will you just tell me? It can’t be worse than what I’m thinking, which is that you’re ashamed of Shooting Star because you think we reek to holy hell.”

She shook her head again. “You know that’s not true. It’s just,” she paused, as if weighing some big decision. Then she sighed. “The band. When you’re with the band, I already have to share you with everyone. I don’t want to add my family to that pot, too.” Then she lost the battle and started to cry.

All my annoyance melted. “You dumb-ass,” I crooned, kissing her on the forehead. “You don’t share me.You own me.”

Consequently, when I tell my husband that I own him, he just raises his eyebrows at me.

3.  Akiva to Karou, Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor)

Oh sweet fancy tap shoes, this book has many a beautiful moment. It was hard to choose one.

“…I think I would always find you, no matter how you were hidden.” He was focused on her with extraordinary intensity. “Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens—” His voice cracked, and he took a breath. “I need you to remember that I love you.”

4. Finnikin and Evanjelin, Finnikin of the Rock (Melina Marchetta)

This book has many will-they-or-won’t-they moments. The tension builds slowly to the point that when the real love stuff actually happens, it is a huge, lovely relief. At least, that’s how it was for me.

She bit her lip, tears welling in her eyes. She took both his hands in hers and he shuddered. “I will die protecting you,” he said.


There was a look of dismay on her face. “Just like a man of this kingdom, Finnikin. Talking of death, yours or mine, is not a good way to begin a—”

She gave a small gasp when he leaned forward, his lips an inch away from hers. “I will die for you,” he whispered.

She cupped his face with her hands. “But promise you’ll live for me first, my love.  Because nothing we are about to do is going to be easy and I need you by my side.”

5. Cricket to Lola Lola and The Boy Next Door (Stephanie Perkins)

This book is pure adorableness at it’s very best. I love it.

“Once upon a time, there was a girl who talked to the moon. And she was mysterious and she was perfect, in that way that girls who talk to moons are. In the house next door, there lived a boy. And the boy watched the girl grow more and more perfect, more and more beautiful with each passing year. He watched her watch the moon. And he began to wonder if the moon would help him unravel the mystery of the beautiful girl. So the boy looked into the sky.

“But he couldn’t concentrate on the moon. He was too distracted by the stars.”

I hear Cricket remove a rubber band from his wrist, which he uses to hold a twist of my hair.

Go on,” I say.

I hear the smile in his voice. “And it didn’t matter how many songs or poems had already been written about them, because whenever he thought about the girl, the stars shone brighter. As if she were the one keeping them illuminated.”

Happy early Valentine’s Day everyone!

8 thoughts on “We’re About To Melt You

  1. Have you looked into my heart and pulled out my fictional loves? You have, haven’t you?! Hooray! We might steal this and direct people here for these guys and add 5 of our won!!

    BTW, you need to read Born Wicked — adorable sexy nerd alert (who works in his family’s late 19th century book shop!)

  2. Good gosh almighty! You can’t do this to a girl! I’m so full of love right now thanks to your post I think I may burst or kiss the first boy who walks across my path. Maybe not, but this is just the best thing ever today. Thanks for making me love Valentine’s Day this year! (Although I sort of have a soft spot for it anyway..)

Leave a Reply

