Top Ten Tuesday- Cover Edition

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Favorite Covers.  This especially fun if you’re a YA fan because YA covers are so notoriously, embarrassingly bad. Even the good books often have hideous covers (lots of headless or emo people. What’s the deal there?) that make me want to curl up and die. Or worse, they make me ashamed of what I’m reading.  But there are a few stellar ones that come to mind. Covers I love to look at no matter what:

1. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han– Pretty girl, two cute boys. They look simple. They all have heads. This is good.

2.  Ten Things We Did and Probably Shouldn’t Have by Sarah Mlynowski- I know there are people who would probably be embarrassed by this cover but I think it is SO cute. Look at these two! They need to kiss STAT.

3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor– This is one of those covers that you totally don’t get (until you read the whole book) but you love either way. It’s just beautiful.

4. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (Paperback Edition)- This is one of the most gorgeous paperbacks in my recent memory. And the tagline “One boy helps her remember. The other lets her forget.” Oh you guys, it’s so perfect.

5. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare– What can I say? I have a thing for men in hats. Love it. This cover totally drew me in and made me want to read the book, even though I had no clue what it was about. It was my first Clare.

6. Abandon by Meg Cabot– This cover is gorg. And I love that it’s based on drawings she did when she was in high school.  And it just fits, you know? It totally fits the story. Alot of book don’t do that. You sit there wondering why this headless girl is sitting on a suitcase and go, “What does that even mean? Is her head stuck in the suitcase? Is this like Se7en or something?” This is not the case with Abandon. The image is pretty and it’s mysterious just like the book.

7. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart- This book is pure awesome. My daughter and I devoured it.  And the cover has all of these cute images that give insight into the characters and the house. We were constantly referring to it as we read.

8. Past Perfect by Leila Sales– This cover has nothing to do with the story, but it’s so cute. And that adorable happiness she’s experiencing is how I feel when I read a Leila Sales book. Also, where can I buy that jacket?

9. Divergent by Veronica Roth– I don’t totally get this cover but I dig it.

10. Wither by Lauren DeStefano– This cover has such great imagery.  It parallels the birdcage and bird with Rhine and her life of imprisonment. It’s deep, man.

11. Entwined by Heather Dixon– I can’t explain it. I love the dress. I love that you aren’t sure if she’s running TO something or AWAY from it. It’s just so pretty.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Cover Edition

  1. Your comment about books being headless or too emo made me laugh very loudly – not good when you’re at work – because that’s EXACTLY what I did my list on today!

    Yes to everything on your list – I wanted to read Entwined solely on the cover; I dig the hats too from Clockwork Angel; I WANT that jacket from Past Perfect… Super list! 🙂

  2. great list. i picked up “the summer i turned pretty” for the cover and the title, so i’m with you there. I liked the original cover for “the sky is everywhere”–loved the big unperfect heart in the blue blue sky…sigh…and i’ve been looking at “the mysterious benedict society” for ages because it kinda reminds me of Harry Potter, i should totally read that if you loved it. like i don’t have enough books to read. thanks a lot.

    • Seriously. Like we need ANOTHER book to read, right? I think you’ll like it. I mean, nothing is as good as the HP books. This one was compared to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory as well as to the HPs. I thought it was super cute and creative.

  3. That green raincoat on the cover of Past Perfect is pretty awesome, I agree! And I really like the cover of The Mysterious Benedict Society, kind of quirky and fun.

  4. Oh goodness. I agree with your choices SO SO SO MUCH. The entire Summer series have pretty much some of my favorite-ever covers. And I like the cover for The Sky is Everywhere on the paperback version that you’ve featured SO much more than the hardcover.

    my list: wishlist covers

  5. i love The Mysterious Benedict Society cover too. i like how they even included Kate’s red bucket! i like those little details.
    i’m also a big fan of the cover of Entwined. i love the dress and the castle in the background. It looks like a fun, princessy read! Why don’t i have this book on my TBR pile yet?

    • You need to read it! It’s sort of old-fashioned in that it’s not set in modern times, but it’s a little eerie and a little magical and a totally romantic. I just talked my fifth grader into reading it because I always blab about it! And Kate’s bucket! LOVE. IT> I tried to get my daughter to dress up as her for Halloween and she totally didn’t go for it.

    • Yes! Gorgeous. And the details are something I missed the first time around because I was so anxious to get into the book, but when I took the time to really look, the the thought that was put into it was so evident.

Leave a Reply

