Shatter Me

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love this cover

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper.

I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him.

He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans of her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever. (Goodreads)

The Story:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in 264 days.  She’s locked in an asylum because she has a gift an abnormality (get used to the strikethroughs because this is something the author uses quite well to get her point across in the book).  When Juliette touches people they die. Instantly she reminded me of someone else with a lethal touch.

Yes, it's Rogue from X Men. I would have chosen a cartoon image, but they all had ginormous boobs, which is just not how I picture Rogue

The world outside Juliette’s cell is completely different from ours.  Life is controlled by The Reestablishment.  There isn’t enough food, there is disease—even the weather patterns have changed. And as the army of The Reestablishment pushes forward promising a better way, things only look more bleak.

Warner is the son of a valuable man in The Reestablishment.  He has Juliette removed from her asylum because he wants to harness her power and use it as a weapon (which terrifies Juliette). Let me be very straight here.  Warner is pure evil.  There is no doubt about it—so why did he make my toes tingle?   Because the man is dead sexy ( OMG, I hate myself for saying that. I’m so ashamed.  Normally I don’t like guys who kill people for pleasure. I swear). But truly, I wanted Juliette to facepunch him after having a steamy makeout with him. Warner wants to team up with Juliette and in his own twisted way he wants to love her. It was totally intriguing to me and almost Darth Vader-esque.

Aww, remember how he just wanted Padme to help him rule his new empire? The one he tried to establish after he killed all the Jedis.

One soldier, Adam Kent, has been assigned to care for Juliette.  Adam and Juliette knew each other when they were children. And as it turns out, Adam remembers her quite well. In fact, he volunteered to watch over her.  But he really isn’t Team Warner. He’s Team Juliette all the way. And the steaminess between Adam and Juliette? It’s off the charts. It’s TO DIE FOR. Like, I found myself reading and rereading those parts over and over again and fanning myself.

Adam and Juliette do not want her used to kill and torture people, so they devise a plan to escape.  And while Juliette still sees her ability as a problem, she begins to understand that most of those around her view it as a gift.  Now she has to decide how to use it.

My Take:

This book was totally excellent.  I loved all of the characters (even that wanker Warner!).  They were so layered with secrets and pain and they were all willing to go to such lengths to protect Juliette.  And Juliette…I loved her. She was so kind and selfless. She had no idea how powerful she really was. And she was brave beyond words.

And lordy the swoon between Juliette and Adam was truly spazzworthy. Every moment. Every touch (oh yes, touch) was breathtaking. Adam is wonderfully written—so full of love and so willing to go to any lengths for Juliette. I loved his character and found him to be somewhat reminiscent of another tough guy I adore, Jonah Effing Grigss. WHAT??? I know? Is it the military thing? Maybe.

And the end– I loved it.  Shatter Me was a complete story unto itself, but the story sets up perfectly for the next book in the series.  Now I’m just bummed that I have to wait!

Book #2, Unravel Me comes out February of 2013

Crush Intensity: 5/5 I totally loved this book.  Can you tell?

The Way I See It:

For Juliette, I like Lily Collins.

For Warner, I like Alex Pettyfer

And for Adam…seriously I have no idea. I’m open to suggestions, but I’ve thought long and hard about this. I’ve done every internet search possible and sought the opinions of others. It’s tough to put that kind of perfection on one guy. Read it and see for yourself.

Soundtrack:

The Killers, Bling (Confession of a King). I chose a video with subtitles because I love the words.

11 thoughts on “Shatter Me

  1. Great review! This book sounds really swoontastically awesome! i NEED to read it like right now. Although i don’t know if i could wait nearly a year to read the sequel if this story ends with a cliffhanger. So, help me out here, is there a cliffhanger?
    (Although i do love me a good cliffhanger so it might not even matter if the story ends with one.)

    • No, it’s perfect. It’s not a cliffhanger but it sets up beautifully for the next book. When you’ll finish you’ll be like “Gah!! I just want more.” 🙂

  2. Loved this book to no mother flipping end! And Adam Kent had a large part in that. Gosh, he would crawl through a terrible mess of broken glass for her, just to get to her and keep her safe. Loved, loved, loved him. And Juliette is so layered and reading things through her eyes… Oh, boy, and the writing in her narration!

    I better stop now. I think it’s safe to say that I thoroughly adored this one.

    Asher

  3. Pingback: TGIF- June 29th « YA Crush

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Books of 2012 « YA Crush

  5. Pingback: Destroy Me | YA Crush

  6. Pingback: Fracture Me | YA Crush

  7. Pingback: Ignite Me (please) | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

