The Most Awesome Hunger Games Recap Ever

Ok, so you’ve all seen it by now…right?  If not, why are you on the computer when you  should be at the theater watching the film in your HG finery?  Like this:

This is what I wore, thanks to a husband who appreciates his wife's nerdiness

For everyone else, I know you saw it. I know you loved it because it was totally and completely spazzworthy to 1) see such an epic YA book turned into such a fantastic non-Twilightesque film and 2) to know that this continues to open doors (doors helped along by the success of a certain crappy sparkly vampire movie franchise) to other hopefully amazing YA book to film adaptations.

More than anything, I hope this film makes people pick up this series and read. Read it for the first time, read it again–whatever.

To me, a big part of why I loved this movie was the supremely perfect casting of Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss.  She was amazeballs.  Absolutely awesome.

As far as the guys…well, I know that everyone is in love with Peeta (even me, a total Team Gale girl, thinks Peeta is truly swoonworthy).  And it’s hard because Josh Hutcherson isn’t some serious stud, but I thought he captured that balance of softness and bravery that Peeta has.  He may not be the way we all pictured him, but Collins never really makes him out to be some hottie. (Also, in case you were wondering, my husband is staunchly Team Peeta and says that outside of his shortness, Hutcherson is exactly how he’d pictured his Peeta. Y’all, we’ve discussed it at length. I’m serious).

While I’ve never been thrilled with the casting of my man Gale, there is so little of him in this film that it’s hard to form much of an opinion.  I’m sure he’ll be fine (not fiiiiine, but you know, okay).

And then there were the Capitol peeps.  I loved everything about the Capitol: the colors, the costumes, the behind the scenes of the games (which was such a brilliant way to explain things like the trackerjackers).  Effie and Caesar were great and I loved the extra scenes with Seneca and Snow.  Donald Sutherland gave Snow such a pure, understated sense of evil (not as in your face as I would have thought) and that made him even scarier.

I also think they really nailed that relationship with Cinna and Katniss (okay,  and it doesn’t hurt that Lenny Kravitz is all kinds of hot), but I really felt that element was well-done.

I’m not among the ranks who feel that the film wasn’t violent enough. I thought it hit the right note. As I remember it in the book, Katniss is hearing about many of the deaths through the cannon blasts. So, while I always thought that the idea behind the story is terribly grotesque, the details were never too much. In the same way, I thought the film showed some great action and real brutality without going for too much gore.  That being said, I encouraged my ten year-old to read the series (which she did and loved), but I thought she wasn’t quite ready for the movie.  That’s just me though.

My only two complaints are very small:  First, I thought Haymitch should have been darker.  Woody Harrelson did great with the funnier aspects of his character, but he never came across quite as wounded as I’ve always pictured Haymitch.  And last (this is a minor one),  I wonder why the mutant dogs at the cornucopia didn’t have the faces of the dead tributes. Maybe it would have come off as cheesy?  Who knows, but it totally impacted me when I read the book.  It would have been pretty stellar to have seen it.

So…what did you guy think?

6 thoughts on “The Most Awesome Hunger Games Recap Ever

  1. Pingback: Who thinks Jennifer Lawrence is hot !?!?

  2. Um, this IS the most awesome Hunger Games recap ever! I was so over the moon with this movie the little trolls sitting in front of me who yelped out when Rue died, causing the entire audience to laugh, didn’t even ruin it for me. There wasn’t a single person in this movie that I didn’t either fall in love with or re-fall in love with; I thought they were all superb and definitely brought some of my favorite characters to life. I see your point about Woody Harrelson not being the BEST Haymitch, but I really enjoyed seeing his interpretation of him.

    I was a bit disappointed in the mutant dogs; I really was expecting them to point out that they were mutants of the fallen tributes, but you’re pretty right when you say that it might have been cheesy… I thought it was kind of a harrowing, terror-iffic part of the book that really showed the cruelty of the Capitol/Government.

    Also… your husband has to be all sorts of awesome to not only get you that great shirt (I want one!) but to have an at length discussion over the great Peeta/Gale debate.

    • “There wasn’t a single person in this movie that I didn’t either fall in love with or re-fall in love with; I thought they were all superb”

      I agree.

  3. i was wondering the same thing about the mutant dogs. And thank you for pointing this out because i thought i was going crazy. It’s been awhile since i read the first book and since they didn’t look like the fallen tributes i thought, “did i make that up in my head? am i remembering the book wrong?” It’s good to know i’m not going cuckoo. 😉
    i LOVED the movie too, of course! i was really surprised at what a great job Lenny Kravitz did. When i first heard he was cast i was very perplexed but i think he pulled off being Cinna.
    i agree with you about Woody Harrelson too. He didn’t seem nearly dark or drunk enough.
    i think the winners for me though are Rue and Prim. The actress that plays Prim is SUCH a good crier. They both just completely broke my heart.

Leave a Reply

