Everlasting (even though it’s actually over)

Everlasting (The Immortals #6) by Alyson Noel

Oh these covers. These covers, these covers, these covers.

Their darkest enemies now defeated, Damen and Ever are free to embark upon their final quest—to free Damen from the poison lingering in his body.  If they can just find the antidote, they’ll finally be able to feel each other’s touch—and experience the passionate night they’ve been longing for.  But their fight to be together will lead them into the most formidable terrain yet…into the dark heart of Summerland.

Here in a land of scorched earth and endless rain, Ever and Damen will discover their relationship’s hidden origins, expose a secret history they never imagined…and come face to face with the true reason fate keeps tearing them apart.  Only then, when the final mystery is unraveled and the last secret revealed, Ever and Damen’s future will hinge on one ultimate decision that will put everything at stake….even eternity. (Barnes and Noble)

This is the sixth and final (yea) book in the Immortal series.  Oh and it’s been quite a ride.

There’ve been lots of evil people trying to keep our loves apart, lots of crystals and chakras and mtysical stuff, lots of pent-up desire and talk of dark, brooding eyes and tousled dark hair, and there’s been an abundance of cheese.  Like a super-colossal amount.

I’ve had a love-hate relationship with this series.  I despise so much of the dialogue and the horrific names (Drina, Ever, Haven , Honor, Roman, Jude, Romy and Rayne–don’t make me list them all), the constant repetition in the problems that threaten to tear Ever and Damen apart, and the constant talk of the shimmering veil that separates Ever and Damen (for those of you who aren’t clued in to this, Ever and Damen can’t actually touch anymore because their DNA is poisonous to one another, so they’ve created this way of “touching” without really touching. It’s sorta nauseating).

But oh, I love the premise. The idea of Ever and Damen falling in love centuries before only to have her go and get all dead on him before they could live happily ever after, how she’s constantly reincarnated and dying over and over again every time he finds her—it’s awfully tragic and romantic.  And Damen, considering how shallow he started out, there really is a lot to love about him.  Though I find Ever hard to stomach at times, I love how he loves her.  I guess that’s why I’ve continued to read each book in the series. Either that or I’m just a glutton for punishment.

I’m not going to lie. Though they’ve had good moments, they’ve gotten progressively more irritating in their predictability and in the heavy cheese factor. I mean no disrespect to Ms. Noel when I say that. She knows her audience and clearly this is what they want.  And hey, I’ve certainly kept coming back for more.

But this last book? Well, I’d hoped to like it at least a little bit. And there was a portion there that actually drew me in.  The rest was painfully slow and seemingly the same old thing, only this time there was virtually no Miles (the awesome BFF to Ever). And since Ever’s nemesis was gone, there really wasn’t a major conflict except the one that’s been happening throughout the last two books: Ever and Damen need the antidote to help them get on with their sexy business. And they need to figure out what it is that continues to pull them apart. Oh and Ever can be a bit of an overly dramatic moron sometimes.  It’s the same old recycled story.

In the end I was so happy to say goodbye to this series. I think Noel’s initial concept had so much promise and the underlying idea is completely romantic, but the series (and this book) fell flat because Ever lacked depth and because it has all dragged on for far longer than necessary. So am I glad I read the last book? Uhhh, sure.  Did I like it? Not really. But who knows, maybe you will.

Crush Intensity: 1/5 I’m not really sure what else I can say.

The Cover: These covers usually embarrass the hell out of me. I hate it when anyone (my husband especially) sees me reading them. And this one is awesomely bad too, but I’ll admit that I found myself staring at it quite a bit.  I think it’s because the guy and girl on the cover look exactly the way I pictured them in my head. Actually, I think that the cover was the best part of the book. Yikes.

9 thoughts on “Everlasting (even though it’s actually over)

  1. I’m not gonna lie… I was secretly hoping they forgot to publish this one so I wouldn’t have to read it. I loved Evermore – like really loved it – but all the others have been so blah. Although I’ve read them like they were crack. I guess I’ll have to fit this one into my schedule… haha 🙂

    • They’re totally like crack! And you read them because you hope against hope that they’ll be better because the premise is so good. But no…they slowly get worse every single time. I had to know how it ended though.

  2. Finally over?
    This was the first series I’ve read that I stopped in the third book knowing that there would be many more to go. Wait, no, House of Night was the first.
    I get a tad obsessive over finishing a book even if every fiber of me being is telling me to “just stop!.” But I know eventually I’ll pick it up again because the masochist in me just wants to know how it all came to be…

    Thanks Tee for a great review!

    • I do the same thing (obviously). There’s this part of me that hopes it will get better even though all signs say that it’s getting worse–way worse. I’ve personally never read House of Night, but it seems like something I’d hate. I did that with The Vampire Academy though. After book 3 or 4 (I can’t even remember) I realized that I truly didn’t care what happened to any of the characters because I couldn’t stand any of them, especially the main character. Man she was annoying! 🙂

      • I was ok with the first 3 of the Night ones, it was interesting and although I felt a sort of detachment with the lead girl, she was still ok. What I couldn’t live with was how slow paced it was. I think it was when 3 books only covered two or three weeks did I called it quits. That and the lead just changing her mind on which guy she “felt connected” (was hot for) didn’t do it for me.

        Vampire Academy I left at book 4, then book 5 and 6 released and I didn’t like not finishing so I forced myself to read the 5th. It was brutal to finish, took me forever. Mind you that forever for me is about a month. Which lets face it a book in one month, might as well call time of death for me. Then in a few months I read the last, after having it on my nightstand and I could practically hear it mocking me, (that’s the sort of relationship I have with my books) I read it… :/

        I liked the lead but something happened when she “grew up,” I guess part of her charm was that she was funner in the beginning and the whole process of changing or whatnot. What really killed it was the romance though, I enjoy romance too much and that took a cliff dive so yeah.

        I just ranted, sorry Tee! (I’m not really sorry 🙂

      • I think one of the problems I had with The Vampire Academy was that Rose was kind of a beeotch. I mean she always talked about how big her boobs were and how hot she was (Annoying!) and she constantly tried to be this ridiculously tough girl. She grated on me from the get go. I don’t think I was willing to give her a chance after that. And your books mock you too? I SO get that! You are welcome to rant about it here anytime you wish! 🙂

  3. I love this review! I stopped after the first book and barely remember it anymore – except the names! I had a similar experience with Jessica Shrivington’s Violet Eden Chapters – I felt like there was so much potential there, and I kept reading it hoping that somehow, this re-read, it would reach that potential. Which, obviously, did not happen… Still, claps for finishing!

Leave a Reply

