Top Ten Tuesday- Books to Read in a Day

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Today’s topic is Books To Read in a Day.  I SO get this.  There are just certain books that despite what you have to do, regardless of who needs you or what is going on, you are totally compelled to keep your face between those pages. Nothing can stop you.  I try to warn my family when these books are coming. It usually goes something like this:

“Okay, insert book title here just came out, so I won’t be talking to any of you except at meal times or in cases of extreme emergency…kay?”  Fortunately I don’t do this very often, choosing instead to read these books while the entire house is sleeping.  It works out much better that way.

There are two types of books that do this to me:  Action (obviously) and Swoonyfests (they can be funny, or romantic or magical. It doesn’t matter. If there is a love story I want to know about, I will not put it down until I see some satisfying kisses)

List 1: Action/Suspense

1. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins– This is a major duh, I realize that.  This series had so much suspense, but it also had many scenes describing Gale’s hotness a good love triangle (something I don’t always like), so I was in for the long haul.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth– Oh you guys I could not put this down. It was just that good.

3. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting Again, this one had great suspense and serious swoon. I think I was more interested in the love story than the spooky stuff. Jay was that perfect.

4. Any Cassandra Clare books– I just have to know what happens. Every time I think I’m going to out it down, she pulls me back in!

5. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan– Goodness I was a mess when I read this. I wanted to pummel the boys’ dad, I wanted Emily and Sam to kiss, I wanted Riddle to be safe–I could barely take the stress.  Truly, it was such an experience.

List 2- The Swoon Factor

1. Any book from the Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot– Lordy, lordy, loooooo.  I love this series.  I never tire of it. These books still make me laugh out loud and make me long for another sighting of the hottest nerd ever, Michael Moscovitz.  I’ve torn through more than one of these in a day. For me, a Cabot book is like a box of candy–I have to eat it up in one sitting.

2. Where She Went by Gayle Forman– This is a book that I just want more of.  I can’t put it down because it is so real and so good. Holy cow, I love Adam. And I love how he loves Mia.

3. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– This is such a beautiful book, and it made me laugh and cry and sigh.  It couldn’t shake Lennie in those few moments when I’d walk away from it and I was so eager to come back and hear more bout her life and her pain.

4. Anything by Sarah Dessen (especially The Truth About Forever or This Lullaby)- Dessen writes such wonderful girls and such adorable boys.  And her words always lull me to this place of comfort, this place where I just want to watch her characters and experience their lives.  Also, two words: Wes Baker.

5. The Abandon series by Meg Cabot– What can I say, the girl writes awesome swoon?  And her stories always have such a great, fast pace.  I love them.  And OMG I love John. Love. Him.

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books to Read in a Day

  1. ” If there is a love story I want to know about I will not put it down until I see some satisfying kisses)” hilarious! I felt this way about The Sky is Everywhere, too. It made my Top Ten as well. Great list.

  2. I feel like we are kindred book-spirits! I don’t really have a house full of kiddos – unless you count pets? – that I have to put off reading for, but I have been known to lock myself in my bedroom hiding from my parents and siblings to read a book, ignoring them or pretending to be asleep when they come looking for me. I’m guessing this tactic doesn’t work on kids…

    • Sadly, no. The trick is to get them engrossed in a good book or an activity and then sit nearby. Usually they go for the reading time, but inevitably someone needs a drink or a snack. 🙂 The best reading time is always when the whole house is asleep.

    • I’m so psyched for Insurgent! And I’ve heard that Suzanne Collins is “researching” a new YA series. It’s going to be so hard to live up to The Hunger Games!

  3. What a fantastic list!! Gayle Forman is my hero. And I loved HG, CP, and Divergent! No matter how long those are, I had to finish those in one day too!

    Great picks!!

    Our Top Ten!

    -Em

  4. After reading all these top tens, I now know I must read some Sarah Dessen, the Princess Diaries, and Gayle Foreman sooner rather than later. Because I need a little more swoonworthy in my reading life.

  5. Totally agree with your list 100%!
    (Even though i STILL haven’t read I’ll Be There. WHY haven’t i read I’ll Be There?!)
    Anyhoo, amazing list, as always! 🙂

  6. I read I’ll Be There SO quickly, it was ridic. And Divergent took me like 3 hours to WHIP through. It was intense. And now that you mention it, Where She Went too! Accurate list! And Princess Diaries… I can read those in the span of like, two baths. Two loooong baths 🙂

Leave a Reply

