Underworld

Underworld by Meg Cabot

I love this cover. It's gorgeous. And is it just me or is that the hottest forearm ever?Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead. Not this time.

But she’s been taken by John Hayden, lord of the Underworld, to the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

John claims it’s for her own safety, to protect her from the Furies who yearn for vengeance against him. But John may have reasons of his own for wanting to keep Pierce close…

And soon Pierce learns that while she might be safe from the wrath of the Furies in the Underworld, the people she loves back on earth are not. Can she convince John to release her in order to save the life of someone in her family? Or will the price he asks her to pay for her freedom turn out to be too high?

(from megcabot.com)

Warning: If you haven’t read Abandon, the first book in this series…what are you waiting for?  Get on it! 

The Story:

In this second book in the planned trilogy, Pierce awakens in the arms of John—Lord of the Underworld—in his bedroom that’s, well, in the Underworld.  Oh and did I mention that he’s shirtless?  BEST BEGINNING TO A BOOK EVER!

John has taken Pierce to his home, believing that she’s safer from the threat of the Furies while under his care.  While Pierce is tantalized at the idea of being with John—the man she truly loves—she’s devastated at the thought of being away from her family, especially her mom.  Despite the fact that he’s doing it to protect her, it still feels a little like Pierce is imprisoned.  And she soon realizes that while she’s safe from harm, her family is very much at risk because the Furies will do anything to get to her—even hurt her loved ones.

Pierce fears that her cousin,  Alex , is in danger and she convinces John to travel back to Isla Huesos with her; back to a town in an uproar over the recent hurricane and over the news that Pierce Oliviera has been kidnapped by a man who looks an awful lot like John (so he’s hot, right?).

John is still crazy sexy.  Pierce is drawn to him and he to her despite the roadblocks.  But John also continues to be very mysterious.  He’s keeping secrets about his dark past, secrets that Pierce is determined to find out. Secrets that Richard, the cemetery sexton believes she needs to know.  All of it begs the question, who can she trust and where is she really the safest?  Pierce doesn’t fear John anymore, but she wonders what he’s hiding. And John seems like a good guy, but underneath there is still that part of him that will do anything to keep her by his side.

My Take:

Is it not obvious already? I loved this book.  In fact, I think I loved it even more than the first (which is saying a lot because I crushed pretty hard on that one).  It’s lush and sexy and somewhat dark, all while remaining distinctively Meg Cabot.

Underworld continues to retell the myth of Persephone, yet Cabot spins it with her signature style, creating strong yet flawed heroines and extremely swoonworthy boys,  all written with humor and just the right tough of romance.  This series is edgier than Cabot’s other books, but it’s told with the fast-paced narration we’ve come to expect from her and it’s laced with funny moments.  Also, there are a few interesting mysteries unraveling this time around.  It was completely unputdownable (this IS a word).

One of the things I really appreciated about Underworld was the relationship between Pierce and John. It’s the heart of the story. John was a total enigma in the first book—sweeping in and out and rescuing Pierce, arguing with her, and always intriguing her, while somehow remaining out of reach.  In this book he really has a chance to shine.  We get to know him better (although he still maintains an air of mystery) and we see the love and attachment between him and Pierce really develop into a true, steamy, tingle in your toes romance.  Near the end I thought the pages were going to go up in flames. That’s how good it was between those two.

And romance aside, this is just a really good story that’s well-told.  Every chapter left me hungry for more, so much so that this book hasn’t even technically come out yet and I’m already falling all over myself dying for the sequel. And for more shirtlessness, let’s be honest.

Crush Intensity– 4.75/5 Read this book and love it like I did. Crush on John, continue to root for Pierce, and enjoy the eerie vibe and the mystery as it all plays out.

Memorable Quote:

“Do you really think bringing me here is going to make them just…stop?”

Because the rest of my worries were about precisely this.

“I don’t know,” he admitted. dipping his head to press his mouth to the back of my neck [INSERT TEE’S SIGH HERE]. I felt an immediate zing all along my veins, like his lips were carbonated or something. “This is the first time I’ve ever been in love with a girl who the Furies were trying to kill. But I know there’s nothing you can do to stop them. This is exactly where you belong. Where you’ve always belonged. And where I hope you’ll consider staying…this time.”

Sneaky Peek– Underworld is in stores May 8th. Until then, check out the two chapters available on Meg’s website, including the scene above!

I want to extend a huge thank you to Scholastic (and to Meg Cabot and her team) for sending me an Advance copy of Underworld. I mean, I know she didn’t send it to me personally, but hey, a fangirl can dream, right?  Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Underworld

  1. I had a hard time with this bolk. Maybe because i didn’t reread the first one. But Pierce annoyed me. I really liked John and the new characters, though. Maybe i will reread both to get a better feel for it. ~dixie

    • No! Really? 😦 At first I felt like I needed a re-read of Abandon, but then, miraculously, it came flooding back to me. I just loved that we got to see more of John and their relationship this time. So often in stories with romance there is this crazy, instant attraction and then they’re together, but you never really get to see what draws them together (or keeps them together). And since John was so mysterious the first time around, I liked learning more about him and his past.

  2. Pingback: It’s Here | | Meg CabotMeg Cabot

  3. Pingback: Awaken | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

