Fangirl Five- April 27th

Woot! It’s Friday! That means it’s time to spazz over whatever crazy business has my panties in a bunch this week.

Fangirl Five is hosted by Evil Eva over at Nancy Drew is My Homegirl.

1. The Five Year Engagement– Tomorrow my husband and I are going to see  this movie.  So, yay!, I get a quick date with my boy.  Then yay! for movies where people fall down, get hurt, or get shot with arrows.  I already love this one.

 

2. Linkin Park– I didn’t realize until this week that Linkin Park has a new album coming out in June. I love them.  They’re such good workout music (not that I, you know, actually work out very often).

Here’s the first single, Burn it Down:

 

3. Ian Somerhalder– You guys, there is no way in hell that I will read Fifty Shades of Grey, but if Ian Somerhalder is in the movie, I will so totally be there!!!!!! Clearly the film will be a ginormous piece of NO, but Ian Somerhalder is so very YES.

 

4. The Vampire Diaries– I haven’t watched this week’s episode yet, but if you haven’t seen last week’s here a spoiler: Elena kisses Damon. Like, big time. First, she was totally staring at him half shirtless when he didn’t know she was watching (which is apparently only creepy if you’re a dude) and then he caught her.  EEEEEEE!  Then he came and sat next to her on the bed and held her hand. Oh, the sweetness. But of course, Elena was ready to burst into a ball of flames at this point, so she leaves the room and he follows and then…Elena and Damon sitting in a tree. K-I-S-S-I-N-G–except it was all forbidden and steamy.

 

5. Books– I am drowning in books right now! Books on my nightstand, books I want to read, books I want to re-read, and lots of book recommendations from bloggers and friends. It’s such a good, sweet place to be!

 

Have a great weekend!

13 thoughts on “Fangirl Five- April 27th

  1. I like the little girl “I’m Katniss!!!” hahah. I haven’t read 50 Shades, though I’m going to attempt it later just to see about this hype. . .of course from what I’ve heard I don’t think it will be for me. Did you see the clip of Ellen reading an excerpt?? That was funny! ~Maggie

    • I know, isn’t that funny that they changed it? I noticed it when I saw the trailer on the TV a day or two ago. I thought I was crazy until I went back and watched the original preview. I guess Katniss is cooler now. 🙂 And, holy cow, if you read 50 Shades I want to hear your reaction. I have heard from four different people that it is utter crap! I’ll search for that Ellen clip today. I love her!

      • I’ll let you know about 50. . .I will try in the next few weeks. Right now I’m TRYING to build up a few reviews so I can try to go clear up book like 50 because how in the heck would I review that?! HAHA ~M

      • Have you read the review on Forever Young Adult? Hilarious. And apparently based on that and my girlfriends who’ve read it, there are some disturbing things that Christian Gray(Grey?) wants to do with his fist. Ew.

      • No I haven’t. . .I try not to read reviews until I at least try to read the book just in case for spoilers. . but on Chelsea Lately they mentioned something about a feminine hygeine product & I threw up in my mouth a little. I’ll check it as soon as I try it. LOL

  2. Totally agreeing with you on the 50 Shades of Grey thing. i just don’t think i can get behind something that started out as Twilight fanfic. For one thing, that seems kinda like cheating, no? Like just taking someone else’s work, changing the main characters names and adding some sexy business, then calling it your own? Sounds kinda sketchy.
    On the other hand, i can totally get behind anything with Ian Somerhalder in it! 🙂
    That Delana kiss was AWESOME!!!

    • OMG that kiss was, like, explosive! And when Rose said she was rooting for them? Ahhhhh!! That was so great. And then this week… holy crap I totally cried. And on 50 Shades-yes! That is totally cheating!!! And from what I’ve heard, it’s the least sexy book on the planet. No, thank you.

  3. Okay so I may have stopped watching TVD last season (there were a few episodes I was very MEH about) but I totally just went on YouTube just so I could see The Kiss and holy steamy! *fans self*

    • Right???? This season has been really good. I always get mad because they string me along and make me think there could be a shred of hope for Damon and Elena and, yay, this time we got something steamy!

  4. Seriously, if I never, ever read about a man taking out a tampon to…well, you know, ever again, I will be a happy, happy woman. Have you heard that the award winning WWII book Between Shades of Grey author is getting all these horndog ladies at her book signings and then has to explain, um, there’s no sex in my books… but feel free to stay and listen to my reading. I think that’s hilarious!!!

    I haven’t forgotten about the big box o’books. I’ve just been sick all week… but I’m glad to know you have stacks ready to read in any case.

    I really really enjoyed The Five-Year Engagement (although in my case it was a 5 Month Engagement). I especially thought Alison Brie and Chris Pratt were hilarious as the sister/best friend.

    • Because nothing says “sexy” like a tampon. Wow, that’s totally hideous. I recently read an article in Entertainment Weekly about the confusion between 50 Shades and Between Shades. So hilarious. At least people are going and discovering what I’m sure is far better writing. 🙂 So, I felt a little let down by The 5 Year Engagement. They were super-cute and had great chemistry and I totally loved her sister and brother-in-law, but I hated that middle section where Segal turned all bearded hunter man and Blunt just sort of continued to be selfish. The beginning and the end were adorable though. It was cute, I just expected to totally love it because movies with dorky people who fall down/get hurt/embarrass themselves are totally my thing.

      • I agree that the bearded hunter section wasn’t my favorite, plus Zingerman’s is awesome (I highly recommend), but Ann Arbor is a hip college town, so he definitely could have gotten a proper chef job there! Hey, if you have a chance, we are giving away a ton of copies of our latest Book Club book; please enter to win!

Leave a Reply

