Prom- The Movie

As I mentioned a while back, I finally, FINALLY saw Prom (while my husband was at work, so yay! there was no eye rolling or smirking going on, thank you).  You guys, why did I wait a whole year to watch this movie??!!

I mean,  it has the actual prom, shopping montages, romantic clichés, meddling parents and a Johnny Depp look-a-like.

I drink your milkshake!

How many more things are there to love about this movie?

Even better, the dresses at this prom are nowhere near as hideous as the one in Pretty in Pink!

Really Andy? Really?

First, we have the adorable Together Forever couple complete with awesomely nerdy boyfriend in glasses (you know how I love glasses).  They were totally cute and annoying.  And I love how Nerd Boy asked her to prom:

You have to see it in the movie because this pic does not do it justice.

I’m not sure about you, but prom was nowhere this exciting when I was in high school. First, no one ever asked you to prom in super cool ways.  They just sort of fumbled around and shuffled their feet and said, “So, um, do you wanna go to prom…um, with me?”  Or they do what my date did both times we went–they assume you’re going because you’re already dating. Pisha! After seeing this movie I realize that my prom date got off way too easily (I married him, so I can totally still give him a hard time about it)!

Okay so, back to the movie:

After the annoying couple there’s the awkward senior who can’t seem to get a date. Will someone please go to prom with this guy?

Oh and those sweet sophomores, complete with the girl way too gorgeous to actually be a high school student. This story was SO CUTE.

Of course, it’s all eclipsed by this.

And, um, this:

So what if it’s the same old story about that bad boy who really isn’t bad! He wants you and that perfect good girl to think he’s bad, what with his motorcycle and his utter hotness–but no, inside is the heart of a guy who loves his little brother and his mom (played, disturbingly enough by the woman who was Jason Priestley’s crazypants girlfriend on the original Beverly Hills 90210. Wow, I’m old.). And even better, he’s apparently totally cool with shopping for prom dresses with Aimee Teegarden. Now that’s a keeper.

So, I may sound like a major dork here (wouldn’t be the first time), but this movie totally made me smile. You know, we’re not talking Oscar worthy here, just cute stories and pretty dresses and Johnny Deppishness. Those are all good things in my book.

10 thoughts on “Prom- The Movie

  1. Awww I SO want to see this!!! I really wanted to see it when it came out but they weren’t showing it at my local cinema! I was annoyed, to say the least.
    Who cares if it’s soppy, cliche stuff? It looks super cute! 🙂

  2. I love this movie so much! It’s such a cute escape. And it’s freakin PROM! Who doesn’t love a good prom movie? Especially with a hotty like Thomas McDonnell starring in it!

  3. I absolutely adored this movie! It’s so cute! And yeah, my prom date got off easy too but like you, I married him. 🙂 I love cute, sweet, fun movies like this that just make you smile and feel good. Glad you liked it!

    • I was totally surprised by its total cuteness. You just reminded me that I need to hassle my husband about his lack of crazy, over the top prom proposals! 🙂

  4. Ugh! Andy and that fugly dress! i always wondered why she didn’t just leave Annie Potts dress the way it was instead of trying to Project Runway it into something that turned out comepletely hideous. Although i also wondered why she was interested in Blaine when she had Duckie all along.

    • I never saw the draw with Blaine (“That’s a major appliance. That’s not a name.”) or with Andrew McCarthy. Duckie was where it’s at!

Leave a Reply

