Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. I fear that this week will be a bit repetitive for me because I like to spazz over my favorite quotes during reviews and random posts. Bear with me here.  I promise I have some news ones, but there are some oldies I keep bringing up too:

1. Captain Wentworth, Persuasion by Jane Austen:

I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own, than when you almost broke it eight years and a half ago.  Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death.  I have loved none but you.

2. Taylor Markham, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta:

…when I need to stop for air, Jonah Griggs is there and he takes my hand and leads me through the crowd until we’re outside.

I take deep breaths, looking at the town stretched in front of me.  When I turn around, he cups my face in his hands and he kisses me so deeply that I don’t know who is breathing for who, but his mouth and tongue taste like warm honey.  I don’t know how long it lasts, but when I let go of him, I miss it instantly.

3. Adam, Where She Went by Gayle Forman ( I pretty much love everything this guy has to say. Truly):

I force my eyes upward and look at Mia for the first time.  She’s still beautiful.  Not in an obvious Vanessa LeGrande or Bryn Schraeder kind of way.  In a quiet way that’s always been devastating to me.  Her hair, long and dark, is down now, swimming damply against her bare shoulders, which are still milky white and covered with the constellation of freckles that I used to kiss.  The scar on her left shoulder, the one that used to be an angry red welt, is silvery pink now.  Almost like the latest rage in tattoo accessories.  Almost pretty.

Mia’s eyes reach out to mine, and for a second I fear that my facade will fall apart.  I look away.

4. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee: After Atticus loses the case defending Tom Robinson, Scout recounts how the poor, black families in the courtroom wish to pay their respects to him.  Kills me every single time.

Someone was punching me, but I was reluctant to take my eyes from the people below us, and from the image of Atticus’s lonely walk down the aisle.

“Miss Jean Louise?”

I looked around.  They were standing.  All around us and in the balcony on the opposite wall, the Negroes were getting to their feet. Revered Sykes’s voice was as distant as Judge Taylor’s”

“Miss Jean Louise, stand up. Your father’s passin’.”

5. Akiva, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor:

“…I think I would always find you, no matter how you were hidden.” He was focused on her with extraordinary intensity. “Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens—” His voice cracked, and he took a breath. “I need you to remember that I love you.”

6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen:

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look, or the words, which laid the foundation.  It is too long ago.  I was in the middle before I knew I had begun.”

7. Anything relating to Michael Moscovitz, Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot (but this is specifically from Forever Princess):

So, Mia has a boyfriend-that dry cleaner fluid smelling corn-hater JP. UGH! Anyhoo, after having lunch with Michael and taking a carriage ride through Central Park, Mia and Michael end up kissing. For like twenty-something blocks.  And when the carriage stops, she freaks (and not because she’s dating a tool like JP instead of Michael, hello):

That’s when I was like, “Oh my God!” and started up at Michael, all horrified, realizing what I’d done.

Which was make out  with a boy who wasn’t my boyfriend. For a really long time.

I guess the most horrifying part was how much I’d liked it. Which was a lot. A whole lot.  That major histocompatibility complex thing? It does NOT mess around.

And I could tell Michael felt the same way.”Mia,” he said, looking down at me with his dark eyes filled with something I was almost afraid to put a name to, and his chest going all up and down like he’d just been running. His hands were in my hair. He was cradling my head. “You have to know. You have to know I lo-“

But I smashed my hand over his mouth just like I’d done to Tina.

Ok but then later she gets a text:

Mia,

I’m not sorry. And I’ll wait.

Love, Michael.

Um, yeah. I love him.

8. Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella: Do you guys ever read her books? She’s so funny.

A boyfriend.

It’s just like Julie Andrews said. When the dog bites, when the bee stings…I simply remember I have a boyfriend—and suddenly things don’t seem quite so completely shit.

Or however she put it.

9. The Time Travelers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger:

“Clare?”

“Yes?” My voice is small and scared.

“You know that I love you. Will you marry me?”

“Yes …Henry.” I have an overwhelming sense of deja vu. “But you know, really…I already have.”

And oh, I love this one too:

She [Clare] has her head bent over a small red book. Her hair is trying to escape from the coil on her head, and one strap of her sundress is hanging off her shoulder, exposing a bit of her bathing suit. This is so poignant, so powerful, that I urgently need to walk over to her, touch her, possibly, if no one is looking, bite her, but at the same time I notice Gomez, who is standing in the Mystery section looking at Clare with an expression that so exactly mirrors my own that I am forced to see-

At this moment, Clare looks up at me and says, “Henry, look it’s Pompeii.” She holds out the tiny book of picture postcards, and something in her voice says, See, I have chosen you. I walk to her, put my arm around her shoulders, straighten the fallen strap. 

10. The Truth About Forever, Sarah Dessen:

Wes, come on,” I said. “Are you seriously not aware of how girls stare at you?”

He rolled his eyes, leaning back on his palms.  “Let’s get back to the idea of you being perfect.”

“Seriously, what’s it like?”

“Being perfect? I wouldn’t know.”

“Not being perfect.” I sighed. “Being…”

As I tried to come up with something, he flicked a bug off his arm.

“…gorgeous,” I finished.  Two weeks earlier, this would have mortified me: I could just see myself bursting into flames from shame.  But now, I only felt a slight twinge as I took another sip of my beer and waited for him to answer.

“Again,” he said, as the parking lot girls passed by, eyeing both of us, “I wouldn’t know.  You tell me.

11. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart:

Frankie has just spotted her crush, Matthew, as she was riding her bike near the gym.  So was so busy checking him out that she fell. Off her bike. Right in front of him.

Ow. Her leg was scraped up, and she’d made a fool of herself.  Frankie felt like an idiot–until Matthew Livingston (Matthew Livingston!) ran over and came to her aid.

Then she felt like a genius.  And wished her hair wasn’t frizzing in the September heat.  Because he was here, standing over her, looking concerned. Matthew Livingston!

“Are you okay?” Matthew pulled the bike off her and tossed it to one side like it weighed nothing.

Frankie looked down at her leg. It was bleeding around the ankle. She was relieved to find something reasonably clever coming out of her mouth: “They say it’s like riding a bicycle,” she quipped, “But I guess it isn’t.”

Matthew smiled.

Have a great Tuesday!

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Quotes

  1. LOVE all of these! Seriously, if more people put quotes like these in their reviews or on their blogs, I’d be more convinced to read any book, good or bad! That scene with Michael and Mia was the best, was it not?! I was thinking the other day how I really want to reread the Princess Diaries series. Now I just may have to pull them out!

    • Sometimes I just have to reread them. It doesn’t matter how many books I already have waiting for me. I need my Princess Diaries books. They always make me smile!

  2. That part of To Kill A Mockingbird always stands out to me as one of the most memorable, when the Reverend tells Scout to stand up to pay respect to Atticus. Great quotes – as a fellow Michael Moscovitz fan I love the Princess Diaries one, too!

    • That part in TKAMB always gives me chills. I love that book. Also, Michael Moscovitz is the man! There could never be a better book boyfriend. 🙂

    • Sophie Kinsella totally cracks me up every time. Love her! And yes, I was just thinking that I’m due for a Persuasion reread too. That letter at the end is such swoony goodness.

  3. I had that same Pride & Prejudice quote on my list, and I almost included the Persuasion one, too. And that To Kill a Mockingbird quote just reminded me of why I’m due for a re-read of that book soon. Jellicoe Road, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Truth About Forever are all on my TBR, and this made me even more excited to read them.

  4. YES! I love Sophie Kinsella.

    Also, props for the Michael Moscovitz. The Princess Diaries have been my favorite series for 10+ years now… *sigh*

  5. I LOVE YOUR LIST!!! I’ve read (and loved) practically every book on it! Can You Keep a Secret was so funny… I wanted to put it on my list but I couldnt find a good quote of it on the internet! And The Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my all-time fav books!

    Here’s Mine

    • You know, I lucked out on the Kinsella quote. I love her and have read a ton of her books. The other night I grabbed Can You Keep A Secret for a quick reread while in the tub and I came across that quote for the first time in a couple of years. She is SO funny. And TTW makes me sigh every single time. That book never gets old!

  6. So love your list. If my server were working properly (we have to switch, as the host has basically told us all it’s not reliable), I would’ve chosen a couple of these myself, since we have the same taste in books!

  7. You have picked SUCH great quotes! It makes me want to drop my laptop (not literally) and go read a few of these books from cover to cover all over again!

    Bat. Bat. Bat.

    • Ha! Don’t you love Joe/Lennie? The whole bat bat thing still crack me up. I’m excited because I just chose that book for my book club. I hope that crush on it like me.

Leave a Reply

