TGIF- Supporting Characters

TGIF is hosted by Ginger at GReads.

This week’s question is: Who are you favorite supporting characters?  Seriously, we could be here all day. Best friends sometimes make the story for me.  Think of Hermione and Ron (Harry Potter), or Bert and Kristy and Monica (donneven) from The Truth About Forever? Or all of Frankie’s buddies in Saving Francesca? I love all of them!

For me, I think my favorite will always be Tina Hakim Baba from The Princess Diaries series.  Tina knows where it’s at.  She loves Mia and encourages her–even when Mia does stupid things like the sexy dance– and she always helps her makes sense out of all the crazy.  I know that Lilly is supposed to be Mia’s BFF, but Tina is far more loyal and non-judgemental. Also, hello, she takes much of her advice from romance novels! You don’t get much brainier than that.  I’ve found it interesting over the years to reread the books and realize that if you play close attention, Tina is usually right about every assumption she makes. I want her for my bestie.

You guys, I thought this picture was hilarious. Do you remember this scene from Princess in Love? Mia is trying to buy a secret admirer card for Michael so that she can once and for all let him know how she feels about him (secretly):

Actually, Ho’s didn’t really have what I wanted.  I wanted a card that was blank inside, with a picture on the front that was sophisticated but not too sexy. But the only blank cards they has a Ho’s (that weren’t plastered with pictures of kittens) were ones with photos of fruit being dipped into chocolate sauce.

I tried to choose a non-phallic fruit, but even the strawberry I got is kind of sexier that I would have liked. I don’t know what’s sexy about fruit with chocolate sauce dripping off it, but Tina was like, “Whoa,” when she saw it.

 

Cracks me up every time. Happy Friday!

14 thoughts on “TGIF- Supporting Characters

  1. She was such a perfect supporting character for Mia! I was not a fan of Lilly; honestly couldn’t stand her. But I really loved Tina! I’m pretty sure I WAS Tina in high school!

  2. i always liked Tina waaaaaay more than Lilly. i think she’s a much better bestie for Mia.
    Plus she saw the beauty in Boris. (Yet another person that Lilly treated like crap and Tina was so super sweet to.)

    • Ahh Boris, that little mouth breather. I totally loved him too. I felt so bad for him when he bought Lilly that necklace from Kay Jewelers and she went on her rant about blood diamonds or whatever cause her panties were in a bunch over. Boris and Tina was so perfect together.

  3. I always felt the same way about Lily! And I kinda felt bad for TIna, because she was always proving her loyalty, yet Mia was kinda hard on her and so forgiving towards Lily.

    • Mia was always so quick to forgive Lilly. I mean, I guess that can be a nice quality overall, but it was nice to see her stand up to her every now and then.

Leave a Reply

