TGIF- May 25th

TGIF is hosted by Ginger at GReads.

The question this week is: What are some of the worst book covers, but hold some of the best stories inside?

Oh, I know. In the YA genre they are aplenty.  I’ll just list a couple that really stick out in my mind.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

The expression on her face, the scarf, the hands…it looks so cheesy.  It’s a book I would have been embarrassed to buy had I not known better (OK, I was still embarrassed).  But between those covers is so much humor (really. I laughed out loud so many times), such sweetness and romance and swoon. And there is Anna—who is a fabulous main character— and her gigantic crush on St. Clair, who has a certain endearing charm about him. And there’s Paris, you guys. Paris.  I love this book.

Anything by Sarah Dessen

Sigh. I feel so bad always ragging on the covers of Sarah Dessen books, but they’re bad.  They have mostly headless people and even though they try to convey what the book is about, they come off looking like something I want to hide behind another book. And the reason I always, always talk about these books is because Dessen is a fantastic author. Her words are beautiful, her stories are good, her heroines are strong and she writes perfectly imperfect swoony boys.  She is a YA goddess, but you’d never know that by looking at legs and iPods.

The Mortal Instruments books by Cassandra Clare

Over the years I’ve become so used to these covers that I sometimes forget that at first glance they can be kind of horrifying.  Now, I’m totally into seeing the characters and how they’re envisioned, but back when I first saw these books I was completely distracted by Jace’s nipples.  I mean, I’m not saying he looks baaad, but I don’t need that much detail. And I don’t mind shirtlessness (esp. in the case of Jace) but, I don’t know…maybe it’s that they’re just right there, front and center saying “Look at me!’.  Whatever it is, these books are so excellent. I love this series , but whenever I recommend them to someone they ask if it’s the books with the nipple  guy.  Just sayin.

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “TGIF- May 25th

  1. Haha, before I started reading TMI, I totally laughed at my friends who did because the cover was so weird and frisky! Now they’re so good I think my mind subconsciously blocks out how unappealing the covers are.
    Personally, I like Dessen’s covers, but I could totally see how the headless thing weirds people out!

    Here’s my TGIF

    • Yes, headless=weird. And with TMI and totally don’t notice it anymore (in fact, I look forward to seeing the new covers) but then someone who hasn’t read them reminds me of how appalling they can be at first sight and I remember. Who cares, right? The books are awesome! 🙂

  2. I agree about the cover of Anna, it’s pretty cheesy which is such a shame as the book itself is wonderful!

    I haven’t seen those versions of the Sarah Dessen books, as the UK covers – or at least the ones I have had from the library – haven’t got people on them, but I’m not a fan of the headless girl on a book cover, I must agree with you!

Leave a Reply

