Top Ten Tuesday- Beachy Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by those awesome chicas over at The Broke and The Bookish.  This week’s topic is Beach Reads.

Now, I’m a true California Girl (although I kind of hate the sun, slather myself in sunscreen, big hats and ginormous sunglasses).  I love the beach.  There is no place like it: the sound of the waves, the feel of the sand, that beachy scent of the saltwater.  It all reminds me of summer and makes me so happy to live in a place like California (even though I complain about the heat, the traffic and the prices of everything).  And summery beach reads, to me, should be a) girly (have stories about love, friendship or both b) bet set in the summer c)be addictive.

Here are my picks:

1. The Summer books by Jenny Han– Belly, Conrad (both his douchy and swoony versions), and Jeremiah and their summers on Cousins Beach. Man, oh, man, those stories never get old to me.  Le sigh.

2. Past Perfect by Leila Sales– OMG, have you guys read this? It is so funny. Chelsea has a summer job doing historical reenactments at a colonial village.  The kids that work there have a war going on with the neighboring competition. Chelsea becomes one of the leaders of this war. Only problem: she develops a little romance with one of the enemies.  This book is so cute and Leila Sales is hilarious. Read it!

3. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler– This is a total summer book about Frankie and Anna and their vacation on Zanzibar Beach. They’re both trying to heal after tragically losing Frankie’s brother Matt. What Frankie doesn’t know is that Matt and Anna were in love.  Anna can’t let go, but she doesn’t know how to tell Frankie.  This book is so good. The friendship is totally authentic and the flashbacks with Matt are to die for.

4. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen– I talk about this book a lot, I know, but this is a perfect summer read.  Macy is on summer vacation. Her lame boyfriend has just dumped her.  She has a job at the library, which she totally hates. And worse, she’s grieving over the loss of her father.  Then she starts to work at Wish Catering. And the kids there—Wes (swoon city), Bert, Monica, Kristy—they make her laugh again.  This book has so much heart. It’s sweet and funny and totally romantic without getting too slobbery and heavy.

5. Anything by Meg Cabot– I can’t think of a Cabot book that isn’t a fun, addictive read.  Pick one. Any one.  The Princess Diaries, Avalon High, The Abandon books, the Mediator series. She always has the perfect amount of humor, suspense and romance. She writes funny, strong heroines and always, always crushworthy guys.

6. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson– You guys, not only does this book take place in the summer, it’s about a road trip.  A road trip!  I love those!  Morgan Matson wrote a really cute story here, but also she laced it with song playlists (I think I love her), pictures and copies of receipts. In the end you’re going to feel like you really know Amy and Roger and like you’ve been to all of these fabulous places with them.

7. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen– Auden is spending the summer with her dad and stepmom at their home in a beach town. She’s grappling with academic pressure (and pressure from her super-annoying I-am-woman-hear-me-roar type of mom), she’s struggling in her relationship with her father and in dealing with the fact that he and his new wife are having a baby. She meets Eli, just a guy on a bike who seems to be dealing with his own issues and losses.  They develop and sweet relationship that, although it has its moments of romance, is less about the huggy kissy stuff and more about two people who have a real, genuine connection.  This is a good one.

8. P&P inspired books– I think a girly book that is in any way inspired by the awesomeness of Pride and Prejudice, is a full-blown perfect summer read. Try Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman, Epic Fail by Claire Lazebnik, Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg, or Austenland by Shannon Hale.  They’re all cute and addictive.

. The Shade series by Jeri Smith-Ready– Oh, my word, these books are so freaking unputdownable!  Aura, like most people her age,  can see ghosts. One of the ghosts she sees regularly is that of her recently deceased boyfriend, Logan.  Aura needs to get on with her life, but she can’t because Logan is always there. Always. And the love between these two is so heartbreaking, it actually made me tear up a bit.  There is so much more to the story though. There was an event that happened years earlier—a shift— that made it so that everyone born during a certain time period would go all Hayley Joel Osmet.  Aura is trying to figure out how this happened and it’s a huge mystery that spans  three books. And they’re all good. Trust me.

That’s all for now!

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Beachy Reads

  1. There’s something about the beach that screams contemporary books to me. I could read any of these on the beach and thoroughly enjoy my day there! You know… with the 50+ sunscreen, cover-up, big floppy hat and ginormous sunglasses! 🙂

    • You’re so right. Also, i love books that take place over the summer (maybe because it’s traditionally Summer Love time? I’m not sure as I’ve never had this happen to me).

  2. I see several of my all-time summer favorites here but have yet to read Past Perfect and Prom & Prejudice and the final Shade book. I agree with Candice that summer and contemporary go great together. Happy summer reading!

    • I need to read the last Shade book too. I don’t want it to be over so I’m waiting (in denial). Past Perfect is an awesome summer read. You should do it!

  3. Yes! Along for the Ride! I wish I had read this book during summer to get the full-on summery effect, but I really loved that one. My favorite Sarah Dessen!

    • Twenty Boy Summer is really good. There’s some sadness there and the girls do some things that I really, really wish they hadn’t, but the writing is good and the story is very well-done. As far as Morgan Matson, I’m looking forward to grabbing a copy of her new one. I like her style!

    • OMG, it’s no secret that I love her and her books, right? Outside of The Princess Diaries she’s written so many other fun books. The Mediator series, Avalon High, The Queen of Babble books, The Abandon series, Pants on Fire, etc–they’re all really cute. She’s very funny, loves to make pop culture references and writes the cutest swoony boys and funny, flawed heroines.

    • Oh yes! Twenty Boy Summer and Past perfect are stand alones but Shade is a series. You picked the perfect time to start it because the final book came out recently. I haven’t read it yet. Not ready to say goodbye. 🙂

Leave a Reply

