Top Ten Tuesday- Retellings

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the  awesome ladies at The Broke and The Bookish. This week is a freebie. I love freebie weeks. I get so excited about the infinite possibilities. Then I spazz because I have no idea what to write about. There are too many topics and it’s such a big decision.  I don’t want to mess up my freebie. HOLY COW!

Anyhoo, this week I’ve decided to talk about retellings. I’m someone who enjoys seeing new versions of classic books I love.  So here are a few to check out:

1. Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg– How many times can I say it? It has prom AND it’s retelling of Pride and Prejudice! It’s a collision of two things I freaking love. And it’s so cute.

2. Austenland by Shannon Hale– This isn’t a true retelling, it’s more inspired by Austen and the gads of crazies who obsess over her swoony guys.  Don’t look at me. I’m playing innocent over here even though I totally want to hang this in my house because it’s a quote from my beloved Mr. Knightley. Obsess much? Me? Never.

3. When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle-Holy crap I love this book. It’s a retelling of Romeo and Juliet. It’s from Rosaline’s perspective. It made me hate Juliet. End. Of. Story.

4. Entwined by Heather Dixon– This is a retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. I love it! It’s totally enchanting and romantic and has the feel of an old, classic book.

5. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine– This is a very loose rendition of Cinderella. I love this story so much!

6. The Frog Princess by E.D. Baker– This is a retelling of…you guessed it, The Frog Prince.  The Disney movie that came out out few years ago was based on the basic idea (the girl who kisses the frog actually turns into a frog as well), but the book is completely different. Very cute.

7. Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik– Hello, a P&P retelling where Darcy is the son of some super-famous celebs. This is the book that finally helped me get Darcy and that gigantic stick that resides up his butt. Finally!

8. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter– A fun retelling of the myth of Persephone. And Henry= hot. Trust me on that one.

9. Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding– Believe it or not, this is a very loose adaptation of P&P.  It’s so well done and absolutely freaking hilarious.

10. Abandon by Meg Cabot– This is another retelling of the myth of Persephone. It’s completely different from The Goddess Test.  It still feels like a Meg Cabot book (which is good), but it’s darker.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Retellings

  1. I didnt realize Goddess Interrupted was a retelling! Im totally intrigued now.

    I loved about half of these and really didnt like the other half but thats because Im like you – i really like retellings! Only it has to be really good. Ella is so classic, and i loved entwined and prom and prejudice…

  2. I didn’t realize Epic Fail was a retelling! P&P sure is a popular choice for author inspiration. And Bridget Jones Diary is so funny. Great TTT idea!

  3. I totally want to read Entwined now. Both my sister and I loved The Twelve Dancing Princesses as children and have loved other retellings, but I’ve missed this one until now. Ella Enchanted also made our list but we did characters we’d name our children after :-).

  4. i love your list idea! And your picks too of course. 😉
    i’ve been wondering if The Goddess Test was anything like Abandon since they’re both based on the myth of Persephone. Since it’s different i might just have to check it out now. Plus i believe there was a mention of a hot guy? i’m in! 🙂

  5. What an awesome list, especially all the Pride and Prejudice stuff! Have you read Jane by April Lindner? It’s a YA modern day retelling of Jane Eyre. Mr. Rochester is a rock star! It’s really good.

    • I have! I was super-intrigued because Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books. I loved the rock star element, but there were some things I felt didn’t translate very well into a modern story (like I thought her family situation was weirdly unbelievable. She didn’t convince me). The Rochester part of the story was a cool twist though.

  6. Awesome list! I’m a huge fan of retellings, especially ones that I’ve read! I think I’ve mentioned this every time I’ve seen it on your blog, but I REALLLLLLLY want to read When You Were Mine!!!! And Bridget Jones’ Diary? LOVED it so much! And Henry… swoon! Super list lady!

    • Oh, thanks Ashely! That’s the good and bad thing about book blogs. We discover so many more great books but it feels impossible to get to them all!

  7. I’m a bit iffy on retellings, especially those that take too much from the original source. Anyway, I just had to comment so that I could express my undying love for Ella Enchanted. It’s one of my favourite YA books and a perfect example of taking an old story and creating something new.

Leave a Reply

