TGIF- August 3

TGIF is hosted by Ginger at GReads.

This week we’re having a mini book Olympics, giving “medals” to our favorite books in any genre.   Choosing my favorite book would be a difficult feat— like choosing my favorite ride at Disneyland (The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh or Pirates of the Caribbean), or my favorite chocolate (See’s or Ghiradelli) or my favorite Beatle (George, definitely George). It’s practically impossible!

I’ve decided to award medals to my favorite books read this summer (not counting rereads, which I do often).  You know, it’s actually a little sad, but I’ve only completed a few books since June. What?  I know! I can explain: My whole family, meaning my husband (who is a teacher) and both of my sweet daughters, are on summer vacation and we are all home together. All the time.  And we do spend time reading both individually and together (currently the girls and I are reading Matilda together) , but we also play games and go on outings and at night when I’d normally be reading, my hubs and I stay up late and watch old movies and Cheers since he doesn’t have to get up early for work the next day. Summer is good for my family life and very bad for my TBR list.

So anyway, here are the contenders:

The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland

You Against Me by Jenny Downham

The List by Siobhan Vivian

Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Something Like Fate by Susane Colasanti

Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti

Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

The Selection by Kiera Cass

City Of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Take a Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg

And here are the medals!

The Selection by Kiera Cass takes the bronze. I loved this book!  The review is coming later this month.

The silver goes to You Against Me by Jenny Downham.  This book was a wonderful in every way.  I wasn’t expecting to love it the way I did.  It was that good.

And I’m sure no one is surprised that I’ve chosen to award the gold medal to The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This book completely captured my heart and never truly let go. Read it!

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “TGIF- August 3

  1. I also gave The Fault in Our Stars gold… such a great book! It’s nice to be in a family of teachers and get to actually spend some time with one another in the summer (my husband and half his family are teachers or students, so we get to see them a lot in the summer time). Hope you’re enjoying Matilda with the kids, I loved it when I was little!!

    • Another teacher family! It really does make for the best summer. We eat it up. We’re loving Matilda (the oldest has been there, done that many times, but even she’s enjoying it again).

  2. Your summer sounds so great! Glad you’re getting to spend time with your family and do fun things; hope your girls are enjoying Matilda! I read it in 3rd grade and still get the shivers over the Trunchbull!

    If I haven’t mentioned it… I really need to read TFIOS! NEED TO!!!

    • Our summer is pretty darn awesome. I love it. As far as Matilda, I’m totally enjoying it. My oldest daughter has read it a billion times, but this is the first time for both me and my little one. Love Roald Dahl!

  3. I have to read all of your medal choices, especially John Green, all I hear is good things about that one 🙂 I chose mine based on what I read in July, because there were too many to choose from otherwise lol.

Leave a Reply

