TGIF- August 10

TGIF is hosted by Ginger at GReads.

This week we’re talking about books we had reservations about and then loved.  Lordy, I could be here all day. Sometimes it takes some serious convincing to get me to read a book, which is why I’m so thankful to the people who run the blogs I love because those are the bookworms I truly trust. Those are the people who’ve gotten me to read some of my favorite books.

Take for example, The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. I mean, I think you’ve seen me blather on and on about this series like a crazy person. If I could adopt this book and raise it as one of my own children I’d totally do it. But man, when I read the premise I was like, REALLY?  You can hear all the thoughts of the men?  And the MCs are kids? I mean isn’t there any kissing?????  But after reading the opinions bloggers at Forever Young Adult and after chatting about it via our blogs and Twitter with Capillya at That Cover Girl, they convinced me to JUST GO FOR IT! And I’m so very glad I did.

Or consider If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I mean a book about a girl whose family dies in a car accident? And she’s sort of hovering between life and death?  You guys, I like books with princesses and kissing. I do not want to cry. But after being convinced through too many reviews to count, I finally picked this one up from the library a couple of years ago (totally determined to dislike it) and I was completely swept up in Mia’s life, in her family, her love life and yes, in her tragedy.  And I loved every minute of it. I totally cried my eyes out but it has become one of my favorite books.
And the same goes for The Fault in Our Stars. Were it not for my friends at Gone Pecan and Teen Lit Rocks, I definitely would not have picked this one up. And it’s ridiculous because I love me some John Green. But I also love not being sad.  After reading this one I can truly say that although there were many sad moments the end result was beautiful and uplifting.
And speaking of Teen Lit Rocks, do you know that she convinced me to read Finnikin of the Rocka book I now adore, a book that I thought was so romantic at times that it compelled me to send a highly inappropriate sext to my husband, only to later realize in horror that I’d accidentally sent it to one of my girlfriends instead (yes, this is my life). Anyhoo, although I love Melina Marchetta I’d initially avoided this book because it was a Fantasy. I don’t usually enjoy that genre but boy was I wrong.

And finally, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater  I’ve never been a fan of the Shiver books. They just don’t do it for me. So when the publisher asked me to read this book, assuring me it was a total departure for Maggie, I was a bit wary. And of course,  I loved this book.  It was completely different and more fantastic than I could have ever imagined.
It’s so good to be wrong.

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “TGIF- August 10

  1. And now you’ve just caused me to add a bunch of books to my reading list – I loved The Scorpio Races and really liked The Knife of Never Letting Go – I need to finish reading that series.

    • Adding books to you TBR is a good thing, I swear! 🙂 You should definitely finish the Chaos Walking trilogy. I thought it was all so well-done.

  2. So many here that I need to read, Scorpio Races was good, but delaying reading if I Stay and Fault in our Stars, since I know they will most likely make me cry at some point. Great choices!

    • Kelsey, they will definitely make you cry (but it will be so worth it in the end). I can honestly say that I didn’t feel down when those books ended. If I Stay is a tougher read (more tears), but when you do it have the sequel ready to go. It’s even better than the first because it’s written from the boyfriend’s perspective. There is a lot of sweetness in those books and in TFIOS.

  3. I’ve reached the tipping point. I can’t ignore Finnikin of the Rock any longer. . Although I adore Melina Marcheta and I’ve read Jellico Road so many times I can recite parts of it by memory, I have been avoiding Finnikin of the Rock for the same reason you did. I’m not a huge fan of fantasy. You’ve put the” give it a try” votes over the top. I’m going to start reading it tonight.

    • I think you’ll really like it. Now, that being said, for some strange reason I had a tough time with the sequel to Finnkin. I can’t really put my finger on a reason, but I struggled through it. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood? Let me know what you think of Finnikin!

  4. Okay so I totally agree with you. And the funny thing is, I have just started reading these kind of books. The books that I have to wrestle with myself just to pick up and look at. So now I have added a couple more to my reading list. I might be pounding on your virtual door in the middle of the night bawling my eyes out and begging you to take it back what you’ve said here….which oddly makes me feel better about going for it.

Leave a Reply

