Top Ten Tuesday- Romances That Would Really Make it

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. One of the B&B gals, Jamie, will be getting married very soon, and in honor of that absolutely wonderful celebration we’re discussing literary romances that would make it in the real world.

I love this topic. Love it.

1. Anne and Captain Wentworth, Persuasion by Jane Austen– Because, well, have you read that letter?  All that love stored up after all those years–you can’t beat a story like that. So much of their romance relates back to real life. In real life people grow up; they age. And in real life, in order to have successful love we have to forgive the past and offer a huge measure of grace.

2. Jane and Mr. Rochester, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte– These are two crazy, passionate people (not as crazy as Bertha, obvs).  But Jane doesn’t end up with Rochester until she’s able to make it on her own. And in a way she rescues him. Again, this is how real life is. One person in the relationship isn’t always the hero; we equally rescue and take care of each other.

3. Adam and Mia, If I Stay/Where She Went by Gayle Forman– Oh man, the love here is beautiful and breathtaking.  This is truly one of my all-time favorite couples.

4. Michael and Mia, The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot– Hello, he created a robotic arm just to prove he’s worthy of her!  And he respects her as an individual with a life of her own. And Mia embraces that.

5. Darcy and Elizabeth, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen– Before they’re married they act like a married couple, always sassy and opinionated, but flirtatious and overwhelmed by that love they didn’t plan on. Also, this is another couple that has to take down those walls of pride and move forward with higher, better expectations.

6. Jay and Violet, The Body Finder series by Kimberly Derting– These two have a romance that evolved from friendship. While I think there are many ways to fall in love, this is my favorite—but I’m totally biased.

7. Cricket and Lola, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins– Again with the childhood friends. They’re so cute! But more than that, Cricket and Lola appreciate the unique nature of the other. And they can laugh at themselves. Real love must include lots of laughter.

8. Lennie and Joe, The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– I imagine that these two would be crazy, passionate and romantic in the loveliest sense of the word.  But even in those moments where they may not feel particularly lovey dovey (it happens, like when you’re paying your bills or talking about what to cook for dinner you’re not usually making googly eyes at each other), they have a firm foundation in their shared interests and in a deeper understanding of each other. They get each other. This is so important!

9. Conrad and Belly, The Summer series by Jenny Han– Come on. They’ve grown up together and despite immaturity on both parts, they’ve been building a loving relationship forever. They’re friends, they’re like family and it’s like they’ve waited their whole lives to finally grow up and be together.

10. Wes and Macy, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen– They laugh together. I can’t express enough how important this is. Also Wes= dreamy.

And yes, I can count but I just can’t stop myself. Here are a couple more:

11. Taylor and Jonah Effing Griggs, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta– I know they’ve endured some seriously painful shizz in their lives, but they’ve gotten to a place where they can be completely raw. They get each other, they get the pain and yet they want to see the other through it. Man, I love this couple.

12. Hermione and Ron, The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling– Because they’re perfect for each other. They just are.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Romances That Would Really Make it

    • Elizabeth, get to the library and indulge yourself in some Adam now! I think Where She Went is even lovelier than the first book (I know! Crazy!).

  1. Oh this is why I was asked about my favorite couples late last night on Twitter! I’m right there with you on most of these (as you know, I haven’t read Dessen or Cabot), and I am thrilled you added a couple to make sure Ron and Hermione were mentioned. As much as I love the thrill of “love at first sight” (bat bat bat), I am also a huge, huge advocate for the slow burn of friendship that turns into the forever kind of love (even before I married my best friend I felt this way!).

    • Sandie, you can’t tell me you haven’t read The Princess Diaries because I need (yes, NEED) you to understand my strange, obsessive love for Michael Moscovitz. Also, I love that you married your bestie, just like me. Man, we’re cute! 🙂

  2. Wes and Macy just missed my list! Great list though. I need to read the Princess Diary series. You’re the second person I’ve seen with Mike and Mia on their list.

Leave a Reply

