Take a Bow

Take a Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg

I love this cover because I love her hair and hope against hope that mine will look that way. Don’t judge me.

Emme, Sophie, Ethan, and Carter are seniors at a performing arts school, getting ready for their Senior Showcase recital, where the pressure is on to appeal to colleges, dance academies, and professionals in show business. For Sophie, a singer, it’s been great to be friends with Emme, who composes songs for her, and to date Carter, soap opera heartthrob who gets plenty of press coverage. Emme and Ethan have been in a band together through all four years of school, but wonder if they could be more than just friends and bandmates. Carter has been acting since he was a baby, and isn’t sure how to admit that he’d rather paint than perform. The Senior Showcase is going to make or break each of the four, in a funny, touching, spectacular finale that only Elizabeth Eulberg could perform. (Goodreads)

The Story:

Emme; her diva BFF,  Sophie; Sophie’s soap stud boyfriend,  Carter; and Emme’s other BFF,  Ethan;  all attend NYC High School of the Creative Performing Arts (um, I think that’s the name. I actually forgot to write it down. Bad me!). This is their senior year, a year where making an impression is of the utmost importance, where auditions for the Senior Showcase are on everyone’s mind, and where preparing to apply for college pretty much dominates the lives of these four characters.

Sophie, a singer, spends a great deal of time milking Emme, a song writer and musician, into writing amazing songs for her to perform. It’s all part of the plan for Sophie to be the biggest superstar on the planet. And it’s not like Emme minds. She’s a little more shy and she actually believes Sophie is doing her a favor by singing her songs with that incredible voice.  Emme, eternally sweet and endearing, loves Sophie because they’ve been best friends since childhood. I can’t really say the same for Sophie, mostly because Sophie is a nasty little biatch.  Sorry, I’m getting ahead of myself.

Emme is in a band helmed by her other bestie, Ethan(the only girl with three guys, how cute is that?). Ethan has that I’m A Serious Musician vibe.  He’s had a less than perfect past, but he’s clearly devoted to his band. The only thing he loves more than playing with them is Emme—not that she realizes that, of course.

Lastly we come to Carter, former child star and current (often shirtless) soap stud extraordinaire. Carter is beginning to see that his girlfriend, Sophie, may not be all she’s cracked up to be. She may be a bit of a fame whore, not that Carter would use those words—he’s way too nice. He’s not too worried about it though, mainly because he has bigger fish to fry. He’s pretty sick of always getting the lead in the school plays without even trying. He’s sick of people loving or hating him because of his soap star status, and he’s sick of acting all together.

What I Liked:

Music, music and more music. And wow, Emme can write songs and play guitar and she’s in a mother cussing band!

!!!!!!!

I’m so jealous considering my only musical ability is playing stuff on my iPod. She’s a sweet girl who is so blinded by her love for those around her that she doesn’t always see them clearly. I loved this about her. She isn’t always looking for a motive—even though Sophie’s are so obvious and even though it’s so clear that Ethan is loving her hard—she takes everything at face value.

I also loved that this was written from the alternating perspectives of the four main characters. In fact, the only chapters I didn’t fall for completely were Sophie’s. But I realize I was supposed to feel that way. She was so easy to despise. I hated her.

Lastly, I loved the relationships between Emme and her band mates, especially the love between Ethan and Emme. While this wasn’t major swoon for me, I liked it.  All of the guys in the band are super-protective of their girl, Emme, which means they hate Sophie for obvious reasons, none more than Ethan. As with all of Eulberg’s other books, the writing here is sweet and comforting, enjoyable on all levels. It made me smile, as her stories always do.

Crush Intensity: 3.75/5 This book flew by for me, perhaps because it was so cute and fun.

The Way I See It:

Emma Watson as Emme

Nina Dobrev as Sophie

Ethan Peck as Ethan

Douglass Booth as Carter

6 thoughts on “Take a Bow

  1. This seriously sounds like a YA version of Fame (I’m gonna live foreverrrr). Or maybe Fame mixed with a Disney movie. I think I could get behind that. Glad you enjoyed it and I hope that one day your hair does look like the girl’s on the cover!

Leave a Reply

