Casting Call- Divergent

Welcome to our new feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.

Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it. After doing our casting last week, we realized that this could easily consume our whole week (endlessly searching for  pictures of Aaron Johnson on Google–awesome or creepy?), so we’ve decided to each take a couple of characters and cast them.  If you want to see the entire cast you’ll have to visit everyone.  We even planned it out in advance with a list and everything (thank goodness Brittany is so organized!)

Our book this week is Divergent by Veronica Roth.  I’m going to be very honest and tell you that, as much as I loved this book, I remember practically nothing about it,  having read it during the summer of 2011.  I do, however, remember Tris and Four and Tris’s parents and then…that’s pretty much it. Luckily, I picked two of those characters.

Tris

I love Mia Wasikowska. She has this ethereal quality about her, almost angelic, which is very much how I picture Tris. Tris is someone who can easily be misjudged.  At first glance, you wouldn’t expect her to be the brave one, or the one willing to take the risks, but looks can be quite deceiving because this girl rocks with crazy intensity.

I feel like someone breathed new air into my lungs. I am not Abnegation. I am not Dauntless.
I am Divergent.

Mr. Prior (Tris’s dad)

I love Sean Bean.  I mean, have you seen Game of Thrones?  In a show of total badasses, he steal manages to take the cake (well, he and Peter Dinklage, but I digress).  Andrew Prior has a certain brave devotion to his family. He physically takes care of them and, spoiler alert, is more than willing to risk his life to save them. Physically, he is supposed to have dark hair, so I’m going to say that I’m OK with The Bean dying his (I’m a giver).

Human reason can excuse any evil; That is why it’s important that we don’t rely on it. (Andrew Prior)

Please be sure to check out my other blog friends and tell us what you think.  We would LOVE to hear your thoughts and your dream cast ideas!

Gone Pecan– Caleb and Peter

The Book Addict’s Guide– Christina, Mrs. Prior and Jeanine Matthews

The Grown Up YA– Eric and Will

Teen Lit Rocks  – Four and Uriah

 

Happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “Casting Call- Divergent

  1. Pingback: Dream Casting Divergent by Veronica Roth: Casting Call

  2. I really do like Mia for this role! I was hesitant at first, but I really do think she’d make a good Tris! I’m glad you picked her 🙂
    And of course Sean Bean! He’d be a great Mr. Prior!

Leave a Reply

