Casting Call- The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Welcome to our new feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.  Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it. Normally, we like to break it up and have each blog choose a couple of different characters to cast, but since our choice this week, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith, really has very few characters, we’re each casting the main characters.

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. She’s stuck at JFK, late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s in seat 18C. Hadley’s in 18A.

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it. (Goodreads)

This book is absolutely adorable. And while I’m not necessarily a believer in love at first sight, I’m completely enraptured by the possibilities and impact caused by one seemingly inconsequential decision.  So many things seem like chance, and whether you believe in fate or if your like Meg Ryan in Sleepless in Seattle (NOT a fate person at all!  What?), the draw of this story, of a brief encounter and the connection that ensues, is undeniably charming.  My favorite thing here was that although the title hints at “love”, really what the author explores is attraction and connection and new beginnings (both romantic ones and familial ones).

When I wrote my review for this book, I cast the characters exactly as I saw them in my head. The image hasn’t changed (only now I’ve added Hadley’s dad).

 

Hadley

Lucy Hale as Hadley

Lucy Hale is absolutely adorable.  She is the perfect Hadley in my mind.  Hadley is going through such an array of emotions as she’s en route to England to attained her father’s wedding.  She’s hardly spoken to him and she still hasn’t forgiven him for leaving her and her mother and starting a new life without them.

 

Mr. Sullivan (Hadley’s Dad)

Dennis Quaid as Mr. Sullivan

Yes, he’s had his fair share of family dram in real life, but ever since The Parent Trap remake, Dennis Quaid is a cute, scruffy, dad-type.  The girls and I were tossing his name around recently and now he’s stuck in my head as Hadley’s sweet father who truly loves her SO much. He wants her to be a part of his happiness and the moments between him and his daughter actually had me a little choked up they felt so authentic.

Oliver

Douglass Booth as Carter

Do I really need to explain this one? Douglass Booth is actually British, so he has that fancy pants accent, he’s cute (he’s going to Romeo in the new R&J film adaptation, hello) and I defy anyone to say that they, as single ladies, would not have been more than happy to sit on an airplane and chat with (or stare at) him for hours on end.  Actually, I loved Oliver’s character and this is truly how I envisioned him.

Please be sure to check out my other blog friends and tell us what you think.  We would LOVE to hear your thoughts and your dream cast ideas!

Gone Pecan

The Book Addict’s Guide

The Grown Up YA

Teen Lit Rocks 

 

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Casting Call- The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

      • I don’t watch that show either, but I’ve seen a sort of terrible Cinderella remake from ABC Family (which has a few curses in it because, you know, “It’s a New Kind of Family”). She was quite adorable in it. Freddie Stoma was in it too and some blonde girl from The Secret Life of The American Teenager (another show I’ve never seen).

  1. I could totally see Dennis Quaid as the Dad – he’d be awesome! Sandie @ TeenLitRocks and I actually discussed him, but ultimately went with Greg Kinnear. I love your pics!

    • I love Greg Kinnear too! He’s another one who is believable as a dad, but cute enough to pass for a guy a younger woman might marry. Good choice.

  2. How have I never seen this Douglass Booth before? MUST RUSH TO IMDB.AND LOOK UP EVERYTHING HE’S EVER DONE. Which is… not much. Still, I would buy airplane tickets just to stare at that. In a totally non-creepy sort of way, obviously.

Leave a Reply

