Reading Drought

Do you guys ever go through a phase where nothing you read blows you away? I mean, I’ve read several things recently, and many of them have been solid (some have been just OK), but I’m dying for that book that will make my heart sing. I want tingles and love at first sight and swoon, and to be so in love with it that I have to pick it back up the moment I’ve put it down.  I want to be sad that the story ends and I want to love it so much that I need to call or tweet or e-mail my friends to blab on and on about it.  I want to feel so attached to the characters that I just can’t say goodbye.

I just haven’t had that lately and to be honest, it totally sucks!  So give me some recommendations. Tell me what’s totally rocked your world.  Like I said, I’ve read some good books recently, but not anything that consume me, one’s I’d happily recommend, but that I’m not still thinking about a week later.   I want to be swept away. I sound like Veruca Salt, right? I want the world. I want the whole world…

Tell me what you’re reading! Pretty please.

18 thoughts on “Reading Drought

  1. It happens to me too… and I hate it.
    Right now I’m reading Times’s Echo by Pamela Hartshorne (I won a copy!) and it’s amazing.
    Have you read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo? I absolutely loved that one.

    • Making a list of these. Actually, my friend Brittany just mailed me a copy of Shadow and Bone, so I’m super-psyched to read it. Can’t wait to get it. Thanks for the suggestions!

  2. Have you read Tiger Lily? I thought it was beeeeeautiful and it totally blew me away – And I’m not a big Peter Pan fan either. I think that’s the best one I’ve read recently!

    • Ok that’s SO hilarious because I had no idea what it’s about, but on you Confessions of a YA Junkie I just mentioned that all I think of when I hear the title is Peter Pan. Ha. I’m a loser! I’m totally excited to read it though.

      • It’s kind of a Peter Pan retelling but it’s focused on Tiger Lily’s story told by Tinkerbell. But I think it’s much more interesting and sophisticated than Peter Pan as we know it 🙂

  3. I hate when that happens to me. I don’t know if you are interested in Middle Grade books, but The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy is amazing. Very funny, with wonderful character development.

    Or if you are looking for an older book, you could try The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. Have you read that one? It is beautifully written.

    I hope you can get out of your reading drought, soon! Good luck 🙂

  4. Aw I hate reading slumps! I find I get in them too and what works best for me is to take a break from books I HAVEN’T read and go back to books that made me feel all the feelings and swept me away. I feel that wipes the slate and I’m ready to take on a new book.

    I agree with Shadow and Bone and Tiger Lily (although I didn’t like TL as much as I’d hoped, but it was still beautiful!) being great reads. I wish I knew some great, super sweet/swoony romance books for you – I know you love that stuff!

    I’ll keep my eyes out, maybe look over my own reads and see if there’s anything that you may like. Good luck finding something! Also hope you love Shadow and Bone! 🙂

  5. If you are looking for an amazing “epic” book, I suggest the Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. I read this book for the first time around 1999 while backpacking across Europe and have re-read it at least 15 times since then. It is long, but totally worth it.

    Also, have you read Daughter of Smoke and Bone? I just read it and loved it.

  6. I’ve been burning through books lately…

    I really liked: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. It’s not a light read, but really beautifully written and I had a hard time putting it down. The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen was good – easy read. If you’re a runner it’s even better. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Alexey Sherman was good too – an older book.

    if you like Steam punk/distopian – The Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin was a good read. Love – 2 loves interests actually, friendship (or is it?), etc set in a steampunk inspired backdrop. I enjoyed it a lot.

    HTH!

  7. I just read – and adored – The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m not a fan of her Wolves of Mercy Falls books, but I’d read a couple of great reviews on this one, so I picked it up AND I’M SO GLAD I DID. Blue is a fantastic heroine – takes everything in her stride, comfortable in who she is – and Stiefvater weaves in a number of elements really beautifully and poetically.
    Also, you could try Brigid Kemmerer’s Elementals books – Storm (#1) and Spark (#2), if you haven’t read them. They’re sort of paranormal-lite – I think they aren’t so much ‘paranormal books’ as they are ‘book about people who happen to be able to wield the elements’. And there’s a whole cast of yummy brothers to drool over, plus the equally hot Mysterious Loner Dude (but you can’t have him, he’s mine).

    • I wasn’t a Wolves of Mercy Falls fan either, but I really loved The Scorpio Races. Plus everyone seems to love The Raven Boys. Must read it ASAP. I’ve also never heard of the Elementals books. Any book with a good MLD usually gets me hooked. Thanks for the recommendations!

  8. I just read (and really enjoyed) Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen. It’s a Robin Hood origin story where one of his Merry Men, Will Scarlet, is actually a girl called Scarlet (not a spoiler, the cover itself gives it away and it comes out in the first few pages). Scarlet kind of reminded me of Katsa, and I love me some Graceling so that’s high praise. Plus the boys are swoony

Leave a Reply

