Casting Call- Anna and The French Kiss

Welcome to our new feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.  Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it.

I’m so excited about our choice this week because it is a truly yummy, scrumptious, adorable book with characters to die for.

I want you to ignore the cover (unless you like it, obvs) because the book is so good, I swear.

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited? (Goodreads)

I really, really loved this book. It made me smile from ear to ear.  So often, when I read a book, the love story is secondary to another storyline.  In Anna and The French Kiss, the relationship between Anna and St. Clair and all of the crazy mumbo jumbo that leads up to it, take center stage. And the two main characters are so likeable, so flawed, so absolutely cute, it’s impossible not to miss them when the final pages are over.

Anna

Emma Roberts as Anna

I think Emma Roberts is adorable and I consider myself an expert since my children have made me watch Nancy Drew at least one hundred and fifty billion times.  She is beautiful, while still maintaining that girl-next-door quality I imagine Anna to have.

Max Irons as St. Clair

I had SUCH a hard time casting St. Clair.  He is supposed to be super, crazy handsome, but a little on the short side. Now, you’d think with the abundance of not-so-tall men in Hollywood this would have been an easy pick, but I felt the faces just weren’t right. St. Clair needs to be cute, but boyish and approachable (in my opinion). While I considered Douglas Booth (who should be in every movie EVER), and Garret Hedlund in addition to Max Irons, the problem was that they were all over six feet tall. In the end, Max Irons has some sweet quality I can’t quite put my finger on that said St. Clair to me. So, pisha with the height thing!

BIG NEWS BIG NEWS BIG NEWS!

We are opening up this meme to all who’d like to participate! Check out our Casting Call feature page (we’ve all got ’em) for an upcoming schedule and info about where to link up next week! In the meantime, check out this week’s picks for Anna from my other blog friends:

Gone Pecan

The Book Addict’s Guide

The Grown Up YA

Teen Lit Rocks 

 

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Casting Call- Anna and The French Kiss

  1. I love Emma Roberts! She’s so cute. She’d definitely make a great Anna. And of course Max Irons! I had a really hard time with St Clair too. No one was perfect enough! lol

  2. Okay, when you told us Emma Roberts, I must have been picturing someone else. She’d be perfect as Anna! Such a cute girl. Although I don’t know how I see her with Max Irons… Maybe I should play Anna instead. 😉

  3. Aw, i wish Anna and the French Kiss would get made into a movie. i LOVED that book! Although with the way some books-into-movies have turned out *cough*Twilight*cough* maybe it’s a good thing that this one hasn’t been optioned yet.
    i totally agree with your choice for Anna! Emma Roberts is definitely one of my fave actresses (i mean, obvs since she played my homegirl Nancy Drew!)
    i don’t know that i’ve ever seen Max Irons in anything but he looks cute and British enough to be St. Clair. 😉

    • It’s like a requirement that you love her, hello! Plus they did such a good job on that movie. I’m sad she grew up so fast and they weren’t able to make more. There’s that part of me that would love to see Anna (or some of our other favs) made into movies and then I remember Twilight and I’m like “Dear God no!!!”

Leave a Reply

