Casting Call- The Body Finder

Welcome to our feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.  Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it. And we’d love for you to join us!

This week we are discussing one of my favorite books, The Body Finder, which I discovered thanks to my awesome friends over at Gone Pecan. They told me it was good (they were right). They told me it was creepy (right again) and they told me that the male love interest was practically at Michael Moscovitz levels of swoonworthiness, which is very high praise (and yes, they were right. Eeeeee! I know!).  If you’ve not read this series, do yourself a favor and add it to your TBR list like, pronto.

Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her “power” to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes that the dead leave behind in the world… and the imprints that attach to their killers.

Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find the dead birds her cat had tired of playing with. But now that a serial killer has begun terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he’s claimed haunt her daily, she realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.

Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet on her quest to find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved to find herself hoping that Jay’s intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she’s falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer… and becoming his prey herself. (Goodreads)

If you’ve already read my review you’ll see that when I initially cast this book I had a terrible time because, who, may I ask, is awesome enough to be Jay?  It’s practically impossible to find someone!  So, my choices here are going to be no big surprise, but in all truth, as I’ve continued reading the series, this is the closest I’ve come in finding actual people who look the way I envision Violet and Jay.

Violet

I chose Emma Roberts almost a year ago, when I read the first book, not realizing, of course, that I would later choose her (like two weeks ago) to be Anna in Anna and the French Kiss. While I apologize for the repetition, I definitely maintain that she is a good choice in my mind (for both characters). ER has that sweet, pretty, everyday girl quality that is believable and that is in no way intimidating. She’s a beautiful young woman, but she comes across as though she can be you or me (cough, many years ago, but whatevs). And the fact that she played Nancy Drew and that Violet is oh so very Nancy Drew and is always going places she shouldn’t just added to the draw.

Jay

I know, right? There are just certain actors that I always choose because they should be in every movie ever made forever and ever amen. Honestly though, Aaron Johnson has played in several different films (and I can’t decide if I like him better in Kick-ass or Nowhere Boy), and I’ve always liked him and his ability to play a younger, more boyish guy even though he’s actually a grown up.  And while I think there’s really no one who can be the perfect Jay, this guy comes pretty close.

And what about you?  Tell me your picks for The Body Finder and be sure to link up at Teen Lit Rocks. Also, stop by and see picks from our other blogging friends:

Gone Pecan

The Book Addict’s Guide

The Grown Up YA

Teen Lit Rocks 

 

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Casting Call- The Body Finder

  1. I really do like Emma Roberts!!! I think she’d make a fantastic Violet. The only thing I’ve see Aaron in is Kick-Ass – I’d be interested to see him in something else!

    • Well I told you the ‘stache in the Anna Karenina previews was already driving me nuts. Ugh! He will forever be Kick Ass to me (I love that line about his superpower id being invisible to women).

Leave a Reply

