Casting Call- Lola and The Boy Next Door

Welcome to our new fantastically fun feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.  Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it. And we’d love for you to join us!

This week we are doing a book that everyone on the planet loves (OK, everyone on the planet who’s read it), Lola and The Boy Next Door. Oh, you guys, I love this book. I love it even more than Anna and The French Kiss.  What? I know. There is just something about Lola. And Cricket (you’ll get past the name, I swear) and her dads. And everything Stephanie Perkins writes. She writes contemporary stories that are so funny, so witty, so completely engrossing and charming that I’m sad when they come to an end. And that’s what we have with Lola and The Boy Next Door.

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit — more sparkly, more fun, more wild — the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket — a gifted inventor — steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. (Goodreads)

Obviously we first need to discuss this cover because it completely influenced my mental images of Lola and Cricket. I mean, come on, these are some pretty people. But in the end, I have no idea who they are, so I went with my own picks.

Lola Nolan

OK so obviously, my picks are a little older, but there is something in these faces that embody what I envisioned when I read this book.  For Lola, I pictured someone like Emmy Rossum, who was pretty and had those beautiful, large, innocent eyes. I don’t know why, but it’s just how I saw her. And I think Emmy Rossum has this quality about her where one moment she can look adorable and sweet and the next she can look grown up and vixenish (not that Lola is vixenish, but she is quite the chameleon).

Cricket Bell

I know, so don’t hate me here. I completely see someone like Robert Pattinson as Cricket. Only not the guy in this picture. Not the guy in Twilight or even the guy who plays Cedric Diggory. I’m talking about that really, really awkward guy in all those early Twilight interviews. The one who made you cringe because he was so adorably dorky.  Have you seen any of those?  Wow, right. Still makes me feel embarrassed for him.  I tried to find a picture that would convey that feeling, but this guy somehow manages to look hot in every photo he takes. It’s a travesty (and so is searching through all of those beautifully perfect photos. Tough work, I’m telling you). And I think Cricket is really cute too, but in an adorably sweet, somewhat dorky kind of way. Plus smart= hot.  Also, I think Cricket has no idea how cute he really is and that is sort of endearing.

So, who would you pick? Be sure to tell us or link up your own post at Teen Lit Rocks. Also, stop by and see picks from our other blogging friends:

Gone Pecan

The Book Addict’s Guide

The Grown Up YA

Teen Lit Rocks 

 

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Casting Call- Lola and The Boy Next Door

  1. Hahaha I like it. I think Pattinson could be a good Cricket! He really does have that awkward thing going for him which is weird and almost charming at the same time. A la Cricket!

  2. I can definitely see why you picked Robert Pattinson. Based on looks alone, and his penchant for running his hand through his hair, it works — even if he’s unlikely to ever do another teen book again 😉 I love Emmy. She’s going to be great in “Beautiful Creatures” as the “dark” cousin.

  3. I think I’ve seen too many red carpet pics of Pattinson looking like a homeless wino in an expensive suit to take him seriously. But I think Emmy is the best choice I’ve seen for Lola! Her big eyes really seem right for Lola!

  4. Yay for your picks! I love Emmy Rossum! She could totally rock at being Lola. And Yes! RPatz was totally awkward those first couple years of Twilight. Gah I cringe just thinking about him back then!

  5. Oooh, I like the idea of Emmy Rossum as Lola. I mean, she is more gorgeous than I pictured Lola (not that I didn’t think Lola was pretty), but I think she could play Lola very well.

    And I get it with Rob Pattinson.

    Nice choices.

Leave a Reply

