Casting Call-If I Stay

Welcome to our new fantastically fun feature, Casting Call, hosted along with my good friends at Gone Pecan, The Book Addict’s Guide, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks.  Each week we’ll be dream casting some of our favorite books and blogging about it. Come on. You know you want to join us.
This week we are discussing one of my absolute favorite books, If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices.  Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her.  Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the only decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make.

After a terrible accident kills her family, Mia is faced with choosing whether she will die or live a life without the ones she loves.  In the span of a day she reflects on her life with her parents and little brother, her best friend and her boyfriend and she watches–detached from her own body–as her remaining loved ones come to the hospital to grieve and care for her.

This is book is so beautiful, so sad, so sweet and romantic and heartbreaking and uplifting…it’s really difficult to put into words.  I loved everything about it and I felt such a connection to the characters, especially Mia and Adam.

Mia

Melissa Benoist

Mia is this incredibly talented, strong girl who is bright and smart and so much like you or me–except not.  She is a wonderful character, so full of love and honesty, a part of this incredible family I wanted to meet and know, and the other half of this gorgeous, romantic coupling of high school love that is absolutely the real deal. I can’t say enough how much I loved this girl.
I think Melissa Benoist of Glee would perfectly capture her.

Adam

Hunter Parrish

Oh my gosh, how long do we have to discuss Adam? Adam, number two on my list of literary crushes.  You guys, he’s in a band. He’s cool. Cooler than Mia and yet he loves her so much. You can see it in his every word, in his facial expressions and in his utter devotion to her. And I dare you not to swoon at their first date. It’s so adorable it made me giddy.

I think it’s pretty impossible to find a guy who can be what I envisioned,  but for now I’ll go with Hunter Parrish (though I think his hair should be darker).  I think I’ll always be on the lookout though.

So, who would you pick for Mia or Adam or any of the other characters in this awesome book? Be sure to tell us or link up your own post at Teen Lit Rocks. Also, stop by and see picks from our other blogging friends:

Gone Pecan

The Book Addict’s Guide

The Grown Up YA

Teen Lit Rocks 

 

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Casting Call-If I Stay

  1. I love hunter parish! good call! i think he can pull it off in his lighter hair because he’s actually one of the few guys I think is hot with blonde hair. 🙂

  2. Oh great choice for Mia! I haven’t seen her before but she’s super cute.
    I LOVE Hunter Parish!!! He’s an age-appropriate cutie for me hahaha. I think I pass on him for most because I just couldn’t see him in half of the CC roles but I’m waiting to use him for the right one 🙂

    • He was on Weeds but I remember him from that movie with Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin (It’s Complicated). When I saw that I thought he would be my perfect Peeta. That’s why I said he needs darker hair, although he probably doesn’t.

  3. Ooooh, I LOVE Hunter Parrish. I wanted him for Peeta way back when (he isn’t just hot but also a good actor; did you ever see WEEDS?). I picked Melissa a while back for something; I think she’s great, even though I’m no longer as big of a GLEEK.

Leave a Reply

