Top Ten Tuesday- Authors/Books to Be Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.  This week we’re discussing bookish things to be thankful for, specifically authors and books.  Holy wow, where do I begin?

1. Jane Austen- For paving the way.

Michael Fassbender. I know. You don’t have to thank me.

2. Charlotte Bronte- Ditto. And also for creating such a wonderful tortured hero.  Mr. Rochester may have been my first real literary crush simply because he was so very imperfect. Clearly I’m not the only one who feels this way.

One of my favorite covers of The Princess Diaries

3. Meg Cabot- Because she makes reading fun!  And because she created Michael Moscovitz, quite possibly the swooniest guy ever! Also, her books make me feel like she gets me.

4. Jandy Nelson- Because her words are so beautiful and funny all at once.

5. Melina Marchetta- Because yes. Yes, to pretty much everything she writes.

6. Sara Zarr- For writing such sweet, somewhat melancholy stories, especially  Once Was Lost and How To Save a Life, books where she manages to put in the difficulty and the honesty that comes from living a life of faith.

7.The Twilight Saga and The Hunger Games trilogy- For opening up a whole new world of YA and expanding its horizon ( I mean, some of us were already YA people, but others discovered this genre because of those books). I’m all for anything that helps to broaden the base of YA and get it the attention it deserves. For too long women have been ashamed to read it (or they steal it from their kids)!

8. For Judy Blume- Whose books nurtured a love of reading in me.

9. For Roald Dahl- Whose books sparked my imagination. And now my children’s.

10. For The Time Traveler’s Wife– The book that always makes me fall in love with love over and over again. And, let’s face it, it has serious sexytimes with a hot librarian. Doesn’t get much better than a guy who likes to read.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Authors/Books to Be Thankful For

  1. I feel like I could have written this on your behalf after reading you/knowing you for such a long time. Coincidentally, this is what Diana and I are writing on actual Thanksgiving, lol! I’m sure you could just as easily guess who will make our list (some of whom are because of YOU!) 🙂

  2. I’d have to give a major thanks to J.K. Rowling for writing incredible books and making kids of all ages excited about reading. The more readers in the world – the more people to whom you can say things like “Oh my God! I can’t believe…” or “I can’t wait for the next book in the series…” – you get the picture. The wonderful thing is that you can share you’re excitement with friends or the person sitting next to you in the waiting room at the dentist.

  3. I love Jane Austen. Seriously!

    I actually go back and forth on whether or not I like Mr. Rochester. Sometimes I do, and sometimes I don’t (when I think of him locking his crazy wife in the attic). But since I’ve seen Michael Fassbender as Mr. Rochester, I’m more on the I love Him side. 🙂

    Love Meg Cabot. I totally agree, it feels like she gets me.

Leave a Reply

