Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite New (to me) Authors of 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week they choose a fabulous topic and we all discuss it, and ponder it and, of course, blog about it. This week is particularly fun, as we’re talking about our favorite authors, new or just new to us, of this year.
1. Laini Taylor– I must have been missing out before because I’d never read a Laini Taylor book before Daughter of Smoke and Bone and whoa ladies, I was blown away. She’s poetic and witty and a wonderful, engaging storyteller.  After one book I’m already a huge fan.

2. Rebecca Serle– Anyone who can do a retelling of Romeo and Juliet and actually make me hate Juliet, make me root against Romeo and his lady-love, well, they are a miracle-worker,  I tell you. When You Were Mine was beautiful. I loved Serle’s style which was gorgeous and bright, so very vivid. It took me back to those high school days, to the breakups you thought would kill you and to the hope that eventually reappears.  Also, if you’ve ever read any of her articles on Forever Young Adult, this girl is funny.  I can’t wait to read more from her. In fact, I really want her to write a book with her writing bestie, Leila Sales.  Pretty please?

3. Jennifer E. Smith– She wrote an adorable story called The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight,  complete with cute British guy (sold!) and now she has a new book coming that is a cross between You’ve Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle. I’m in love. Really.

4. Leigh Bardugo– She wrote Shadow and Bone which was fabulous. Like, totally unique and addictive. I loved the world and the characters she created. And no, it doesn’t hurt that I picture one of them like Ian Somerhalder and another like Sam Claflin, but still. Good book.

5. Tahereh Mafi– You guys, she wrote Shatter Me, a book with a fabulous heroine, a super swoony love interest and an oh-my-goodness-I-feel-wrong-for-loving-him bad guy, all set in this totally unique, amazing dystopic world. I am so excited to see what happens next for Juliette, Adam and that naughtypants, Warner.

6. Meredit Zeitlin– She wrote Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters and seriously, this girl had me laughing my pants off. I was dying. She has the potential to be one of those amazing contemporary YA authors whose books are an automatic read for me, the kind of thing I gravitate toward because they never fail to make me smile.

7. Marie Lu– I loved Legend and am so looking forward to Prodigy. I think Lu has created an intense world with what will most likely be a crazy ride. She gave hints at the history of America and still has to tell us how it became divided into The Republic and The Colonies.  And I was totally enraptured by Day, one of the main heroes. Loved him.

8. Jenny Downham– Major props to my pal Sandie at Teen Lit Rocks for sending me her copy of You Against Me (um, I should probably send that back). She knew I’d love it and she was so, so very right. It was one of my favorite books this year.  It reminded me somewhat of Jellicoe Road. There’s this family drama, and painful circumstances and a couple that maybe shouldn’t be together, but they need to be.  And somehow they are both the catalyst and the remedy for their issues.

9. Kiera Cass– Sweet fancy Moses, I loved The Selection. There’s a swoony boyfriend, a sweet Prince, dystopic drama (that hasn’t been fully explained yet, so I’m intrigued) and there is a heroine who I both love and want to strangle.  Cinderella meets the Bachelor set after the end of America as we know it. I’m so there.

10. Katie McGarry– I loved Pushing the Limits. This book had me engrossed from the first pages. I fell in love with the characters, with their vices, their issues and their connection and I loved the love story. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

And what about you?  Which authors, old or new, did you discover this year? Maybe I should be reading their books too!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite New (to me) Authors of 2012

  1. YAY, I’ve read all of these authors, and I even met Meredith at BEA (as in went and had cookies with her! She was awesome). I also had a book signed by Leigh Bardugo, who is gorgeous and hilarious. Hooray for the Jenny Downham love. I also saw one of the other authors speak, but I wasn’t a big fan (esp. considering she’s only published one book).

Leave a Reply

