The Selective Collective: Going Vintage Interview and Giveaway!


Welcome to The Selective Collective. Together with our friends at The Book Addict’s Guide, Gone Pecan, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks, we’ll be exploring a new release in its entirety, from review to author spotlight, to a roundtable chat, among other fun things.

This week we’re discussing Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt.

Going Vintage

When Mallory’s boyfriend, Jeremy, cheats on her with an online girlfriend, Mallory decides the best way to de-Jeremy her life is to de-modernize things too. Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in1962, Mallory swears off technology and returns to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat with computer avatars). The List:
1. Run for pep club secretary
2. Host a fancy dinner party/soiree
3. Sew a dress for Homecoming
4. Find a steady
5. Do something dangerous
But simple proves to be crazy-complicated, and the details of the past begin to change Mallory’s present. Add in a too-busy grandmother, a sassy sister, and the cute pep-club president–who just happens to be her ex’s cousin–and soon Mallory begins to wonder if going vintage is going too far. (Goodreads)

Oh, you guys. You guys, you guys, you guys. You know how some books are just so fun, so adorable, so sweet you want to read them again and again? That’s Going Vintage.  I loved it.  Totally adored it. So I was really excited to have the opportunity to interview the author, Lindsey Leavitt (Princess for Hire, Sean Griswold’s Head). She’ so nice and funny and even better, she wrote a hello note to my eleven year-old, which really made my daughter’s day (and mine, hello!).

YA- Lindsey, I loved Going Vintage and completely identified with Mallory’s belief that life was simpler in earlier eras (personally, I’ve always believed that life on Leave it to Beaver or Bewitched seemed so ideal). If you could choose, what time period would you like to live in?
 LL-I have lots of nostalgia wrapped up in the eighties, because that’s when I grew up, and I believe every childhood should include Rainbow Brite. But when I was a teen, I really thought like Mallory did—that life was simpler during XYZ. It was the late forties for me, with swing dancing, war heroes and Jimmy Stewart movies like It’s a Wonderful Life (I see the great irony here. It’s a Wonderful Life shows the joys and struggles of living in any era, which is what makes it timeless. I was a naïve teen, ok?)
YA-In Going Vintage, Mallory decides to give up modern technology– including her phone and her computer, eeks!–in an attempt to live as she would were it 1962. What modern gadget would you find it hardest to live without?
LL-I-PHONE. A million times, I-PHONE. What would I do during awkward elevator rides without Words with Friends? What am I supposed to do, talk to a stranger? 
YA-I’m a Southern California girl, in love with the beach, the perfect weather and all things Disneyland (I’m an Annual Passholder just like Mallory!). What made you decide to set your book in Orange County? What sort of research did you do to try to make the details feel authentic?
LL-I didn’t know the setting for the first half of writing this book, something I’ve never done before. I knew I wanted a town that had big things close but still was a smaller town within a larger population. I have a brother who lives in central California, and I went out there to visit and fell in love with all the California Main Streets. I started researching online and found Orange, which fit so well with what I had going in the story, especially the historic district. I have another brother in Anaheim (we are a pro-CA family), so I drove down and spent a few days exploring the area. Growing up in Vegas, I always had so much envy of the southern Californians, and it was fun to finally “live” there through my fiction. I can’t imagine setting the book anywhere else now—the tone, the weather, the culture—everything fit so well with Mallory’s journey.
YA-Whether we were angsty teens or happy go lucky ones, there’s always wisdom we have now that we wish we’d had way back then. Any advice for Teenage Lindsey?
LL-Grow out your bangs. That big poufy curl does not look good on ANYONE.
Oh, and dream big and believe in yourself. You’ll do fine, once those bangs are gone.
YA-I recently read that before becoming an author you were an elementary school teacher. How did you make the leap into writing? Was it a long-term goal or something that evolved over time?
LL-I always loved writing, I just had no clue how to go about getting into it as a career. Teaching was something else I loved to do, something that I knew I had set courses in school and likely had a job in the end. In short, it was a more “practical” career choice, and with a husband set on being a doctor, I needed practical with health benefits to get him through. But after only 2 years, my husband got into a school on the other side of the country and I wasn’t able to find a teaching job in PA. I ended up substitute teaching, which was nice schedule-wise, but not nearly as rewarding as teaching full time. So I started writing during my lunch breaks and prep periods, just for myself. I had a baby, decided to stay home with her, and the writing became this beautiful creative outlet for me. I had no clue that my life would take the turns it has, but I’m so happy that I’m in a job now that still gives me chances to be in the classroom. I can’t tell you how much respect I have for teachers.
YA- My eleven year-old daughter is a huge fan of Princess for Hire and she begged me to say hello to you. Hello from Chloe!
LL-Hi Chloe!! Thanks for reading. Send me your address and I will send you some bookmarks, okay? Happy reading 🙂
Isn’t she awesome? I think we can all agree that Lindsey should be added to my list of Authors Who Are My Best Friend and Don’t Know It.

Giveaway:

We are giving away a copy of Going Vintage! Trust me, you want this book. To enter, make a comment and tell me what bit of modern technology you can’t live without. Don’t forget to include your e-mail. The contest is only open to US residents. It closes at 9pm PST on March 28, 2013. The winner will be chosen at random and will be notified via e-mail. If you do not respond within 24 hours, a new winner will be chosen. Good luck!

Be sure to check out my blogging partners in The Selective Collective as they continue to explore Going  Vintage:

The Book Addict’s Guide- Casting Call

Gone Pecan- Review

The Grown Up YA- How I Went Vintage

Teen Lit Rocks- Roundtable

Special thanks to Bloomsbury for providing review copies of Going Vintage and to Lindsey Leavitt for taking the time to chat with us!

16 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: Going Vintage Interview and Giveaway!

  1. As a teacher I have to say I am now a huge fan. Gotta love anyone that has huge respect for teachers. You wouldn’t believe how many teachers aspire to be writers (I’m not one of them). Love this interview and I really enjoyed “Going Vintage.”

  2. Tee, what a great interview!!! Lindsey Leavitt seems so great and I loved reading her answers too! I love the “leap to writing” question. I always wonder that myself! I try to write everyone once in a while but with work and relationships and other responsibilities, I just don’t have the time!!
    Such a fun interview!

  3. Pingback: Selective Collective: How I Went Vintage | The Grown-Up YA

  4. Okay, she may be my new favorite! Love that she wrote your daughter a little note; how cool is that?! This is a really good interview and I think Lindsey Leavitt is a perfect fit for your “Authors who are my best friend and don’t know it” list! 🙂

  5. That was a great interview. The one piece of technology I could not live without would be my computer. Just the other day I had to write an essay for a midterm and realized how hard it is to write by hand these days. My hand hurt like crazy and I couldn’t go back and insert anything without erasing everything and rewriting it! Computers have me spoiled! haha

  6. This is such excellent interview. I’m really excited to read this book!

    The modern technology I cannot live without has to be the internet! I would have major withdrawal symptoms without it!

  7. Aw, looks like a charming book! I could not live without my laptop! I love the freedom of doing my homework in the park or at a coffee shop, so I would be really sad without it! It would be hard to live without a cell phone now too! Thanks!
    meanrabbit889at)gmail(dot)com

  8. It sounds like an adorable book, a nice read by . . . I don’t know, a pool? With lemonade on a nice sunny day. Technology is all around us, my family is technology crazed, though, my mom, I imagine, wouldn’t survive without Facebook, me? There’s my iPod touch that is filled with notes of my random thoughts, and random writings, and an app called iFunny that is for some reason, really addicting, my photos are all on there too, but my tablet is pretty great too, I mean, I can go on Amazon with this and look at first pages of books which is like, Heaven of course. I can actually type my paper on here, I love them both equally and quite a bit. My house is the type where everyone freaks out when the Wi-Fi is all messed up. In a life or death situation, I couldn’t choose. I could never live like Mallory, or try what Mallory is doing, unless I had a ton of books, which is the only thing that can get me off the web, well, books keep me from doing almost anything unless I have to do it. Well, I have finally run out of words. Thanks!
    boomer-and-holly@hotmail.com

  9. Oh this book sounds like I will totally love it. I find myself sometimes wishing I grew up before all the technology where everything seemed simpler, but then I realize I wouldn’t have a computer. I love all my technology from my cellphone to my nook and would hate to give any of them up, but I would have the hardest time giving up my cellphone. I just feel like it would be so hard to keep in touch or make plans with my friends without it. Plus I find texting so much easier than calling someone up! Without my cellphone I would always be at a loss as to what time it was even!

    Schape36@students.rowan.edu

  10. Pingback: Going Vintage | YA Crush

  11. Pingback: Happy Birthday to The Selective Collective (and Giveaway)! | YA Crush

  12. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Selective Collective | The Grown-Up YA

  13. Pingback: Selective Collective: The Chapel Wars Q&A

Comments are closed.