Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I Recommend Most

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re discussing the books we recommend most. This requires very little research on my part. I mean, we can be honest. There are certain books I never shut up about. I hope you’ve read them all. If not, I’ll talk more.

Sky Paperback1. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– Oh my goodness, it doesn’t get better than this book. I’ve never met a person who didn’t love it. This is the first book I chose for my book club to read (and we read a mix of adult fic, non-fiction and YA). Now I feel sort of like every book I pick afterward, no matter how good, will be a let down because this one is so, so beautiful. Also, hello, Joe Fontaine is reason enough to read it. Bat, bat.

If I StayWhere She Went2.  If I Stay/Where She Went by Gayle Forman– Sad books are tough and whoa mama, there are some difficult moments in book 1. But I loved it. I loved Mia’s relationship with her parents, with her little brother, with her grandparents, her best friend, and lordy, with Adam. There is such a beautiful honesty in their broken states and there is so much joy even in their pain. I have read these books so many times and they never fail to make an impact on me.

The Princess Diaries3. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot– I read this series in random order pretty much constantly (presently reading Party Princess for the eleventy billionth time). These books make me smile and take me back to my own really dorky, awkward high school days ( I’m not a dork now, right?). I love Mia and her best friends and I always sigh for my favorite literary boyfriend evah, Michael Moscovitz. You guys, he’s smart and super adorable.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban4. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling- If you’ve not read these books, I get it. You’ve seen the movies a million times on ABC Family or you think they’re just kid books. As someone who didn’t read them until about five years ago, I can understand. I always thought there was no way the series could be as good as everyone says. But let me tell you, it’s better. Trust me. I’m so glad I gave in.

Knife of Never Letting Go5. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness– This is, hands down, my favorite dystopic book and one of my all-time favorite series (Princess Diaries, Harry Potter and this trilogy. No joke).  Just read it. It will break your heart in certain moments but you will not be able to let go of Todd and Viola.

the truth about forever6. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen– Because everyone needs a sweet, perfect book to make them smile. This is that book. Also, Dessen makes up words like sa-woon and bettaquit. How can I not have deep admiration for that fact alone?

Jellicoe Road7. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta– This was my introduction to Marchetta and will therefore always be my favorite. The writing is gorgeous, the story fantastic, the characters wonderfully flawed and strong. It has a tough start (lots of characters to keep track of), but hang in there. Take notes, do what you have to, just stick with it! You’ll be so glad you did.

Frankie cover8. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart– I’ve said this a million times: When age-appropriate, this will be required reading for my daughters. There is nothing better than a good, intelligent, butt-kicking female heroine who outsmarts the all boys around her. Also, E. Lockhart is incredibly talented and funny. I always love her books, but this is my favorite.

I'll Be There9. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan Oh, this one’s good. It’s not on everyone’s radar for some reason, but it needs to be. It spoke to me on two levels: as a girl (sigh) and as a mom (sob). Read it!

Divergent10. Divergent by Veronica Roth– After the hype of The Hunger Games, I found myself recommending this series to those HG fans dying for more. Sometimes I forget how much I loved it until those same people come back to me wanting to discuss its awesomeness. Then I get all excited again.

ScorpioCover11. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater– I love to point out that I am not a fan of Shiver, Maggie’s big wolf series. I do this not because I want to be a jerk but because I want people to know that I wasn’t a built-in fan when I read TSR. I just fell in love with the story and the writing. This is another book with a slow start that builds beautifully. Stick with it; there is a great payoff in seeing it through.

Anna CoverLola12. Anna and The French Kiss/Lola and The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins– These are smart, witty love stories with strong heroines and adorable (I mean ADORABLE) love interests. These books will make you smile. Also, Perkins nails those sweet, awkward moments where something is bubbling under the surface, but nothing big and coupley has really happened yet. She’s a fun writer.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I Recommend Most

  1. I have to admit that I’ve read a fair bit of these books because of you: Jellicoe Road, Frankie Landau Banks, I’ll Be There, The Knife of Never Letting Go, and The Sky Is Everywhere. You’ve been a major influence in my YA-reading life. Thank you, friend!

  2. Love so many of these – especially Jellicoe Road and The Scorpio Races (which are both in my top-five-all-time-favourites). I have a weird relationship with Stiefvater’s books – I’m not a fan of her Mercy Falls books, or her Books of Faerie, but I adore beyond words Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys.
    Also, Cricket Bell! SO ADORABLE.
    Also, If I Stay – one of the very few books that has actually managed to make me cry. And not just cry, but bawl my eyes out. That scene where Mia’s grandfather is telling her it’s OK to let go if she needs to? Gets me every time.

  3. i read The Truth About Forever because of you 🙂 I also bought I’ll Be There, but haven’t read it yet (should have been on my list last week). I actually have the audio of The Knife Of Never Letting Go and I”m gonna get to it soon! thanks for all the recs you’ve given me. 🙂 luv ya

Leave a Reply

